We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & excellent lunch specials”
Review of Mi Ami Italian Cafe - CLOSED

Mi Ami Italian Cafe
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: It is The Latest Truly Italian Experience in Ocean Drive. From Breakfast to Dinner you can Taste our Famous Pizzas & Italian Chef's Specialties. At Night the Atmosphere transform the Beautiful Terrace in a Lounge Bar, with Wine and Cocktails from our Unreal Barman. It's the Perfect Spot before going to Nikki Beach, at just 5 minutes walking distance. Come to Taste the Italian Love for Food!
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service & excellent lunch specials”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Lunch specials can't be beat for both price and taste. Enjoyed the Italian Birra at the end of the day before turning in.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GypsyWriterBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian F, Owner at Mi Ami Italian Cafe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I like you enjoyed the lunch special, not so many people know we are open from morning until night and at lunch time we are a friendly restaurant, for Miami Beach residents and some tourists.
When you want to enjoy a nice meal with Italian birra (beer), after a busy working morning, come by and many special lunchs will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    20
    8
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Get a Pizza to go, but skip the sit down meal”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We ate here twice. The first was their $7.99 pizza special which we got to go. This was great. Took it back to the condo and enjoyed! Nice crisp crust and fresh tasting toppings.

Our second visit a week later was for a sit down lunch. We had planned to have pizza again but unfortunately their oven was out of service. My wife ordered the chicken fajita (Italian style) and I the Penne with red sauce. Both were advertised as lunch specials for $8.99. Our server brought us bread with olive oil & vinegar. The bread was OK. We each had ice tea. The chicken in the fajita was horrible, lots of gristle, fat and even a small bone. This was a shame as the tortilla and the rest of the fajita seemed quite good. We pointed this out to our server and the manager (I presume) quickly came and apologized and we were subsequently brought a second Penne in place of the fajita. I felt they handled the mistake pretty well, though given the grossness of the food a complementary meal was in order (but I did not ask for it). At this point I'm thinking Mi Ami is about average. However, when we got the tab I was not amused to see that each tea refill (2 each) was charged at $3 a pop – a total of $18 for ice tea. Outrageous, even in SOBE! When I questioned it, they took 2 of them off – not satisfactory IMHO. Insult to injury was added with a mandatory 18% service charge. Total tab with tax & tip for 2 was $40.

We really liked the pizza we got here last week to go, but we will not be returning for another sir down meal. We might at some time get another pizza special to go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UKgrandej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I had breakfast twice and lunch once at Mi Ami Italian Cafe. The restaurant is extremely well located, the prices are reasonable and the staff is extremely friendly. In fact, when we came back for breakfast the second time, the staff remembered us and what we ordered the day before.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dbtraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian F, Owner at Mi Ami Italian Cafe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are in Sofi, the residencial (and not so crazy) area of famous Ocean Drive.
I like when customers come back and try different foods from our specialties.
Our chefs are working to change the menu according to the seasons.
We will wait you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphire”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from a few days in South Beach, we walked by this place and decided to have lunch. Met the owner who was very friendly and told us if we came back for dinner he would give us a discount. The atmosphere was good, food was great and the sevice was better. We decided to go back for dinner, my wife had a pumpkin ravioli, I had a seafood with black pasta, both of us loved our meal. Again the sevice was tremendous, the chocolate desert was wonderful as well. We had a great bottle of wine so it was a wonderful meal. We went back the next night and again had a great meal, again we got a discount. I strongly reccomend this place, it has it all, it is located between 4th and 5th on Ocean drive. Tell the manager peter said you would get a discount, I am confident he will give you one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pcr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Not cheap, but a really good meal. The gnocchi is fabulous. Huge, flavorful bowl of soup. Service was great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Ami Italian Cafe also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing