We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my first day in the US”
Review of Ocean Blue Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Blue Hostel
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“my first day in the US”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I slept only one night in a huge dorm room in nov 2011.
-got a towel with huge red spots on it (but managed to dry myself with the unspotted area)
-found a big booger on my bed frame
-the bathroom was very dirty at night when I arrived (I guess they clean only in the morning)
-staff was very friendly, helped me with some issues, invited me to go out at night
-they had a computer to use, a tv, a bar and a really nice terrace
-breakfast was very simple (toast), but sufficent amounts
And then there was this: In the middle of the night this drunken teenager guy came in the room, puked over a couple of different sleepers (thank god, not me), went out puked some more in the floor, went back and after 15 minutes of groaning, felt asleep. LOL. But of course this is not neccesarily the fault of the hostel. It's just a fun story I'd like to share. The next 5 days i did couchsurfing and had a more than amazing time. :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dokododo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    95
    58
    29
    39
See reviews for
8
11
121
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Situated right on Ocean Drive, in between The Cleavelander and Mango's Tropical Café, with the beach just across the street, you simply cannot beat the location. The Deco Walk hostel is hip, with a big rooftop terrace and a nice and stylish common room. The staff is friendly and helpful. The dorms are spacious, though the bathrooms could use a bit of work. Serving breakfast only from 7:00am to 9:00am is a bummer, however. It ends too early and many people miss it. Would definitely go back!!

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pat5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Do not go here. The staff does not care about anything you ask them for. They changed their mind about the check out time, they were extremely rude and it is just not a pleasure to stay there. Even if you are just looking for a place to sleep, try to find another hostel. One girl, who was in the hostel the same time we've been there was thrown out, because she was inviting some people to a free party thrown in the city and that was against "hostel rules" (which were nowhere stated) She had to find a new place to sleep at 11pm!!!! Pay $5 more and find a different hostel....

Room Tip: find a different hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamS35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Good location, just by the beach with a beautiful lobby with ocean view. Stayed just one night but was very happy with everything. Rooms are in good condition and a plus is the ensuite bathroom and minifridge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resigenochigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I am from italy, i had a great time in in the hostel, it's right in front of the beach and in the middle of ocean dr. And that's so cool!!! The rooms are really nice and the people that works there are very kind. It's awsome that you have free access on internet, kitchen and telephone for local calls. They are really organized, every night they make groups and take with the limo at the most popular discos in miami at a very good price (about 20$ - open bar included). I had a lot of fun and knew a lot of people from all the world! You must be open mind and enjoy your holiday even if your room mates are a mass!:)) thank you deco walk... I'll be back soon. Jade

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadecnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

+++
Great location.
Lots of interesting people from all over the world, in particular from Spain.
Not too expensive.
Rooftop. Beautiful! And has the potential to be even more beautiful!
- - -
Staff were pretty rude in general. There was an aggressive Russian girl/women working at the front desk, and she's probably the rudest person who works in a hotel I've ever met Unbelievable!
The rooms were not very clean, but mostly because of the sand from the beach. Or because there were people who just couldn't keep things clean. Happens. Also, it was pretty hot or way too cold in the rooms, depending if A/C was on or not.

Generally, I had a positive experience. Don't expect too much and you'll be satisfied. Miami Beach is a cool place to chill out and party all night long. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KMJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

This place BADLY ripped us off. We booked several months in advance and got a good price. We later spoke on the phone with the hostel and added one person to our room, who paid a higher price because he booked a month later was a month later. When we got to the hostel, it turned out we had all been charged the same price as him. Because of this mistake on their part, we had to pay over an extra $1000 in total. By that point, all of us were already in Miami and everything else was booked, so we couldn't switch hostels. They gave us several different made-up reasons why the price was raised, including that there was a festival, and then later that it was a "tax," because they had no idea. Finally when I realized what the actual issue was, that there was a mistake in the reservation, they refused to fix it. When we tried to reason with the people working there, he called me "irresponsible" and "not mature," even though it was an error on their part. He wasn't even willing to listen to us, and was completely disrespectful. They are completely unprofessional and essentially con artists. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOSTEL. The beds were also pretty terrible, you have to pay for EVERYTHING, and it's incredibly noisy. There are better places out there that are better and won't rip you off, don't be fooled by the seemingly low costs.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DashiellD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#173 of 208 in Miami Beach
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#109 of 208 in Miami Beach
856 reviews
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Blue Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue Hostel

Property: Ocean Blue Hostel
Address: 928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013 (Formerly Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Blue Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Oceanfront Hostel and Beach Club on Miami Beach & south beach, with a Rooftop Lounge with a bar where you can meet other travelers open until 4 am! complete with a TV, outdoor furniture, on a sun-bathing deck on ocean drive, where something Fun is always happening, If we were any closer to the beach, we would be in the ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Blue Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco Walk Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing