We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Made for Tourists not backpackers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Blue Hostel
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Made for Tourists not backpackers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

There are only 2 good things about this hostel...1) The location, right on Ocran Drive literally a 2min walk to Miami South beach 2) Rooftop bar.
However this hostel is a shambles! Constant construction ment disturbance throughout the day. Often they closed off the lobby which is the only place to chill! The rooftop is awesome however it is never busy as management have no idea how to promote it therefore not really a "party" hostel.
The dorms are not 6 bed rooms they have 12 beds and a "false" wall to separate to make it 6x6. Ironically the night staff were the most friendly and awesome some of the day staff seemed clueless & miserable.
Not cheap and their main focus is purely to take your money.
This hostel does not have a good vibe. Would not stay here again. Miami Hostel eventhough it is alittle further away is so much better

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Tanya,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - the good and the bad. You'll be glad to know the construction is over! The parties are great too - check out our facebook page for recent photos. We even can get you into clubs like Mansion and Liv if you check us out in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    87
    49
    24
    32
See reviews for
7
9
103
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Unfortnately i'd stayed at another hostel the previous night and had done a trip to Key West which meant I didn't check in at the hostel til 2am ...went back out til 4am slept and then left at 10:30. Of course during this time i didn't get to experience much of the facilities but the staff were really friendly with a great sense of humour, the other guests were friendly, inviting me out as soon as i arrived, the room was comfortable and clean and the price was very fair. The location is great, right on Ocean Drive and 2 doors down from Mango's!

Room Tip: If you get the top bunk (they are stacked in 3's) mind your head when you wake up ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum_Mac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks for the review! Traveling with you sounds like fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I totally loved this place!! Location is awesome, right next to the beach and close to everything. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooftop with the bar and hot tub is wonderful!!! Super cheap drinks and you can get into clubs, etc. I don't think it was dirty at all. The lockers were a little small though. We stayed in a room with 12 beds but there was only 4 of us, all the other beds were empty so it wasn't too crowded.
I definitely recommend this hostel!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0rld_traveller124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for the review! Really appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hostel is in a superb location. It has both an indoor communal bar area with an excellent view and also a roof terrace overlooking Ocean Drive and the beach. Could not get a more ideal location if you tried. It is very reasonably priced and i found the staff very helpful.

Downsides - the lift is quite dark, very hot and a little slow. The rooms are cramped, even by hostel standards and it was one shower between 10. If you don't mind that then definitely think about staying here,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for your review! Hope to see you back soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hostel has one of the best locations in Miami Beach, right in Ocean Dr.
During my stay the hostel was under reform. So there wasn't anything in the lobby, the bar was not working, the kitchen was closed and the rooftop area too. The elevator was presenting a lot of problems and the staff seemed to be not worried with the overall situation.
I stayed in a room with 3-story bunks, and you can be sure that is just for sleep, once you can't even seat in your bed if you're more than 6 ft.
The breakfast is OK.
Probably I won't be back there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IldJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, we werre doing renovation as we were under new management. You should see all the great changes in the lobby, rooftop and kitchen. It's true you can't beat the location, right on Ocean Drive. We wish you safe treavels and hopefully we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hostel was being renovated to fit more beds at the time of stay (rooms are now stacked with 3-story bunks, with barely enough room). This meant there was no common area, the kitchen was closed, the rooftop pool and communal area was gone, there was no pool table, no laundry & basically nothing that was promised was there. Staff weren't particularly helpful with the exception of one guy on the desk. Breakfast is served in disposable polystyrene cups and plates sort of ration style creating a huge amount of unnecessary rubbish. Rooms are noisy due to location of clubs that can be heard until 4am every night.

Room Tip: For a good room, stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
The good news is that we are under new management as of Feb 2013, the bad news may be that you may have witnessed one of our more ambitious day of getting everything done. We are all done with the full rennovation so all the amenities like the pool, our common area with wifi, inside and outside bar as well as the jacuzzi are ready for action!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good hostel, especially for its location that is the reason why I put rate it very good.
Disappointed with the size of the lockers, very small and so, can't put your backpack in it, just the most important things.
Also, got disappointed with the attitude of the staff, they made a mistake on a booking for a tour and could not do it at the end because of their mistake. When there was still a little time to save it, no reactivity at all, no huge help and received apologize during the evening.
It is surely clean, the breakfast is fine and the location great, just cross the street to the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie-Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for your review! I hope next time we can accommodate you with a tour! There are lots of great things to see and do in South Beach. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#47 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#96 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
Posh South Beach Hostel
#3 of 78 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pointe
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
#56 of 78 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
City Center
Beds & Drinks
Beds & Drinks
#29 of 78 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Blue Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue Hostel

Property: Ocean Blue Hostel
Address: 928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013 (Formerly Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Blue Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Oceanfront Hostel and Beach Club on Miami Beach & south beach, with a Rooftop Lounge with a bar where you can meet other travelers open until 4 am! complete with a TV, outdoor furniture, on a sun-bathing deck on ocean drive, where something Fun is always happening, If we were any closer to the beach, we would be in the ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Blue Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco Walk Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing