We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite up to standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Standard, Miami
Ranked #10 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not quite up to standard”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Standard is a fifty fifty for me. Reasons I would go back: 1) The service of Alex and Jose as well as the concierge and pool staff. Shane, Joe, and Gerrardo are outstanding in food and beverage. 2) The spa services are wonderful, and the atmosphere is so relaxing. 3) Konstantina was a remarkable and energetic fitness teacher as was Philip. 4) The pool and the view from the Lido restaurant. Reasons I wouldn't go back: 1) Other than the servers I mentioned, the food service was a disaster. Long waits for attention and grumpy faces. One server looked like he was doing me a favour, and proceeded to read the newspaper as I tried in vain to get coffee. I actually had to get up and chase my server down! An hour for toast and coffee? 2) The rooms are not as large and glamourous as shown. Not a biggie for me, but some would take issue. 3) No free coffee or tea in rooms, and cafe was very expensive. 4) Walls are paper thin. 5) Toilet didn't flush properly and no bath tub (shower only). 6) Some of the other fitness teachers were questionable. One showed up in tattered clothes (one of the holes was on the rear of his pants... not what I wanted to see) and he picked at his feet with a look off indifference while he gave out instruction. Another made fun of me because I wasn't flexible enough to do the poses with full range. Some clearly had not been properly trained to teach what they were teaching. (I speak as a certified instructor with over 15 years background) 7) The most important one... when you put a privacy tag on your door and you call down and ask for privacy, you expect to get it. I was extremely offended when engineering entered my room when I specifically said they did not have permission. I made it very clear that I didn't wish to have them in my room, and came back to find not only had they entered, but they had been in my washroom where all my personal items were laying out. As a single woman travelling, that makes me very uneasy. When I called to complain, they apologized, but didn't really seem sympathetic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandera Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Alexandera Y,
Thank you for your recent review! I am thrilled to hear about your compliments for the staff and service as well as the panoramic views of the pool and Biscayne bay. I am also saddened to hear that you had negative experiences that left an altered view of our culture at The Standard Spa, Miami Beach. We take all feedback seriously and will address with our team members as we continue to strive to improve each and every day. We hope you will give us another try so we can redeem ourselves. Please feel free to reach out to my colleague aperez@standardhotel.com if you would like to book your next visit so we can assure you have an amazing time.
Thank you,
IS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    371
    143
    99
    83
See reviews for
87
652
214
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

"Myself and 2 girlfriends recently thoroughly enjoyed a day at the standard spa miami beach. The hotel can be deceiving - looking simple, but so much to offer. After valet parking, we went to the spa where we were greeted by a friendly face (Liz), from the spa who toured us and told us everything we needed to know to make the most of our experience. We received fantastic services= a massage, facial, and french manicure. The warm marble of the hamam, baths, mud lounge, paddleboarding, pool, amazing drinks and view? What more can you ask for? We will absolutely return!"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabest714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Hotel have the potential to be something extraordinary but falls short because of much needed TLC. With a name like The Standard one would expect nothing less than high standards across all areas of hospitality. However, that is not the case. While the staff provided great service and the overall atmosphere is relaxing and tranquil. The hotel building need some much needed TLC. From the outside it looks like an eye sore and old. The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors conversations. The grout on the bathroom floor and tub is in need of some deeeep cleaning. Exterior building and staircases need some touch up paint and pressure cleaning. Try to avoid eating on premise food is overpriced and isn't worth it. The Spa, garden and pool areas are awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTB3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Standard offers a lovely pool and a beautiful view of the bay. Unfortunately, you can't melt under the sun all day or sleep outside. The Standard feels like a has-been motel gasping for a chance to be swank on a limited budget. Shabby chic would be a stretch. The rooms mimic an Ikea or Pier1 showroom, featuring paper lampshades, a 15 inch TV and a see-through-curtain to partition the bed from a day-bed (futon) area. The bathrooms offer paper cups for glasses and limited towels. For the shower, shampoo, conditioner and soap pump dispensers are attached to the walls. Unfortunately, housekeeping failed to fill the opaque dispensers. The floors are warped, the ceilings sag and leak (literally), the bed sheets are hole-y, and the walls sound as if they are paper thin. Worse yet, there are smells of steamed dumplings sweeping throughout the hotel, including the spa area.

Dining: The Lido, which is near the pool, is delicious. The menu offers healthy and indulgent choices, as well as refreshing cocktails. For the indulgent, pick the fries rather than the tots!! Waitstaff at the Lido are attentive and friendly. Their peers at the hotel restaurant, the pool and the spa could learn a few tips. Staff at the pool argue about towels and are slow. Staff at the indoor restaurant took over an hour to serve breakfast. Coffee apparently took 30 minutes to brew, the waitress submitted the wrong order (2X) to the kitchen and got the bill wrong.

The Spa: My mani, pedi and massage were okay. But there was nothing exceptional about the Spa.

Budget: We were in the area for a specific meeting and booked too late for a holiday weekend. The higher price misled my expectations. Be wary of spending too much for this one. At the end of the day, if you are just looking for a quiet view of the bay, this might be a good pick.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTexas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear HappyTexas2013,
We appreciate the time you took to write about your recent stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed the pool, restaurant and bayside views. I apologize for the level of service you received at times throughout your stay and will work diligently with our team to optimize. We hope you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves and extend the level of service you deserve.
Thank you,
IS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The energy at the Standard is amazing. Only beautiful people, at a beautiful place, everyone quiet, calm, and trying to relax. The hotel has amazing, but pricy baths and classes, and is amazing for the ones that need to relax, and really don't care about the rest of Miami.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to the rooms with baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolsebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunssum, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice hotel with a pool that has a great view on the bay. Rooms and facilities could use some new paint and furniture. Location is good but a bit far from SoBe. We rented bikes from the hotel which was a great and easy. Reception was really helpfull same as the concierge.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Steven T,
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We greatly appreciate all good and constructive feedback and hope to see you back at The Standard Spa very soon!
IS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First time to Miami and the standard made our holiday. Great views, great food, great breakfast, great drinks, friendly approachable staff and room was lovely and big. There are also different outside areas, should you finish food in the outside restaurant you have so many cute places to go sit and relax with more drinks. I am already looking at my boyfriend and I to go back.

Room Tip: We had the room with outside bath, would really recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muyaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,397 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,425 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,561 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,543 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Miami

Property: The Standard, Miami
Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Standard, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing