We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
Ranked #174 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Safe and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Besides the urine smell behind the toilet, it was perfect. Says my spouse. As for me (the wife):
The good: clean, up-to-date furnishings, friendly employees (some do not speak English),easy to find, across the street from the beach, refrigerator is in the room but a few restaurants deliver (the menues appear under your door)' Subway is in their lobby.
The bad: it is an older building, so the elevators are small ans sloooooowwwwww. We pre-paid for the room but had to use our card for $100 for possible charges that you may incur (you get it back when you check out minus any additional fees incurred), cable is free in the lobby but costs $10 per day in the rooms, no pool.
The ugly: No parking (if you require parking, you can pay $25 per day to park across the street in a different jotel's parking lot).
My spouse would like to add that he had a confrontation with the regional manager, he acted like it was degrading to ask him a question about Subway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffangtheeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    110
    100
    50
    80
See reviews for
43
139
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The staff was nice. The bed looked sleepable. Rundown hotel. They charge for evrything. You may as well pay for a nicer hotel and not deal with nickle and dimen. Walls are thin didn't rest at all. Called for help and the noise finally stopped about 5:30 am for 2 nights of 3 we stayed there.14 HR drive on very little sleep. That's when the staff couldn't understand English when I asked for a refund.$10forwifi, coffee 1.25, we went out foreverything.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MzPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Sanford, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This Hotel looks nice from the pictures however my experience proved to less than great!! It is old and run down, parking is horrible and very hard to get in and out of. The first night we discovered that our refrigerator did not work and they would not bring us another one until the next day, they left us one wash cloth for 5 people and when I requested more pillows we got one and it was dirty. The last day the air condition barely worked it was cooler outside than it was in our room. Also, if you book through a travel site be prepared to pay a $100 deposit which ended up being a $120 deposit for me and the funds were not released as promised by the hotel and I have had to call my credit card company and the hotel to get them to fax a letter to get the funds released otherwise it would have taken a month to get the funds returned to my card. I completely refuse to stay here ever again!!

Room Tip: Do NOT Book with this hotel...aka DUMP!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Clean room, good ac, friendly and helpsom staff. Wi-fi free in the lobby (Didn't work thougj).. 11,30 usd pr day if you want to use wi-fi it in your rom.. not many shops around.. close to the beach.. subway on the hotel, though no bar or restaurant..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susann86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nice Hotel, No frills, clean room, has a subway sandwich counter, free internet at the lobby. overall a decent experience

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanjayh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We knew we were staying in a 2-3 star hotel, so we were not expecting much, when we check in. But at least we were expecting a clean bed>
When we were ready to go to bed, we found an used tissue and some kind of crumbs!! The bed was made that way.
My husband went to the lobby to report this issue and they told him there was no housekeeping at that time (9pm) They sent some guy with clean sheets.
The next morning my husband went to the lobby to complain about this to at least get an apology and the receptionist told him he was lying!!! That she asked the housekeeper and she said she did clean the room!!! (no duuh!!, what is she going to say???) and that we did not let the man come in when he broght the clean sheets!!! ( We are in our pj's ready for bed then this guy comes to the room and expected us to let him in???......any way there was not even an apology...........very bad experince!! Beware!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Do not make the mistake of believing the pictures like I did! This hotel is cheap for a reason!
Rooms are dirty....wore my scandals as slippers when I got out of bed.
Toliet didn't flush properly and sink leaked on the floor.
Air conditioning very loud...like a motor running all night.
Could hear traffic and people clear as day in the hallways.
Elevator...almost afraid to use it!
No parking! I had to set my alarm on vacation to get up at 7:30 a.m. to feed the meter!!

I could go on ad on! I am so happy we oly stayed one night!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nmlnika80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#178 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Hotel Pierre
#153 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#147 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#141 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Collins Hotel
#128 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing