We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, Great Coffee!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
Ranked #173 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, Great Coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The location was better than expected, a short ride to the main area of Southbeach or an even shorter walk to a beach you can enjoy without so many people. The staff spoke both English and Spanish and were very friendly. The rooms were not overly fancy, but clean and we had a direct view of the Ocean! The bathroom sinks were cool and the coffee in the lobby was excellent. For a moderately priced property close to the beach, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level with ocean view. The King bedrooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rldTravelers2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    110
    100
    50
    80
See reviews for
43
139
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toulouse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

My room was on the street and i was concerned by the noise. No worries the Air Conditionning makes more noise....and it is impossible to setup
Whatever the hotel is far from the heart of the night city and worse i got bed buds in my room #309.
I told the manager and shown her the catched insect but she said it was impossible even with this evidence !

For this major reason, i don't recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank souslesoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

there are many other better places you could chose--- very very small rooms ,no closet, watch out for the elevator-- dont get stuck there :))

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexd777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel is really well located a block out from the beach; a block away from public transportation including the J bus to the airport; dont pay 33.00 to get/go to/from airport its only 2.00 bus stops a block out. For what you pay ( I paid $50/night) its a great deal. Staff is helpful and nice ( if you are nice :) ) I got a room on the 6xt floor and had a nice view of the lagoon and MIAMI Downtown. The subway in the LOBBY is convinient; yes the elevator smells like SUBWAY but not the rooms as reported before. The hotel has a nice bed; electronics from the 80s but there is a microwave and a mini fridge; the A/C was ice cold! the carpet yes dirty but this is a very functional hotel like a DAYS INN in a nice location. Lot of people complain you have to walk 20 blocks to get to South Beach, not an issue get a daily bus pass only $5.00 and u can go anywhere! on a bus. The only complaint I have is Check In is at 3:00PM and my room was not ready till 3:30PM not a big deal.... I gone to MIAMI a lot and this is standard. While the RITZ or FOUNTAINBLU would be amazing ( had stayed there before ) Spendig 500 / night is kind of stupid. If you are a normal traveler would def recommend this place if ur pacient this is the place ffor u. Other than the Carpet being dirty the rest is fine :)

Would defenetly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank esaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Fair place to stay in north Miami beach. Rooms are not so big, but clean and tidy.
Pity that in the lobby there is a Subway, convenient for breakfast, but sometimes stinky.
A big No: air conditioning too low, is was really shocking!
Streets in front and back are very noisy and busy during rush hours.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fausto12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I really enjoyed this hotel , the front desk personel was super nice and attentive. Hotel is in a good location. It is not a ocean front hotel but all you have to do is cross the street and the beach is there my husband and I really enjoyed this hotel. There was a subway resturant in the lobby it was small,nice and simple. the room was pretty big and clean with alot of room the bathroom I loved. Overall it was very nice and clean.
Downfall: one elevator and you have to self park not a big deal(meters)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dayz305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Our friend had booked this hotel online before reading the reviews here and unfortunately, the site we used to book wouldn't let us do a refund so we were stuck with this hotel. After reading all the awful reviews here, we were worried about our trip.

The bad reviews did prepare us for the worst, but our experience wasn't nearly as bad as others.

The two ladies who work at the front desk were pretty helpful and mostly pleasant. The guy who worked the desk at night though is a whole other story. Nearly every request or questions directed at him would be returned with an "ask them in the morning" response.

The rooms are pretty small, somewhat dark and depressing, and had old 80's technology in them. I felt as if I was walking into my grandmother's bedroom. We booked with triple occupancy but these rooms are far too small to fit 3 people in them. With the two small double beds, plus our luggage, we barely had room to move around in the room. The bathrooms were nothing above the ordinary. They were tidy, had a working toilet, sink, and shower. They also had the basics of soap and shampoo/conditioner.

The biggest complaint I have is with the Subway right in the lobby. The smell of it is pretty strong and you get really sick of it after a few days. It even somehow makes its way into the elevator and up to the hallway of the 7th floor. On the other hand, the Subway is open late and with the lack of food/restaurant choices nearby, it is convenient if you're starving.

Sadly, after 3 nights in this hotel (we had booked 6), we decided we had enough and did a 'name your own price' and managed to snag a nearby 4 star hotel for an even cheaper price than we booked this hotel for. The three of us travel a lot and it's actually the first time we've ever felt like the hotel was putting a damper on our moods. So much so that we decided to forgo getting our money back and just book another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumptrip29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#179 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Hotel Pierre
#149 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#150 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#140 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Collins Hotel
#128 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
Address: 4130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3211
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing