We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A place to wash your face & brush your teeth...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Spray Hotel
Ranked #182 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
woodside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A place to wash your face & brush your teeth...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Super friendly counter people. Really worn out blankets, hotel? or motel? reminds me of really old movies of kids going on spring break for a week. Slept on top of the blankets afraid of what's underneath. Whenever someone flushed the toilets upstairs, heard the after affect on our bathroom. Official subway sandwich shop on main floor,so therefore the sandwich smell wreaked havoc throughout. had my eyes open the whole time since whenever car went by you could tell what kind of car it was by the sound of engine. panoramic view of the if the driveways of residential co-op buildings. you could literally be eye level with your neighbor if you open your window, and give eachother sandwiches. the neighborhood is near North Beach, not south beach. i suppose i wouldn't have complained so much if they charged like $89 range instead of $200 range, even though it was booked at the last minute to avoid the snow storm in new york..

Room Tip: do not choose corner room or choose at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellegirl727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    116
    103
    50
    86
See reviews for
46
144
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hopefully that got your attention. DO NOT stay here! This place pulled a bait and switch on us. Some idiot named Adam there was holding a room for my gf and she took a 20 minute cab ride from Mia airport, only to find out he gave the room to someone else when she got there. When a hotel is low quality like this they should depend on good customer service, but their customer service is AWFUL. This created an absolute DISASTER for us. I will save you the time of being ripped off. Stay ANYWHERE else. If this was the only place available I would rather stay sleep in a cardboard box or at Osama Bin Laden's house. The "manager" Becky is atrocious. When I informed her about the bait and switch she just mouthed off to me and hung up. Yep, more crappy customer service. When the "manager" is this bad, you know its a terrible hotel. Hopefully this review saves you from the agony we experienced from this hotel. Find another hotel where they treat you like a human being because you may get unlucky and get Adam or Becky and then you're doomed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Hardly a one o star hotel, it was listed on Yahoo travel as a three. I got this as a secret deal. Thought it was beachfront it is not. When we checked in there was a 27.50 up charge for two beds, I have a strong dislike for this sort of ripoff. Room was clean and beds were okay. Ah did I tell you about the noise? Ha, sirens, motorcycles, loud mufflers. All night long. A very bad choice, it will be the last time I trust Travelocity!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DHSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked this trip via Travelocity "mystery hotel" hotel name pops up upon payment. Both me and my sister wanted to have an adventure and decided to book the trip. Big MISTAKE. I was not able to get out of the reservation. Lesson Learn! This is not a 3 star hotel. It was smelly - the rugs were disgusting. Thank GOD I bought an air freshner. The only thing that was good was the bed - it was comfortable. The noise from the street was okay - but sometimes you felt you were outside.
My message to the hotel owners - clean up the common areas and get rid of Subway! Then maybe this can me a 3 star hotel.

Staff were very professional and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonder W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife found this bargain on Expedia. Great new very comfortable beds. A block from the beach. Yes, elevator is slow and shower is slow but clean. It's an old hotel. Staff is very friendly and full of tips. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airline9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night (thankfully) en route to a cruise on the recommendation of Thomas cook. I have never used thomas cook before nor will ever again. It is a truly terrible hotel, the room was not even 1 star, the air conditioning was broken, the carpet was filthy and the other guests were not the sort of people you would like to meet in a dark alley if you catch my meaning. it is unbelievable that a company as well known as thomas cook would actually send people here to stay. There is no way they could have checked this hotel out beforehand and if they did they should be removed from ABTA, The one redeeming feature is that the staff were friendly and helpful but other than that please do not stay here. If you need a good quality hotel use trailfinders but do not ever use the recommendation of Thomas cook.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for one short night...thankfully. I understand that this is not a four star hotel but at least expected cleanliness since it isn't cheap to stay here either.
Uncomfortable bed
Paper thin walls
Leakage from ceiling that dripped all night long
One chair in the entire room
Toilet seat had deep scratches and marks on it...disguisting
Ridiculous security deposit rule

Overall very poor quality hotel ESP at the price point

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdxatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Pierre
#151 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#184 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
L Hotel Miami Beach
#124 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#98 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Oceanfront
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#155 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Hotel

Property: Ocean Spray Hotel
Address: 4130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Spray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing