We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel!”
Review of Ocean Blue Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Blue Hostel
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My experience was really good for me at the Deco Walk! The staff is great, always there to answer your questions and to help you with anything... Good Price/quality, half a minute from the beach! Small fridge in the room plus the television and a computer for everyone in the lobby! :) Bring your earplugs, Ocean Drive can be pretty loud at night! I totally recommend this hostel! Have a nice trip!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Climber91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 296 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2010

We decided to try something different and spent the weekend at this hostel on Miami Beach. It was our first experience at a hostel so we weren't quite sure what to expect.

The dorm style accomodations were pretty clean, just the usual sand one expects on a tiled floor in a beach town. The lobby/bar area in the reception was in the deco style, and nice and airy. They have an undeveloped goldmine in the roof top patio, only about half of it is setup to be used leaving a whole area in the back that have more seating, tables etc. Some type of toliet would be good too as you have to traipse back down to your room. The only real negative was the distinct lack of ashtrays. There was one overflowing one and that was it. There were quite a few people smoking and we resorted to using beer cans and water bottles for ashtrays.

The location is really amazing, right on Ocean Drive and you can see the ocean from the rooftop patio.

The staff were friendly and helpful with everything. The valet parking for $20 for the entire stay is a great bargain considering the prices of parking on South Beach.

I saw a view negative reviews about the lack of atmosphere, but really its all in what you make of it. Hanging out with new friends most of the night on the patio was pretty awesome, without needing something glitzy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathansharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

I stayed in Deco walk for six nights early Dec. and found the place really nice. The kitchen is quite small but adequate. The only 'issue' if you would call it that is there is a roof top jacuzzi advertised but it was not working for my entire stay - with staff saying it would be the next day, he next day etc. It would of been nice to have this in use. Other than that I would have no complaints whatsoever

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTW412009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

The hostel lobby was very modern with white comfy seating clean floors and lovely decor, free internet access and a breakfast bar/night time bar. There was also a BBQ party on the roof the night we stayed which was excellent! You could see South Beach from the large window in the lobby it was literally across the road, we paid about $29 each for one night there was 7 of us and we stay in the one room in bunk beds, the room was rather large nothing fancy but comfortable! we had such a good time there the people who worked there really looked after us. I would recommend this hostel too any young groups travelling to Miami.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_n10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Our frst impressions of this place were pretty mixed with the UV lighting in the elevator but overall, Deco Walk is well worth the visit if you're on a no-frills budget and want to be right in the centre of the Miami Beach scene.

We stayed in a mixed 8 bed dorm. It was clean and tidy and as mentioned, what you'd expect for $25 a night. Nevertheless, the room and en-suite was very tidy.

What is a great hostel was let down by a couple of things that could be changed pretty easily and cheaply....

The room's air-con though sounded like a 1930's prop plane engine and leaked more than the meagre portioned sized coffee machine you get for the continental breakfast (as mentioned in other reviews - a thimble of coffee and a slice of bread). Walking in small puddles of water to get to the lockers was a bit of a pain in the bum but kind of refreshing don't get me wrong when you're half drunk.

Secondly, the bunk beds in our room were clean, fresh but not good for sharing in a room with 7 other people as like the air-con made more noise than any overweight backpacker snoring on his back.

Moving around at night caused even more noise as most of the other guests were all telling each other to keep it down because the beds creaked like grandma's rocking chair. All beds creak yes but these were pretty exceptional.

Now for a positive, the staff were very helpful and friendly once you understood what they were saying and helped us get our connections and get around the city. They were around in the early hours and there was always a visable presence in the lobby. Best of all, the staff and the hundreds of CCTV cameras made us feel safe which is pretty good for Vice City.

Great lobby, classy decor, stylish and good rooms with friendly and pleasant people. Awesome if you're looking for a great value place to stay in Miami Beach on a budget.

However, I must mention the fact that the advertised 'rooftop bar' was not quite the 'Club Tropicana' scene I imagined it to be. In fact the hot tub (out of use), pool table (out of use) and elevator to the party (out of use) were all, yup, out of use. The rooftop looked like the weather had the party, trashed the place and threw up over it all. (note there was no actual vomit). It just looked a mess and un-kept. They could do with maybe just closing it off when it looks like the mess it was in and re-opening it when there's the weather and the numbers of people willing to use it around. I would have loved to have sipped a cold beer up there with the place alive and kicking. The fact that I couldn't and had to see it all sad and un-usable was a big disappointment. Sorry guys!

Despite the lack of Wham inspired boozing on the rooftop, the Deco Walk is ace place to stay. With a couple of small changes this place would be near perfect. If you're the type of person who likes attention to detail on a budget and doesn't mind getting drunk enough to sleep through the creaks...Go Deco Walk. :)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattbowling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

First of all, South Beach is expensive.... Hotels are ridiculously priced and cheap rates generally mean poor quality. Hostels are very different from hotels, but for the price and location, you will not find anything else in South Beach that is comparable.
We arrived before check-in and were able to store our bags in a locked luggage room. We then literally walked across the street and put our feet in the sand!
Our room was very typical for hostel accomodations with bunk beds and a shared bathroom. Thankfully the room had air conditioning as it gets pretty hot and humid in Miami. The shower was great with lots of hot water and pressure.
The bar in the Hostel lobby was the best value for drinks anywhere in South Beach. $4 mixed drinks, $3 beers, $4 wine.
Most of the staff was incredibly nice and helpful, but there were a few staff members who were semi-rude and definitely not enjoying their job. The bar tender and his dog Margo were awesome!
Disregard any of the comments made prior to last Fall. Apparently they had a change of management and the place is a lot different. Especially if you look at the photos from several years ago, as the hostel has been completely revamped.
I would definitely stay at the DecoWalk Hostel again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny_Lynn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Rooms and common areas were very clean, staff was wonderful, absolutely amazing location (right across from the beach, and next to Mango's and Fat Tuesdays), cheap drinks at lobby bar, and lots a great guests and people to meet. I've never been to a nicer hostel, and I've traveled a lot! Oh, also free internet/wireless was nice as well as the free valet and laundry! So awesome and worth the value! Highly recommend this hostel to everyone :)

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank thursday135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#174 of 212 in Miami Beach
531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#37 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rock Hostel
Rock Hostel
#4 of 87 in Miami Beach
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posh South Beach Hostel
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 87 in Miami Beach
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
OceanDriveVR Suites
OceanDriveVR Suites
#61 of 87 in Miami Beach
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Blue Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue Hostel

Address: 928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013 (Formerly Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range: $11 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Blue Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Oceanfront Hostel and Beach Club on Miami Beach & south beach, with a Rooftop Lounge with a bar where you can meet other travelers open until 4 am! complete with a TV, outdoor furniture, on a sun-bathing deck on ocean drive, where something Fun is always happening, If we were any closer to the beach, we would be in the ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Blue Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco Walk Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing