We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
Review of Ocean Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Five Hotel
Ranked #108 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Room 207 (I think). Location was great. Our room was right over the parking so it was good people watching. Staff was great and responsive. It was once to get to go bags of ice and fresh beach towels daily.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    294
    216
    96
    72
See reviews for
157
366
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I had been searching for condos for a girl's weekend, and wish I had found this place sooner. It has full kitchens and large rooms with comfortable beds (I even wanted to inquire about who made the mattresses!). The location is perfect, on a more quiet end of the strip, but still within a few minute walk from the heart of the action. I found my new go-to place in SoBe -- OCEAN FIVE! I'll certainly be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I always stay at Ocean Five hotel. You cannot beat the location, just across the street from the beach and a few blocks to all the great restaurants and bars along ocean drive. On my most recent stay, I joined girlfriends who had arrived the day before me and stayed two nights at the fountainbleu. Our room there was small and not worth the price. The day after I arrived we moved to my favorite (Ocean Five) and we stayed in their new tower with fill kitchens. WOW! My room was huge and modern. Beds were extremely comfortable and everything was state of the art. I am always welcomed warmly by Andy at the front desk. Ocean Five truly feels like a home away from home. I would strongly recommend it to anyone looking for an amazing and comfortable place in south beach.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new tower are huge and have kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurenReneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The best value for money in Miami Beach. We stayed in the Ocean Five Studio rooms with kitchens which is not in their main building, but next door. Very close to the beach, bars and best spots on Ocean Drive.

Room Tip: Ocean Five Studio rooms with kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I booked this hotel on Expedia after getting a great price for it. Reading some of the reviews here later on, I was very apprehensive about this hotel. However I needn't have been . This hotel seems to be comprised of two buildings with a parking lot between them. We got a junior suite in the building that is across the parking lot from the one with the receptionist. We didn't have to walk through an restaurant or dining areas as other's have said. The building was very maintained, with wide spacious hallways with wood floor, and very clean minimalist design. The junior suite was large very well laid out with an alcove kitchen. The room had the new vintage style gray hardwood floor same as the hallway, making for a very airy feel. Our room as equipped with a 37 inch TV which had HD channels.
The two queen sized were soft and comfortable and had a temperpedic like fee. There is no bathtub in the bathroom, a shower stall instead.
As other's have indicated, it doesn't get any better than this hotel as far as location is concerned. This is right on ocean drive next to all of the restaurant and some of the most most beautiful sections of south beach. It's near all of the night live yet far enough to be in in the quite area. The beach is right behind the building in front of this hotel and hotel provides beach towels
Tip. the kitchen in the hotel is well stocked with plates and cooking utensils. You may find it wise to make use of it sometimes since the restaurants on South Beach (and Miami Beach in general) area really quite pricey and seem to have this tradition of sticking in a 20% tip regardless of the level of service.
Similar hotels in the area and in even worse locations were all at least a hundred dollars or more. For the price we paid we couldn't have done better than this hotel for the price. The only gripe with this hotel was the wifi which seemed a little to slow.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the building across the parking lot from the one with the receiptionist
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The location of this hotel was amazing right at the end of the bars and clubs and only 100meters to the sand and sea.The rooms are a bit on the small side but we only wanted them to change and sleep in. Room was clean and tidy and staff very helpful,so if your looking for a cheep hotel in Miami I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjr935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

ideally placed right at the end of south beach night life, far enough from the bars .
stayed in room 168 which is a studio with separate kitchen area, the room is right at the far end of a corridor so didn't hear people walking up and down the corridor all night , was a bit noisy one night due to upstairs coming in early hours of the morning and walking around in heavy shoes for 5 minutes, also a bit of noise outside from the back street refuse trucks but only for a couple of minutes.
room was nice and big ,parking prices same as everywhere else,good staff ,would stay again.
all hotels in south beach are expensive compared to other areas,but you save money by not needing to use taxis to get to the nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#98 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#73 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#182 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#51 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Five Hotel

Property: Ocean Five Hotel
Address: 436 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6614
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Five Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent Miami Beach location on Ocean Drive, in the Art Deco District, we are steps away from the ocean and South Beach shopping, gourmet dining, a chic nightlife, and miles of golden Atlantic sand beaches. At the same time, here is the surprisingly tranquil area of well-known Ocean Drive, SoFi - South of Fifth. Within our Art Deco setting (origin, 1936) we welcome guests seeking an unpretentious, uncomplicated boutique hotel with attentive service. An Authentic Experience... the Essence of South Beach! Italian travertine marble floors,modern decor. Friendly and professional staff is ready to please our guests, We offer complimentary continental breakfast and WiFi Internet. Conveniently located just 20 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and 15 minutes from the Port of Miami. Italian Restaurant on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ocean Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 5 Hotel
Ocean Five Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Five

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing