We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Review of Ocean Spray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Spray Hotel
Ranked #188 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night (thankfully) en route to a cruise on the recommendation of Thomas cook. I have never used thomas cook before nor will ever again. It is a truly terrible hotel, the room was not even 1 star, the air conditioning was broken, the carpet was filthy and the other guests were not the sort of people you would like to meet in a dark alley if you catch my meaning. it is unbelievable that a company as well known as thomas cook would actually send people here to stay. There is no way they could have checked this hotel out beforehand and if they did they should be removed from ABTA, The one redeeming feature is that the staff were friendly and helpful but other than that please do not stay here. If you need a good quality hotel use trailfinders but do not ever use the recommendation of Thomas cook.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Spray Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 416 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for one short night...thankfully. I understand that this is not a four star hotel but at least expected cleanliness since it isn't cheap to stay here either.
Uncomfortable bed
Paper thin walls
Leakage from ceiling that dripped all night long
One chair in the entire room
Toilet seat had deep scratches and marks on it...disguisting
Ridiculous security deposit rule

Overall very poor quality hotel ESP at the price point

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pdxatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I made the mistake of thinking this was proximal to the port of Miami, it's not ($40 taxi ride including tip one way). So, budget that in.

The hotel itself could've been worse, it shares space with a Subway. I couldn't tell if the women in the lobby were pro's or just loose. The bedroom was small, my initial thoughts were, "This would be nice if I were in a 3rd world country!"

The pillows were wafer thin, and the toilet ran all night long. You know the only thing worse than hearing Taylor Swift's "We are never getting back together"? Hearing it on 11 over the constant sound of metal doors slamming at 4:00 a.m.

The only redeeming quality was the staff that was relatively pleasant and the Cuban Restaurant about .6 miles away with killer paella for two for $13.95.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mesmith36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

...in front of the door. You are four minutes away from jumping into the ocean. The hotel is great locaed. Rooms are average, but you are not at south beach to stay in the room - its alright. Receptionists are very helpful with insider advices -

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mawen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Pros:
Comfortable bed
Spacious room
Nice staff
Good location

Cons:
Terrible window isolation that you could hear cars driving or ppl talk on the street from the 4th floor

No room service, if you're hungry at late night then good luck!

No parking in a hard to find parking area

Very cold temperature in hallways which makes you sick in a rainy day or after the beach

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Njf1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is OK to stay for a night and move on.
The beach is near but the hotel is not suitable for long stay or vacation. The location is away from everything so you have to use car to go somewhere.
The worst problem was parking since hotel does not have organized parking.
In the reception they suggested parking on the street but all parking spaces were taken.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UniverseExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was expecting something rather awful from some of the reviews of this hotel and so was pleasantly surprised in the end. This is an entirely decent and comfortable hotel for it's class. It is true - the lift is rather slow, the in-room wifi is about US$10 per day and there is a deposit of $100 per room to be had on check-in (cash or card accepted). What is also true is the front desk staff are particularly friendly (and sincere) and helpful. Our rooms were quiet, the beds comfortable and the location is fantastic. You are only steps from the beach and several decent restaurants. I was quite satisfied.

Room Tip: I was in room 306 which is a corner room. I thought it had a decent view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#101 of 210 in Miami Beach
967 reviews
2.2 mi away
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#196 of 210 in Miami Beach
270 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Waterside Hotel South Beach
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#95 of 210 in Miami Beach
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
L Hotel Miami Beach
L Hotel Miami Beach
#108 of 210 in Miami Beach
162 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bikini Lodge
Bikini Lodge
#140 of 210 in Miami Beach
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Hotel

Address: 4130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3211
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $68 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Spray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing