We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average but good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Five Hotel
Ranked #115 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Southampton/London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice welcome but don't expect luxury.
'Bonanza' style basic room 2 big comfy beds.
Walk through restaurant didn't bother us.
Good location didn't have breakfast....We always eat at The Front Porch at the opposite end of Ocean Drive...best breakfast!!! Just hire some bikes or meander along.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    282
    206
    96
    71
See reviews for
148
349
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Perfect location on South Beach, but 1 block south of all of the noise and activity--which means you are able to sleep when you want to. We stayed in the section over Mi Ami, the hotel's bistro/restaurant, and loved our rooms. Although showing its age, our suite was clean and had a European "old world" feel with Italian marble floors, rich wooden furnishings, Art Deco fixtures, and walk in shower. Lovely and welcoming, and everyone on staff was friendly and helpful. Great place to stay when visiting South Beach!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyWriterBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Spent two nights here, February 14 and 15, overlapping the Boat Show and Valentine's Day (we were not there for the show). They have two buildings; we were placed in the building that is separated from the main building by a parking lot. On the second floor, no elevator (we were on the tail end of a long trip, had two large, heavy bags). We had several maintenance issues in the room, not all solved (including the television, which never worked). Beds were very soft. Nice quiet location. Continental breakfast was toast, coffee, and pancakes. It's a very no-frills hotel in a very good location (beach, Art Deco district).

Room Tip: Maybe the main building is more accessible to service. Certainly easier if it rains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice little hotel with close proximity to beach, shopping and resteruants. It is a 2 star hotel but it is clean and we have to say with the staff's friendliness it could be elevated to a 3 star. Staff in resteraunt, and hotel were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are small but for the price you pay it is reasonable. We didn't mind walking through resteraunt to get to our elevator to room it seemed natural after a couple of times. If you want location and aren't fussy about a room this is a good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location. We stayed one night (overpriced Valentines Day $265+tx), in the third building behind the Mi Ami restaurant. Unfortunately our room (122) smelled like sewage. Rooms were fine; floor, beached/worn cabinets were fun, TV was tiny. Bed was't very cofortable. Free beach towels a plus. Staff were helpful, continental breakfast very basic. Best part was location: Ocean Dr & 5th Av awesome! Id stay again in a different room at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarasoda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

old worn hotel with poor service. breakfast (if one can call it that) consists of a little dry bread and coffee is thin as water.staff find it very difficult to smile, and make it in general a very poor service. The price is too high in relation to quality.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snuskegris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked to stay here during the NFL finals (that we knew nothing about being from the Uk!!) so South beach was a very busy busy place!
Firsly this hotel is in a fab location, on SOuth beach, 2 mins walk to the beach, near all the restuarants and buzz of south beach, but just set back enough to escape the noise all night long.
The main entrance is bright airy and in the art deco style, quite grand and exciting. However we had to enter our hotel block through an italian restaurant a few doors up!! Small lift to dark corridor. Our room was quite nice, two big beds, wardrobe and sink and a seperate small bathroom with modern shower. Soft pillows, good air con and Lovely toiletries. Rubbish view over a neighbouring block so little natural light.
The rooms would be much nicer if decorated in the art deco style of the location rather than the dark wood!
Other guests were noisy during the night, banging doors and shouting etc
No pool however so near the beach this wasnt an issue. the hotel lend beach towels.
Yes they have a car park but its also open to the public so dont guarantee a space!!! Reception staff werent particularly helpful, happy or welcoming however adequate at their job!
I have little to say about breakfast that is included.....find somewhere else. It consists of orange cordial (gross) cheap cornflakes and coffee. Head elsewhere!!

All in all this hotel was fine for us, a short walk to the beach and other local restuarants!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willowhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#68 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#97 of 203 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#47 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Century Hotel South Beach
Century Hotel South Beach
#183 of 203 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Five Hotel

Property: Ocean Five Hotel
Address: 436 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6614
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Five Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent Miami Beach location on Ocean Drive, in the Art Deco District, we are steps away from South Beach shopping, gourmet dining, a chic nightlife, and miles of golden Atlantic sand beaches. At the same time, here is the surprisingly tranquil area of well-known Ocean Drive, SoFi - South of Fifth. Within our Art Deco setting (origin, 1936) we welcome guests seeking an unpretentious, uncomplicated boutique hotel with attentive service. An Authentic Experience... the Essence of South Beach!Italian travertine marble floors,modern decor. Friendly and professional staff is ready to please our guests, We offer complimentary continental breakfast and WiFi Internet. Conveniently located just 20 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and 15 minutes from the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 5 Hotel
Ocean Five Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Five

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing