We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxury, but not a dump”
Review of Ocean Spray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Spray Hotel
Ranked #183 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
South Boardman, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not luxury, but not a dump”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is no luxury resort. It is a lower cost hotel in Miami Beach that is right across from the beach. Our room ( a king, so it was one of their "deluxe" rooms) was very spacious and was clean. The furniture seemed newer and was in great condition. The bed was comfortable. A bit softer than I prefer, but did not feel broken down or saggy. A lot of hotels make it feel really nice in the lobby and public areas, but the rooms are outdated and run down. This is almost the opposite. The lobby area is worn and sparse, but the room was surprisingly nice.

The staff were attentive and courteous. We didn't have any need to work with them as we had no problems with our stay at all.

The windows in the room are old and thin. This made our room pretty noisy in the evening. If you can't sleep with some light "city noise" this might not be a good choice for you. We heard some sirens (not far from a hospital) and some loud cars most, but also planes and the MetroBuses. We didn't hear any noise from the neighbors in the hotel though.

One really big downfall for this place, for me, is that there is not free WiFi in the rooms. The WiFi in the lobby is free, but it doesn't extend to the rooms. If you want WiFi in the room you have to pay 10+tax every day. I get it that fast internet still isn't cheap, but that should just be a part of running a hotel in this day and age. We mostly used our data on our phones, and my husband was able to connect to nearby hotels if he was sitting in the very corner of the room. If you need to stay on business and need a fast reliable connection, it might be best to look elsewhere.

One last thing to mention is that this hotel (and all the others in this immediate "walking distance" area) does not have a large variety of places to eat. There is a Subway in the lobby, but they don't participate in the national $5 dollar footlong deal (a footlong when we were there was 7.50) and a Carrabas (also didn't participate in nationally advertised deals). It appeared that there was some higher end restaurants nearby, but not really a lot going on in the eatery department.

Overall, it was a good value for what we wanted, but we might try to find an area with more food within walking distance next time we stay without a car.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    122
    108
    51
    90
See reviews for
49
155
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beer Sheva
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

At the corner of Collins and 42nd, it is about 2 Km from the main action, a quick bus ride or 20 minutes brisk walk.
The Good: price, room, location.
All rooms have a small fridge (empty), coffee machine, some have also a microwave,
We even found a parking on the corner of 42nd. free for the night and only $1 per hour. But once you catch one, don't move the car :).
The not so good...and for some even very bad... the Subway sandwich bar, located in the lobby smells terrible, and the smell is felt throughout the whole building, the rooms being the only exception.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shesh-Pac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Enjoyed my stay at the Ocean spray hotel. Very good quality for what I paid. Located just across the road to the beach (30second walk at most), and an easy walk if you plan to walk along the boardwalk. Located just off the beach, it was unbelievebly quiet - it felt like you had the beach to yourself.

The room was great - I decided to upgrade to the deluxe to relax even further! Big and spacous, with a King size bed, 42" TV with load of channel, and a HiFi system which played the local radio stations too! The bath rooms are big, and offer a tub/shower combo, however, the bathroom was very long and not very wide. Not a major complaint though.

The only option to eat in the hotel is a subway in the main reception, or a local cafe/resturant up the road. No major issue, as I was planning on eating out anyway!

Finally, the location. Ideal from the airport - easy ride in and out, but quite a distance from the tourist area of ocean drive. Offering both pros and cons. Very good walk down, if you feel up to it, but not an everyday trip! Make sure you are aware of this before booking.

Would come back and stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed in 3 hotels while we were in Miami and this was by far the best of them all.

Pros
- A 5 second walk away from the beach
- 10 minute walk from Lincoln Road
- Room was huge, queen size bed
- TV and Stereo system included with a built-in radio
- Windows were large and could be opened with a fantastic view overlooking the beach
- Very good, competitive price
- Good breakfast and lounge
- Cheap sunlounges for the beach

Cons
- No free wi-fi in the rooms (Can have wi-fi for a fee)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank connorconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Where to begin...I booked my reservation through Hotels.com and have been satisfied with them in the past. I'm not so sure I will be using them in the future. Since this is my first time staying in Miami Beach I was unaware of the lay of the land so to speak. It would have been nice to know that off site parking meant you are supposed to drive around for hours trying to locate a spot on the street or a spot in a public lot. The people here are lovely, very accommodating when you call to get washcloths, hand towels or ice. The Ice machine is out of order, the refrigerator in the room is not working and for a 3 day stay with 2 people in the room one washcloth and hand towel is not enough. This is definitely an old hotel and is showing some wear and tear. There is one elevator, no ramps and very small rooms. No closet or armoire, which is really just nit picking but this has been an awful experience and it kind of just ticks me off. The room is relatively clean, no mold or grime, but I can tell that the cleaning was cursory...the blinds need dusting and there was some loose dirt and sand on the bathroom floor. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmdeibler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Winter Garden, Fl
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here because our planned hotel was overbooked. This place is below average because of its service and little to no amenities. I would never book here again. The staff was little to no help at all. Not really a good hotel to recommend anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEO108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

OMG! The worse ever hotel and customer service!!! It is more pleasant to sleep on the beach than here, do not, please, DO NOT waste your hard earned money and valuable time. Lock of communication, smelly dirty carpet and rude employees is just the beginning and you do not want to find the rest of it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjadrayeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#98 of 208 in Miami Beach
944 reviews
2.2 mi away
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#192 of 208 in Miami Beach
266 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bikini Lodge
Bikini Lodge
#149 of 208 in Miami Beach
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#163 of 208 in Miami Beach
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
L Hotel Miami Beach
L Hotel Miami Beach
#114 of 208 in Miami Beach
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Hotel

Property: Ocean Spray Hotel
Address: 4130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3211
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Spray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing