We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun pool scene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Standard, Miami
Ranked #10 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun pool scene”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband & I had a great time spending a weekend here. Super fun & cool pool scene. The gardens, pool & dockside restaurant are all beautiful. We had dinner at the dockside restaurant & the view was outstanding. Great food & drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kstaudt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    371
    143
    99
    83
See reviews for
88
652
215
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

When I called to book my reservation, I was prepared to book the bath terrace large room, which features a king bed. The gentleman on the phone directed me to the web site and showed me that they had a package special where if I booked the medium room, I would be upgraded to the large room upon check in. I thought this was a great deal so I did it. Why pay for the large if I was going to get it for free? When I called to confirm the reservation that morning and I was told that I would not have a king bed. I told the clerk that I resent being lied to by the reservations staff and I was directed to a manager who said her name was Precious. On the phone she told me it would be ok and that she would take care of me. Sadly, she lied, too.

Our room was disgusting. There was a thick layer of filthy brown slime on the floor around the internal doors and a wad of chewing gum pressed into the floor by the tiny bathroom. The walls appeared to have been white-washed plywood and each surface had obviously been painted over many times. The queen bed had rough sheets and had seen better days. The sorry excuse for a throw-rug was ridiculously rough. Overall, I rate this room as the third worst I have ever encountered. The good news is that it ranks ahead of a La Quinta Inn outside of El Paso and the Pair-a-Dice Motel in Las Vegas.

The housekeeping manager was playfully forgetful and to pretended to care when I called for towels. After the third call (lunch, pool time, dinner and a 9pm 75 minute massage in between), I just went to their place and acquired them myself. Our dinner waiter by the bar, Jake, was sloppily dressed and it looked like he hadn't washed his clothes in days. Nice enough fellow, but when you're automatically paying 18% gratuity, can't you afford to wash your clothes?

Speaking of the Lido, the view is gorgeous. No doubt. In fact, never take your eyes off of it, because if you bother to look at your food, you will be sorely disappointed. The turkey burger was McDonald's hamburger thin and the diameter of the bottom of a soda can. It was more bland than Wonderbread and at $18 (not including tax and tip), was worse value than stadium food. Now, in their defense, I ordered everything knowing what the price was. But does it have to be such a ripoff?

So let's recap. Staff that lies. Crappy rooms. Over-priced, zen-minimalist cocaine-80's food portions. On to the good parts.

Everything outside. The pools were great, the spa quite fine and the frozen grapes were a treat. And, not to put too fine of a point on it, the mostly-naked, 20-something hard-body girls made for nice eye-candy. And that's it.

Overall, we spent $900 for the 1 night stay. For that we got 2 small bowls of tzadziki, 4 drinks, 2 sliders, 1 lidowich, 2 sodas, 1 pesto pasta, 1 turkey burger, 2 75-minute massages, 2 scrambled eggs with a bagel ($14), 1 three-egg omelet, 1 parking spot and the third-worst room I ever stayed in.

I keep trying to find a reason for you to come and I can't. You could spend the same amount at 20 other places and have a far superior experience. If you want to enjoy the spa facilities, stay at a flea-bag motel up the road and just book a massage for the day. Otherwise, avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Lord H,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear about your series of unfortunate findings during your visit. There is never an excuse for poor service, but I assure you this is not a frequent occurrence at The Standard Spa, Miami Beach. Our room conditions and food quality are of the utmost importance along with our service culture. It seems we have failed to accomplish our goal with your stay and would like it very much if you would contact us directly to make it up to you. Please email aperez@standardhotel.com at your leisure. We look forward to making this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and i had a very relaxing time at the Standard last weekend. The pool was amazing on Saturday, and the spa always is perfect! The location is great since we just walked over the bridge to lincoln road and purdy avenue.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool and closer to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Cool, relaxed amazing pool and view. Stay at the lower floor rooms with the tub standing i the deck. Very good food at the bar, great atmosphere. It is not near from the beach so if your are planning to stay at the hotels pool is grat if you are a beach lover maybe something on the beach would be better

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. I live local and go for the day. It's like a mini vacation every time. The spa and pool are amazing. The spa serviced are expensive but when you factor in the use of the spa and pool it's well worth it.
The only thing I don't like is the valet. Its rediculously expensive and takes forever.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dawnwetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Top notch customer service, especially from Alex, the view and grounds are peaceful, friendly environment, spa and gardens are tranquil, rooms are small, but delightful and cozy. Make sure you request an umbrella early if relaxing by the pool.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bath tub on the private porch area. Rooms on the back side, not facing the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toliveYOUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

If the Anthropologie store were a hotel it would be The Standard Spa Miami. This retro hotel/motel has a vibe that is part Euro Chic, part Rat Pack from the 60's. It's wonderful and full of subtle feng shui touches everywhere that have a powerful effect. It is a study in sensuality -- every element has been thoughtfully considered for touch, down to the perfect spoon in our capuccino cup that we want to order for home. It is not a glitzy hotel. We didn't want glitz, we wanted soft breezes, easy going guests, great food, world-class spa, and brilliant staff. We got that in spades. After 3 days of bliss my husband (who has a hard time relaxing) said "This is a really nice vacation." He adds that he doesn't have a hard time relaxing he's just picky. I loved the staff -- Alex is superb at the front desk and everywhere, the head housekeeper generously offered and got me the source for the egg-pod hanging chairs in the garden where daughter and I were blissing out, new Food and Bev manager took time to inspect our take-out order and coach the staff on adding extra elements based on what we wanted. WOW. I love you guys. And then there's the Turkish hammam spa. Salt rub down with Fozley cannot be beat -- truly dedicated practiioner with superb skill and caring manner. I felt restored in 30 minutes flat. WE WILL RETURN. Dianna and Jeff Milam.

Room Tip: Our quiet room was on the left side of the pool as you face the Bay. Loved the large room with outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,398 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,437 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
286 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#38 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,617 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Miami

Property: The Standard, Miami
Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Standard, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing