We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Blue Hostel to your Saves list
Ocean Blue Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   928 Ocean Drive, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The best!

I cannot imagine a better hostel in a better location. It was once a fancy hotel and it shows: an elegant lobby with a 50 foot ceiling and windows overlooking the ocean, fancy corridor lights, well equipped bathrooms etc. and, above it all, the best location between 9th and 10th Street on Ocean Drive, the hottest spot in Miami beach. It offers hotel luxury at hostel prices.

I have kept returning to Deco Walk over the years and was amazed this time by the expensive upgrades made by the new owner: brand new floors everywhere, a modernized lobby with pale beige leather sofas lining three walls, an all white French kitchen equipped with high end cabinets/cook top/freezer/refrigerators, key cards to the rooms etc...A free barbecue is offered every night, weather permitting, on the terrace which covers the top of the entire building. It has a 360 degree view on the ocean and city, a huge projector screen, a Jaccuzi, numerous seating arrangements, umbrellas, a bar etc. And there are more upgrades in the making. The dorm beds are brand new and comfortable. The air conditioning works well. The staff is very friendly, efficient, and hard working; Brad and Patrick are such great assets.
It is well worth the detour wherever you are.

Room Tip: I like the two rooms overlooking ocean drive. Ocean Drive is noisy but insulation is very good and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danieleoudinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review on your stay with us! We appreciate the feedback and the 5 star rating! Hope to see you soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    83
    48
    24
    32
See reviews for
7
8
101
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

After moving from another awful hostel in South Beach, Deco Walk surpassed all of my expectations.
First impressions are nice the front is modern and impressive. It's above a yoghurt bar undergoing construction so when you enter the side door men were working but this caused us no disruption at all.
Upon on arrival a member if staff helped us with our luggage there is an elevator but it was out of service.
We stayed in room 2, all of their 6 bed dorms are really 12 bed dorms split by a door so you could share with up to 12 people, don't let this out you off it was kept clean throughout our stay.
The location is right on Ocean Drive the focal feature of South Beach :)
The rooms were kept immaculate and the beds were comfy, one of the nicest pillows out of all of the hostels I've tried !
The terrace was lovely only $6 for a cocktail plus buy one get one free for South Beach that's a dream!
Overall really great place to stay! Excellent in to wifi too :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie-gsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Natalie,

Thank you for the review. Glad we were able to salvage your trip and hope you had a blast in South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a modern hostel in a deco building in South Beach. It is located close to an airport bus stop, And has a fantastic location as you can walk across ocean drive and your on the beach. The room was a bit small but was clean and secure. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dylan_crosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for your review! Hope to see you back soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I wasn't impressed with this hostel (I was in room #10). I was only there for 2 days & I stayed in the co-ed mixed dorm for 6 people. Here are the key points I'd like to make:

The Good:
1-The location is VERY IDEAL if you are interested in staying in the heart of South Beach. Although you are directly on the strip, it is very quiet inside the hostel itself
2-The atmosphere is nice-you don't have to walk far to get anything
3-The staff is very friendly & extremely helpful
4-The hostel itself is clean
5-The rooftop provides a great view of South Beach! The jacuzzi looked nice, but there was NO way I was getting in that thing (it looked dirty) & during my entire stay I never saw one person utilize it

The Not so Good:
1-The 6 person room is actually inside another 6 person room so it's not truly a 6 person room (moreso like a large room with a door separating the 12 (6 & 6)
2-The bathtub in our room was horrible! It wasn't clean at all & it smelled of mildew. Also, there is not a shower door-more like a clear 1/2 glass --so be mindful of that
3-The breakfast is not a breakfast-it's more like toast (the cheap dollar white bread) & juice & coffee. I was expecting much more from the other reviews I read, however I didn't even bother once I saw what they were offering
4-The thin blankets they were offering for covers reeked of must---I'm not sure if they were just not cleaned well, but I didn't use them-I just slept with the sheets they provided

I think that was/is about it. Overall, i would not stay here again. Every hostel is different & each one is an experience, however this one, I will not stay at again.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the building are the most quiet (I was in room #10)--however all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review- you really listed out some our best qualities, and for that we appreciate it. For the not so good, our room layouts are just that, as you described and referenced on our website, but there are private rooms available too. We do have new housekeeping staff and all rooms have been through a detailed cleaning. We hope tyou remember the good times with us and try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

There are only 2 good things about this hostel...1) The location, right on Ocran Drive literally a 2min walk to Miami South beach 2) Rooftop bar.
However this hostel is a shambles! Constant construction ment disturbance throughout the day. Often they closed off the lobby which is the only place to chill! The rooftop is awesome however it is never busy as management have no idea how to promote it therefore not really a "party" hostel.
The dorms are not 6 bed rooms they have 12 beds and a "false" wall to separate to make it 6x6. Ironically the night staff were the most friendly and awesome some of the day staff seemed clueless & miserable.
Not cheap and their main focus is purely to take your money.
This hostel does not have a good vibe. Would not stay here again. Miami Hostel eventhough it is alittle further away is so much better

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Tanya,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - the good and the bad. You'll be glad to know the construction is over! The parties are great too - check out our facebook page for recent photos. We even can get you into clubs like Mansion and Liv if you check us out in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Unfortnately i'd stayed at another hostel the previous night and had done a trip to Key West which meant I didn't check in at the hostel til 2am ...went back out til 4am slept and then left at 10:30. Of course during this time i didn't get to experience much of the facilities but the staff were really friendly with a great sense of humour, the other guests were friendly, inviting me out as soon as i arrived, the room was comfortable and clean and the price was very fair. The location is great, right on Ocean Drive and 2 doors down from Mango's!

Room Tip: If you get the top bunk (they are stacked in 3's) mind your head when you wake up ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum_Mac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks for the review! Traveling with you sounds like fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I totally loved this place!! Location is awesome, right next to the beach and close to everything. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooftop with the bar and hot tub is wonderful!!! Super cheap drinks and you can get into clubs, etc. I don't think it was dirty at all. The lockers were a little small though. We stayed in a room with 12 beds but there was only 4 of us, all the other beds were empty so it wasn't too crowded.
I definitely recommend this hostel!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0rld_traveller124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for the review! Really appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#100 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,409 reviews
Posh South Beach Hostel
#4 of 78 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
South Pointe
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
#56 of 78 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Beds & Drinks
Beds & Drinks
#30 of 78 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
OceanDriveVR Suites
#33 of 78 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Blue Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue Hostel

Property: Ocean Blue Hostel
Address: 928 Ocean Drive, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Blue Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Oceanfront Hostel and Beach Club on Miami Beach & south beach, with a Rooftop Lounge with a bar where you can meet other travelers open until 4 am! complete with a TV, outdoor furniture, on a sun-bathing deck on ocean drive, where something Fun is always happening, If we were any closer to the beach, we would be in the ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Blue Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco Walk Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing