We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the Miami Beach postcards”
Review of Ocean Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Five Hotel
Ranked #110 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just like the Miami Beach postcards”
Reviewed May 17, 2007

A "rustic" hotel with all necessary amenities - clean room, clean bed, hot shower and good complimentary toiletries. Oh, and not forgetting the fridge - very useful! This hotel is not a Radisson or Hilton - the decor and furnishings are simple but the hotel is in a great location and ideal for a short stay..

Staff very helpful and the free internet access is a bonus. For the price you pay the hotel is a bargain.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank keithsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    307
    221
    101
    73
See reviews for
169
377
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2007

I think that Ocean Five Hotel is quite nice. It isn't luxury but it was very clean, & I was comfortable there (didn't care for the frosted glass bathroom door so much). I would definitely consider staying there again. I think the location was perfect. It sits across the street from the beach. There are a few other buildings in front of it, but its virtually right on the beach!! If you are in South Beach mainly for the beach this is a good location. The rooms are not big, and it is very basic, but I found nothing wrong with it in general. This was my first trip to South Beach. We stayed for one night, prior to our cruise, then we returned for another night after the cruise. There was one computer available for guest usage in the lobby, so if you have business please bring your own. Of course continental breakfast was oranges & bagels but this was not something that bothered me. If you are into amenities, luxury, & a room with a view, this is probably not the hotel for you. I am low maintenance & I thought it was nice.

  • Liked — It was right at the beach
  • Disliked — Our rooms were not ready when we arrived
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank looking2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2007

Had a brilliant stay. Receptionist friendly, helpful and efficient. Room spotless and comfortable. Shower room lovely! Location good and not noisy. All in all we had a great time. Marion

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

I don't know what some of your reviewers are used to, but on their recommendation, we booked this hotel, luckily for only two nights, as our first choice was full, and we were extremely disappointed. The lobby was pokey and dark; our room was next door, accessed through a restaurant/bar; we were not helped with our luggage. The room was really naff. The furniture looked home-made (the wardrobe door would not stay open), there were only two hard upright chairs and no curtains, only ill-fitting shutters. There was a mini-bar, but no glasses, only plastic beakers. Oh, and strange paintings of whales on the walls. But the worst thing was, it was FILTHY! There was a deep layer of dust everywhere, including the headboard. The first thing we did was to complain and two maids arrived, each with a dry rag, (it needed a wet cloth and detergent) and began to dust - it looked like they had never done it before. The best thing about the room was the shower, but the rest of the bathroom was old and grubby.
There were no beach towels available when we asked. They charged $25 to leave our car in an open lot next door.
Breakfast was OK, taken in the restaurant next door, but only continental. We ate in there on the first evening and it was very good, but the next night they were busier. We waited an hour for our meal and it wasn't up to scratch.
Obviously, the location is good. But, then, so it is for many other hotels, including our first choice, The Park Central, which we had two days in afterwards and was super, for almost the same cost.

  • Liked — The shower
  • Disliked — The dirt
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank williamsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

Went with my group of girlfriends over our spring break from college. Great location, right across from the beach and within walking distance to all the nightlife and shopping, but far enough away where you can get some sleep at night. We only took a cab to and from the airport, but other than that we walked to wherever we needed to go. Very clean, but not much floor space - not much room for luggage, but the price is great for South Beach! TGI Friday's is right around the corner, great place to go because South Beach restaurants tend to be pricey. One tip, be prepared to go out early to beat the crowds - the lines tend to be insanely long to get into any of the popular bars and clubs.

  • Liked — Excellent price for the area
  • Disliked — Very small double room
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kgmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night on Jan. 12, 2007. The location to the beach and the Art Deco district was great. Good customer service - the manager emailed me a couple days prior to the trip confirming my stay and then again emailed us afterwards asking how are stay was, etc. I thought that was a nice touch.

The room was adequate, not overly roomy but definitely not cramped - nice decor. Was kept up well and clean.

  • Liked — Location to beach, shopping, restaurants, Art Deco district/buildings
  • Disliked — Nothing - didn't stay there long enough to have any complaints
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SLKeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2006

Just returned from a stay at the Ocean Five Hotel. Overall the hotel stay was good. The hotel is right across the street from the beach and within walking distance of lots of great restaurants. The hotel was nice and clean, the walls are a little thin though, you can hear everything going on around your room and the rooms are pretty small. But if you are looking to just sleep there it is fine. It only becomes a nuisance when it rains the whole time you are there! Great location though, unfortunately it rained the whole time I was there so we were forced to stay inside and drink lots at Mango's, now THAT place is wild! The only problem I had at this place was the fact that they require a photo copy of your drivers license and the license of anyone in your room. I was pretty uneasy with that in this day and age of identity theft. I reluctantly did it, having no other choice. Needless to say I will keeping an eye on my credit cards and such. Overall good stay though.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank missNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#108 of 208 in Miami Beach
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#80 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Augustine
Hotel St. Augustine
#93 of 208 in Miami Beach
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#184 of 208 in Miami Beach
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Five Hotel

Property: Ocean Five Hotel
Address: 436 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6614
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Five Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent Miami Beach location on Ocean Drive, in the Art Deco District, we are steps away from the ocean and South Beach shopping, gourmet dining, a chic nightlife, and miles of golden Atlantic sand beaches. At the same time, here is the surprisingly tranquil area of well-known Ocean Drive, SoFi - South of Fifth. Within our Art Deco setting (origin, 1936) we welcome guests seeking an unpretentious, uncomplicated boutique hotel with attentive service. An Authentic Experience... the Essence of South Beach! Italian travertine marble floors,modern decor. Friendly and professional staff is ready to please our guests, We offer complimentary continental breakfast and WiFi Internet. Conveniently located just 20 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and 15 minutes from the Port of Miami. Italian Restaurant on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 5 Hotel
Ocean Five Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Five

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing