We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worst hostel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Blue Hostel
Kalmar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst hostel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Arrogant and rude staff. A breakfast included which would barely feed a starving child. I have stayed at hostels in America, Europe and Australia and this is by far one of the worst experiences ever. The only good thing I can say about it is the location so if you got absolutely no standards what so ever - this is your place.

Room Tip: Tip: stay out of this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    88
    49
    24
    32
See reviews for
8
9
104
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel is well situated just near the beach. Also, it has a rooftop that is good to enjoy a sunny day.However, the staff was really rude, and the rooms were the worst I've ever seen. 12 in a ridiculously small room, with only 1 bathroom inside for everyone. When you don't know anyone, such a crowded environment is not good. There are 3 floors of bed, which I had never seen before and the upper beds are not safe at all. No space at all to take the so called "breakfast".
Just go to this hostel if you want cheap price and not a clean environment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Awesome ambiance, perfect rooftop, the staff was very pleasant, the place is just in front of the beach, rooms are spacious and the swimming pool is good
Thanks to Decowalk for this few days and thanks to INTERSTUDE

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I liked the hostel, the staff is very friendly, they always have good plans for party and different options too. The location is great too and is just across the beach. The food is good considering what you pay for it. Clean rooms too and secure.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location is fantastic. You are right on Ocean Drive and all you had to do is cross the street and you are on the beach.

When I booked this hostel it described our room as private however a few days after I booked it we learned we had to walk through another groups room in order to get to ours. Also we shared a bathroom with this other group. This would have been okay except there was no shower curtain around the tub so EVERYTHING was perpetual wet.

Also the "wall" separating the two rooms stop short of the ceiling by a foot so sound travelled quite easily.

Besides this, for the price of staying in south beach and the convenience of it's location is was an okay experience. There is a kitchen and hot tub we never got around to using but those could make a travelers experience better.

Room Tip: Just be forewarned that the "private" rooms may not be very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank onherway10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conselheiro Lafaiete, MG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I went to Miami for two or three days on my way to Davenport and I had a good experience at this hostel. The staff was kind and very helpful. We had free breakfast till 10am and it was quite good. The atmosphere of the lobby was awesome, cable tv, free Wi-Fi, kind people. The hostel is quite modern and well finished. The entrance is a bit weird, especially at night. Some parties are held on the roof top, there is free barbecue in the evening...pretty cool, actually. My friends and I shared a room with other people. The room was okay, pretty comfortable beds and, the A/C was always working. We had a problem in our room, cuz one of the guys in the room had his cell phone stolen. It was found in a guy's backpack right in the room. There was a guy in the room who was always bringing alcohol into the room, which was forbidden. We registered a complaint and he was told to leave the hostel. (We believe the cell phone thing was kind of a joke played by this man) I strongly recommend that you buy a good padlock and place your belongings in one of the lockers. The location is awesome, right on Ocean Drive...There are lots of bars, discos, restaurants where u can hv fun, right in front of South Beach, I would definitely go back there anytime!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victorlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Deco Walk Hostel is directly across Ocean Drive from the beach-located SCOPE tent. At $50 per night, I expected it would be booked to the gills. It wasn't. I reserved a spot in a 6-bed all-women room, and only one other adult woman was there.

It's been awhile since I stayed in a hostel, and this was my first hostel experience in the U.S.

Late at night, a friend and I returned to play pool on the rooftop. The cues are worn out but we still had fun.
Don't go for the 2-for-1 drink specials at the adjacent businesses -- one costs $50, as a friend learned the hard way.

Room Tip: I was in the building across the alley which would have been okay if the young security guards had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Art_Prof_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Starlite Hotel
#158 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#83 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,476 reviews
Posh South Beach Hostel
#3 of 78 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoBe Hostel
#8 of 78 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
South Pointe
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
#64 of 78 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Blue Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue Hostel

Property: Ocean Blue Hostel
Address: 928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013 (Formerly Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Blue Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Oceanfront Hostel and Beach Club on Miami Beach & south beach, with a Rooftop Lounge with a bar where you can meet other travelers open until 4 am! complete with a TV, outdoor furniture, on a sun-bathing deck on ocean drive, where something Fun is always happening, If we were any closer to the beach, we would be in the ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Blue Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco Walk Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing