We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami Beach ...”
Review of Ocean Spray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Spray Hotel
Ranked #186 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Miami Beach ...”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

...in front of the door. You are four minutes away from jumping into the ocean. The hotel is great locaed. Rooms are average, but you are not at south beach to stay in the room - its alright. Receptionists are very helpful with insider advices -

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mawen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    123
    110
    54
    91
See reviews for
52
157
38
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Pros:
Comfortable bed
Spacious room
Nice staff
Good location

Cons:
Terrible window isolation that you could hear cars driving or ppl talk on the street from the 4th floor

No room service, if you're hungry at late night then good luck!

No parking in a hard to find parking area

Very cold temperature in hallways which makes you sick in a rainy day or after the beach

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Njf1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is OK to stay for a night and move on.
The beach is near but the hotel is not suitable for long stay or vacation. The location is away from everything so you have to use car to go somewhere.
The worst problem was parking since hotel does not have organized parking.
In the reception they suggested parking on the street but all parking spaces were taken.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UniverseExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was expecting something rather awful from some of the reviews of this hotel and so was pleasantly surprised in the end. This is an entirely decent and comfortable hotel for it's class. It is true - the lift is rather slow, the in-room wifi is about US$10 per day and there is a deposit of $100 per room to be had on check-in (cash or card accepted). What is also true is the front desk staff are particularly friendly (and sincere) and helpful. Our rooms were quiet, the beds comfortable and the location is fantastic. You are only steps from the beach and several decent restaurants. I was quite satisfied.

Room Tip: I was in room 306 which is a corner room. I thought it had a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Besides the urine smell behind the toilet, it was perfect. Says my spouse. As for me (the wife):
The good: clean, up-to-date furnishings, friendly employees (some do not speak English),easy to find, across the street from the beach, refrigerator is in the room but a few restaurants deliver (the menues appear under your door)' Subway is in their lobby.
The bad: it is an older building, so the elevators are small ans sloooooowwwwww. We pre-paid for the room but had to use our card for $100 for possible charges that you may incur (you get it back when you check out minus any additional fees incurred), cable is free in the lobby but costs $10 per day in the rooms, no pool.
The ugly: No parking (if you require parking, you can pay $25 per day to park across the street in a different jotel's parking lot).
My spouse would like to add that he had a confrontation with the regional manager, he acted like it was degrading to ask him a question about Subway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffangtheeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The staff was nice. The bed looked sleepable. Rundown hotel. They charge for evrything. You may as well pay for a nicer hotel and not deal with nickle and dimen. Walls are thin didn't rest at all. Called for help and the noise finally stopped about 5:30 am for 2 nights of 3 we stayed there.14 HR drive on very little sleep. That's when the staff couldn't understand English when I asked for a refund.$10forwifi, coffee 1.25, we went out foreverything.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MzPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Sanford, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This Hotel looks nice from the pictures however my experience proved to less than great!! It is old and run down, parking is horrible and very hard to get in and out of. The first night we discovered that our refrigerator did not work and they would not bring us another one until the next day, they left us one wash cloth for 5 people and when I requested more pillows we got one and it was dirty. The last day the air condition barely worked it was cooler outside than it was in our room. Also, if you book through a travel site be prepared to pay a $100 deposit which ended up being a $120 deposit for me and the funds were not released as promised by the hotel and I have had to call my credit card company and the hotel to get them to fax a letter to get the funds released otherwise it would have taken a month to get the funds returned to my card. I completely refuse to stay here ever again!!

Room Tip: Do NOT Book with this hotel...aka DUMP!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#100 of 208 in Miami Beach
952 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bikini Lodge
Bikini Lodge
#147 of 208 in Miami Beach
58 reviews
2.2 mi away
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#192 of 208 in Miami Beach
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
Waterside Hotel South Beach
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#96 of 208 in Miami Beach
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#163 of 208 in Miami Beach
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Hotel

Property: Ocean Spray Hotel
Address: 4130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3211
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Spray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing