We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming or run-down?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
European Guesthouse
Ranked #24 of 28 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2011

There's a fine line between charming/characterful and old/in need of renovation. This place treads that line carefully.

Overall i quite liked the place, but my expectations weren't exceeded and the flashy descriptions and photos on their website translated to overgrown/unkempt and in places dirty.

Prices are reasonable, location is ok. I won't be going back, but only because I'm not planning on going back to Miami. I've stayed at much much better places on Miami Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 62 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the European Guesthouse B&B. I chose it on-line partly because of its reputed good, big breakfasts and relatively reasonable price. Our room was pleasant, with windows on two sides and a comfortable bed. We were on a quiet residential street, an easy 7-block walk from the beach. Our proprietors were friendly and helpful; enjoying our stay was important to them. We had reserved a room with shared bath, but when we got there they gave us a room with private bath at no extra cost, as there was one available. The breakfast lived up to its reputation: my friend cooked his own eggs, bacon, toast, and hash browns, and I enjoyed the various breads, cereal, fruits and yogurt. Every day there was a big bowl of fresh fruit, and also cut up strawberries, grapefruit, and melon. There were sweet rolls, cold cuts, hot dogs and condiments available, and one day there was pancake batter. The fruit bowl and sweet rolls were available all day. We’d go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband and I were lured in to this hotel by the beautiful photos and positive reviews that we read. Please don't fall for this trap!!!

We were let in the house by a man wearing cutoffs and a wifebeater. Nothing else says class quite like that! The "lush gardens" were overgrown plants surrounding rusted out refridgerators and overturned jacuzzi tubs. The "cozy" rooms were tiny and incredibly shabby furniture with thin hollow core doors with only a knob lock. NOT SECURE! The bathroom ceiling had mold, the whole room smelled of mildew (probably because they hadn't even turned on the window unit AC until we were taken to our room and this is in south Flordia!) and to top it all off when my husband pulled back the top comforter there was blood on the sheets.

Convinced that we would be murdered in our sleep we called Expedia (who we booked through) and were able to arrange another hotel thank goodness because there was no way in hell that we were staying in this creepy hotel!! Of course since we had already checked in they charged us for the night even though we were there less than 30 minutes. Seriously this place was bad. It could have been a set for a horror movie!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jesscat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Matched quite well with expectations. With such old house that has been converted to guesthouse you don't get perfect paintwork, marble floors, etc.

What you get is clean place, quiet area, but still short walk to the beach and relaxed atmosphere. Relative to south beach prices, it's good value. Late checkout wasn't any issue and owner even offered to drop me to the airport busstop.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Stayed at European Guesthouse for a week for new years eve 2010 and had a great time. stayed in a cute room in the back of the property with a cute little deck/outdoor space, the bed was comfortable and sheets clean and it had wi-fi and ethernet internet access included. caught a few glimpses of other rooms which also looked nice and recently renovated.

The other real stand-out here though is breakfast. fresh coffee and you can make a nice little breakfast for yourself (eggs, bacon, ham, toast, bagels, muffins, coffee cake, fresh fruit, waffles, etc.). Can't beat it. and you can take a little fruit, etc. with you to the beach just a few short blocks away.

Last but not least, it's nice to have a hot jacuzzi to jump into after a night out or after a morning run. this place has it all. and Carlos the proprietor is a genuinely nice guy and happy to help out. And, surprisingly it wasn't too difficult to catch a cab in this area, even during new years eve, so that was nice surprise too.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatzoConPollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

I recently stayed at the European Guesthouse during the WMC 2010 ive got to say i was very satisfied with the whole package the room was very cozy and quite the all day breakfast was ideal but best of all the FREE WI-FI was a saviour thanks also to Robert what a great guy and Carlos a good host ....... Why pay the price of expensive hotels you get nothing for your money.......Just ask my mate Dave lol ........Ben UK

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedrock01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Heya there Carlos & Robert :) Just wanted to thank you for your wonderful hospitality & willingness to bargain with us also. We slept peacefully & the breakfast was dreamy. Loved the patio/backyard too. Mayched the feel of a romantic get-a-way with a touch of home as well. See you guys next time:) we return to Miami.

Mr. & Mrs.
T. Stock

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trentstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
#42 of 212 in Miami Beach
13,528 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,671 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Freehand Miami
Freehand Miami
#6 of 89 in Miami Beach
968 reviews
1.0 mi away
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#51 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,965 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to European Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Guesthouse

Address: 721 Michigan Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range: $99 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — European Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover South Beach’s premiere Bed and Breakfast.Since 1987, the European Guesthouse is the world destination for tourists, long before South Beach's rise to fame.Indulge yourself in any of the well appointed rooms as well as in the 2 sundecks and the hot Jacuzzi. Guests start the day enjoying an all you can eat breakfast buffet in the lush tropical garden and complimentary tea, coffee, fruits and pastries all day long ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your European Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
European Guesthouse Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing