We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, trendy hotel with amazing pool & restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Standard, Miami
Ranked #10 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hip, trendy hotel with amazing pool & restaurant!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was fortunate to stay at the standard for business. So, I had little expectations since I was there for work primarily. However, I found an awesome place I'd love to return to and vacation. I had a room on the second floor with a queen bed. The room was on the small side. But they have larger rooms with King beds and there are even larger rooms on the first floor near the pool that my co-workers got. The pool is amazing. It's heated to a nice comfortable temperature and they play music through underwater speakers that makes for an extremely relaxing dip! We ate two dinners at hotel and the food was really good with a gorgeous view of the water. We also walked to dinner some nights and it was a nice stroll to some pretty cool places.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peacelovevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    371
    142
    99
    83
See reviews for
87
646
214
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Recently I was visiting a buddy of mine down in Miami Beach, and he turned me on to one of the best free things to do in Miami Beach. He took me to The Standard Hotel, which allows the public use the gym, the hotel’s is hoping that you'll spend a little cash for food and drinks. You don't get the complementary robe and sandals, but if you're just looking for a quick workout when you're in town.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ray w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Ray,

Thank you for your review and I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit. Please note that our gym is complimentary for hotel guests and members. We have day passes for sale at our spa desk that will allow visiting guests to visit for the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend and had a great time! From the moment we walked in the door, we were greeted with a friendly staff and immediately felt at ease. The Pool had an energetic vibe but it wasn't over the top like most South Beach hotels. It was very relaxing and would highly recommend this hotel for couples or a girls trip if you want to feel at ease. Only downside was the rooms were a little small.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed here with two girlfriends for a relaxing Miami get away and this hotel fit the bill. With a great pool and lounge area that is a hip scene both during the day and at night and top notch spa and fitness programs this place was amazing for our getaway. Rooms were small and minimalist with a nice front porch area to relax in privacy. The pool also had great service with attentive attendants constantly refilling our ice waters (and adult beverages).

However, The Standard is far from the typical "Miami Scene" beach, shops, nightlife etc. Although you can walk to the main pedestrian mall, it's a bit of a hike and we mostly took cabs to go to dinner and out at night so if you want a hotel immersed in all that Miami has to offer I would suggest one of the chain hotels on South Beach. If you are looking for a peaceful oasis and a boutique hotel experience and don't mind being away from the crowds, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL / Palm Springs, CA
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife & I have just spent 4 days at The Standard Hotel & Spa.....it was extremely relaxing and the pool/spa facilities were simply fantastic....highly recommended if you want blissful adult relaxation in SouthBeach (there are no kids <17 allowed on the property).....it's a sexy place with a retro-chic Palm Springs type attitude....really laid back & cool......The decadent co-ed turkish hamam, steamroom, sauna and showers are nothing short of fantastic. Crispy, the concierge will help you with whatever you want and get you wherever you want to go in no-time. Manager Jose Carillo and every one of the staff there are fun, always smiling and a lot of fun....the service is GREAT.......We LOVED it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Let's start with the good: the rooms are nice - I mean at $500 a night they have to be nice right? Ours had a little area out front with a bath tub which you could use during the day or night, giving the room an unexpected charm. Sadly the rooms are lined next to a walk way which employees use to cart towels, laundry, etc. back and forth. They are quiet but you still hear them at 5am. The spa is a standard spa (no pun intended), meaning it's small, has all the basics and is ok. My girlfriend booked a mani and a pedi for 11am and the beautician didn't arrive until noon - if it was the other way around they would have charged my girlfriend double for being late. The grounds are amazing - awesome pool area, great fire pit, and fun lobby. The service at the restaurant (especially outside) and the for drinks at the pool area is absolutely terrible. You can't find a waiter, and when you do they are slow, and are more concerned with checking their phones, or talking to random people. And there's a simple reason for this - gratuity is automatically included in everything - 18 or 20% - so they can give you bad service and still get a full tip - there's no pressure to please. The other downside to that equation is that when you go into the little bodega cafe that serves coffee, smoothies and empanadas (cute concept) and get two coffees and a pastry to go you automatically get 20% added to your bill... The food per se was good - as were the cocktails, but by the end of the trip the bad service and high prices for the restaurants makes the automatic gratuity feel like a cash grab. If you go, go for the pool and grounds, not the spa or food - eat out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrd550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

During an extended layover from Central America to LA, we had the good fortune of a night's stay at the Standard.

The Standard Miami is a destination in itself.

Rooms: Clean, minimalist, with an amazing rainfall shower. The pressure was prefect; not the gentle trickle usually associated with rainfall showers. A pair of bathrobes are provided for use.

Lido Restaurant: Situated along the deck, between the pools and the bay. Beautiful views all around and stiff drinks. Avoid the Lido lemonade and stick to a traditional mojito if you want refreshing but not sweet.

Pools: There are three along the deck. The larger pool is a cooler temperature with palm trees lining its sides. The middle circle pool seems to be hot tub, but is a cold, cold dip. The furtherest pool has a cascading waterfall that acts like a massaging agent with hot waters - wonderful.

Spa: Several hot rooms -- cedar, salt, steam-- and salt soak tubs (on first come basis). Be sure to acquire luxurious salts at the front desk of the spa. Fantastic experience.

Overall: A great spa-cation. There's not need to venture out of the the hotel as The Standard is a scene in itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the bay, you'll be able to get a glimpse of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRhude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,002 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,397 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,098 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Miami

Property: The Standard, Miami
Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Standard, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing