We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Relax!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Standard, Miami
Ranked #11 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

one of my favourite hotel. The best location in south beach, is not the typical hotel in Miami, is old stile, the rooms are perfect! I was in the one room with my personal garden and bath outside... amazing!! The swimming pool grate!!! The staff Greate!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnninaMC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
There are newer reviews for The Standard, Miami
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is one of our favorite hotels in the world. My husband and I travel a whole lot and The Standard has this laid back styles while at the same time being SO cool. After visiting it a couple of times, we now know the staff and they could not be more helpful. Alex Lindao who works at the door is just an adorable guy. Just ask for him when you go there. He makes things happen, all with a smile. We are fans! And for the ladies, the scrubbing which costs only $14 at the spa is to die for.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nice place away from the strip
Great bar overlooking the bay
Chilled out staff remind me of my stay in Fiji
So laid back and pretty cool too
Staff friendly and obviously cool
and helpful concierge knows his stuff
Ill be back to chill out soon

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurujosh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My good massage was 1) not worth the $$$ nor 2) worth the poor customer service me and my partner received throughout the facility; from the spa to the pool to the staff.
The spa was in my opinion, rather gross and dirty. I have been to many spas in the US and this was the most unsanitary. When one pays $$$ for a spa day one expects a certain level of luxury and relaxation, neither of which we received. I do not recommend this hotel or spa and am waiting for the manager to respond to my 3 page letter. Im sure you could find just as good massage on groupon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrIsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Prlsle,
I am truly disappointed to learn about your recent experience when visiting us. I would like to learn more so we may address all your concerns about your perspective of the Spa and our services. Please email aperez@standardhotel.com so we may come up with a solution together.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I can't afford an out of town vacation, so my friends and I like to spend the day at The Standard to get away from it all :) Sometimes we do a yoga class or get a mani/pedi and have lunch outside by the water. The Standard isn't just for tourists! If you go you MUST HAVE one of the new Pop Nature popsicles on the menu. I had a tequila lime watermelon pop -- totally unexpectedly delicious! My friend had pineapple with fresh ginger. Yummy!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdoscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Those looking for a hotel on the famed Ocean Drive, amidst all of the chaos - this is not your place. The Standard is located on the quiet bay side of South Beach on the Venetial Causeway (a collection of small islands lined with exclusive homes.

Luckily, South Beach isn't too big and famed Lincoln Drive is a short walk. It's an even shorter bike ride (although the hotel rents bikes, I suggest the Deco Bike bike share).

Upon arrival we were greeted by a bell hop and then a front desk associate. These two employees set the bar very high (they greeted me by first name for our entire stay!) but as we learned, the entire staff at the Standard was fun, genuine, and warm.

If you prefer large rooms with dozens of amenities, please rethink your reservation here. The rooms are not the selling feature to the hotel. As a matter of fact, the hotel stresses that (they cover the TVs so you are dissuaded from staying in) and encourages guests to play outside! With that said, the rooms are clean and the bed very comfortable. Rooms are quiet and have a nice shower.

People come to the Standard Miami for the pool and the spa. We've been to the spa here before (highly recommended), but do to our short stay we stuck to the pool this time. The pool is a very special blend of "miami scene" and quiet relaxation. Laden with jetsetters, the pool is an oasis of cool and calm all in one.

I'm retuning to the Standard to celebrate my birthday / that's how much I enjoyed this place.

Do no stay here if you're not a fan of boutique hotels that stress vibe over ammenities. Not a good place for families either. I also wouldn't recommend this place to those looking to party all night on Ocean Drive.

The Standard, with its fantastic staff, hidden gem location, and chic pool, has my vote and another stay already in the works!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The spa and the pool were great. The room itself was very nice. My problem started when we arrived. We arrived around 1:30 PM and the room was not ready. (I had paid in full for the room 30 days prior to check in so they had plenty of time to get ready for us). They were nice enough to let us use the facilities while we waited. (all was good). We checked back around 3:00 and still not ready. (no problem) We came back at 4:00 and still not ready. (I can understand) so since we were exhausted from travelling and being in the spa all day we sat by the check in desk awaiting our room. At 4:40 I had had enough and went to complain. The front desk lady cut my complaints short by informing me my room was ready. This room was beside the ice maker, "high power" generator room and laundry room. We were so tired that we were happy to get anything at this time. All night I kept hearing carts go by. These carts make a very loud noise. The sound is very similar to train's "clikety clack" because the wheels of the carts hit the cracks of the 12 inch block sidewalk. Every crack makes a sound. These carts it turned out travel from the kitchen which is way up front and back to some other area way in the back which has to pass by our room. Well we went to bed around 10:00 PM and about every 10 minutes or just when you are about to fall asleep the cart would pass our room and wake us up. I figured that they would stop any minute and around midnight fell asleep. At 5:00 AM I was awaken to, sure enough, a cart going down the track. Then another one in about 15 minutes and so on all day. Later that day we tried to take a nap because we were so exhausted from not sleeping however the laundry "party room" next door was going strong. That is when I phoned to change rooms and was informed that that was not an option. That night once again there was no sleeping. The carts continued relentlessly. It seems that the kitchen must not have a dishwasher so the carts are going from the front to the back with dishes however I saw everything moving on those carts from salt pepper shakers, vacuum cleaners, laundry, ice, food and everything in between. My advice would be not to stay on the right side garden area. The best advice that I can give is to buy a day pass which is only $75 weekday and $125 weekend and stay somewhere that offers peace and quiet. (If however they were to rubberize or put carpet down on the train track, that would probably remedy the problem). (Oh, and did I mention that most of the cart wheels make a loud squeeking noise as they rolled down the track)? Some oil on those wheels would help too.

Room Tip: Don't get a garden room on the right side of the building
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChasnRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Standard. I am saddened to hear that your stay was less than relaxing and that carts kept you up all nights. We are taking internal measures to look over our entire inventory and make sure our carts are as silent as possible. I promise your next visit will exceed your expectations and we hope you will give us another try. Please email my office at aperez@standardhotel.com to discuss further. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,411 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,477 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 210 in Miami Beach
296 reviews
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 210 in Miami Beach
239 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#15 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $220 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Standard, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing