We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasisi in the middle of bustiling Miami beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Standard, Miami
Ranked #9 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was a pefect five day getaway to recharge batteries. Included 3 day detox program which I found very helpful combined with daiily yoga, massages, baths. All in all the atmosphere of total tranquillity. Loved the fact there were no clocks on property.Lost extra inches felt rejuvinated. great Spa staff! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room# 60 had a perfect location - afternoon sun complimented outdoor bathtime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived after a 4 hour drive from Key West and after some confusion on our room were given a disabled access room in the far corner of the East Wing. Sliding doors, hand shower and railings around the bathroom walls.
There were a few problems with the room.
The toilet seat had no lid and the seat was loose and falling off, the in room telephone didn't work, the shower spurted water all over the bathroom from the fixture which had been reaffixed to the wall with mastic and it felt extremely poor!
After complaining to the front desk we were moved the next day into a better room further up the east side and things began to improve for the better. Once we had got over that hurdle we really enjoyed it!
It has a great lido and bay restaurant, excellent spa (Ben & Mirabelle both excellent masseuses) and very amenable and helpful staff. Nathalie, Kimi, Ernesto and Alex.
There is a small boutique run by the lovely Renate and a coffee shop which although is a temporary thing should be kept to keep the "buzz" around the outside breakfast area happening.
I did experience a bit of problem with the staff who look after the breakfast who were disorganised and slow but once i complained they were extremely helpful.
all in all i would recommend the Standard. At the weekend it is a bit of a scene as it is a hip place to be seen by the PYT of Miami...(where isn't) but during the week it is very chilled and a bit of an island on an an island. You are close enough and far enough away from everything. it keeps it back to the road and the noise and looks out to the bay... a good horizon!

Room Tip: We had a large garden terrace which is quiet and cozy. it has a bath on the terrace which is curtain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bandf66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Alex of The Standard team is outstanding in every way. He is a man who is a person of honor. His loyalty to The Standard Hotel is without question, genuine. He made my stay at The Standard a wonderful experience. He is a staff member whom I would recommend to be promoted into any position. He would make your proud. Christine Keating, Spring Lake, New Jersey. Room 90 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ckeating1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Have been vacationing at the Standard for many years with my wife..We met Alex there 5 years ago and he has been very helpful over these years. There is rarely a problem but when an occasional one arises it is solved in the most friendly and timely manner by Alex. When arrive to check in he always greets us warmly and with a big smile. His official job is bell man and front desk and he gets an A there but he can also help in many other ways likebeing a liason to other people and departments at The Standard. The hotel is always very enjoyable ie food, pool, spa and location. Try The Standard and look for Alex.
Edward

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I visited The Standard for the first time last weekend, and had an incedible and relaxing stay. As good as the whole experience was, I have to say that the service we received from Alex was the most memorable part of our stay! From the time we checked in until the time we checked out, Alex was always completely professional, accommodating, and completely focused on providing excellent customer service. His constant smile and genuine care for his guests is apparent, and he is a true asset! This high level of service will certainly make us return for another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our first trip to Miami was over Labor Day weekend 2012 and we wanted a relaxing, quite weekend. We barely left the hotel; laid by the pool all day and visited the spa after dinner. We plan to make The Standard in Miami our go-to trip when we need a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Casual,open and totally planned for you individual selection of activity...Evening time spa is more crowded...early to rise has it's benefits....pool area is large and service there is friendly and prompt....Questions and use of the spa to it's fullest are easily at your service. At no time did we feel pressured to do the " extras" but certainly we were exposed to all the spa had to offer.This is a relaxing people friendly resort where you can be exposed socially to meeting new friends or left to enjoy your alone time of R and R.

Room Tip: You must have the experience of the private outside spa tub.....Dining at the hotel is a must for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,422 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#11 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,508 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#5 of 212 in Miami Beach
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,609 reviews
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 212 in Miami Beach
258 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $222 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Standard, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing