We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Honeymoon spent in hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Five Hotel
Ranked #110 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Honeymoon spent in hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

After reading other peoples' comments we thought maybe we had made a mistake in booking our Honeymoon in this hotel, however, when we got there we realised that it was amazing!! Excellent location just away from the noisy loudness of Ocean Drive. The room was exactly what we paid for and there was nothing wrong with walking through the very small restaurant to get to the lift. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    291
    212
    96
    72
See reviews for
153
362
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa ontario
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Located on the southern boundry of South Beach at 5th Street and Ocean Drive, this small hotel is a reasonably priced option to it's expensive cousins up the street. On the plus side you are well away from noisy clubs. The room was large, comfortable and very clean. The shower stall was a separate tiled room which was a nice design feature. The only negative thing I have to say about this property is the cheapo continental breakfast. Orange flavoured Tang crystals, frosted flakes kiddy cereal, and white bread, with weak coffee. Either upgrade this breakfast or do not offer any at all, as this cheapo version is an insult to eaters everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in a room with 2 double beds with 2 kids. The rooms were spacious enough, the bathroom was a bit small, but the room and bathroom were very clean. The staff was very helpfull and the parking was convenient. I suppose the 25$ extra for the parking per day is a normal rate in Miami. In other cities, parking is often included in the roomrate. The wife was free, but in the room not very fast. In the lobby however it worked good. The breakfast was disappointing. White bread (not fresh), marmelade, watery orange jus and terrible coffie. All on plastic plates and with plastic cutlery. If you didn't like marmelade: bad luck. It was served in a restaurant next door and the breakfast put us off from having diner in the restaurant in the evening.
The location of the hotel is perfect, on Ocean Drive, within 5 minutes you're on the beach. The hotel provides beach towels and even had a small surf board for our kids to play with on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a window facing the restaurant. The music can go on for a long time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Ocean Five is such great value for money. The front desk staff are very helpful and were happy to answer any questions we had. The breakfast has been posted in quite a negative way on here, we found it fine, and it was free after all!! Our room was well kept and for a budget hotel we were very pleased. It was great to have the use of a car park right next door to the hotel. The hotel is in a perfect location to anything 'South Beach' but far enough away from the real noise and hussle and bussle. Make sure you visit 'Fresh on fifth' its a fab sandwich bar on the end of the road from the hotel, we had the best lunches here..... We stayed here for 5 nights in Nov 2012 before heading on to the Keys, and we are so glad we chose it. We would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, one on our way down to Keys, and one on the way back. On both occasions the staff were excellent and only to willing to help in anyway they could. Rooms on both occasions were clean an tidy and as you would expect for a budget hotel. Free wifi throughout worked well and was fast. I agree with the other review each room had two double beds but room size ideal for two. Party of 14 stayed in 7 rooms and all to same clean and tidy standard. Breakfast was coffee, juice, cornflakes and toast and jam next door in Italian restaurant basic yes but free and absolutely fine. Beach and main Ocean Drive strip just a hundred yards or so down the road. So if you want good clean basic accommodation with really good staff then pick here as that's what we found - despite the best efforts of hurricane Sandy!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the Ocean Five for 3 nights at the beginning of our Florida road trip (at this point we didn't have a car but the hotel does have a car park). The room was a good size, on the first floor in the same building as reception. It had a tv, free wireless, a fridge, plenty cupboard space, a safe, toiletries etc. The air conditioning was very noisy, sounding like a car revving its engine but because of the heat it had to stay on even during the night which made for a restless/disturbed sleep. This was our only issue with the hotel. The location was its main selling point, you are minutes walk from being right in the thick of things. As we were only there for 3 days it's exactly what we wanted. Reception staff were very helpful. Breakfast was simple but we weren't expecting much so weren't disappointed - i know other folk were. FYI when we were researching our airport transfer i didnt know whether to get the bus which stops a block away from hotel or get a taxi. in the end we got a taxi because we were so tired from travelling - Miami airport to the hotel cost us $35 inc tip & was worth the money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing stay at the ocean 5 hotel this October. The rooms were small for more than 2 guests but it made it all the more fun (well for us crazy drunken fools anyway) the reception staff could not have been nicer, Easton the bell boy was very helpful with our nightlife arrangements and advice on Miami in general! Shout out to Easton!! Our Miami 'dad' Andy on reception gave us great advice on what trips to do.. Even advice on what sun factor we should be using too (for the ginger skinned among us) he made our stay so welcoming and enjoyable too. The night time staff David from Cuba and another guy who's name we didn't catch American young lad were more then helpful with ordering our mid night pizza munchies and our drunken behaviour! Everyone there made our holiday so special. Restaurant staff were a tad irritating, generally ignored them so was easy to deal with. Food in the restaurant itself was delicious and cooked to perfection, try the pizzas they are the best and for sweets the chocolate soufflé was to die for! Reasonably priced for south beach too! Thanks to ocean 5 for making our first time in Miami very memorable. Much love the 3 Newcastle chicks Kate , Emma and Joanne. If anyone wants further questions email me kate.armstrong25@yahoo.co.uk

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#98 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#179 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#50 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Five Hotel

Property: Ocean Five Hotel
Address: 436 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6614
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Five Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent Miami Beach location on Ocean Drive, in the Art Deco District, we are steps away from South Beach shopping, gourmet dining, a chic nightlife, and miles of golden Atlantic sand beaches. At the same time, here is the surprisingly tranquil area of well-known Ocean Drive, SoFi - South of Fifth. Within our Art Deco setting (origin, 1936) we welcome guests seeking an unpretentious, uncomplicated boutique hotel with attentive service. An Authentic Experience... the Essence of South Beach!Italian travertine marble floors,modern decor. Friendly and professional staff is ready to please our guests, We offer complimentary continental breakfast and WiFi Internet. Conveniently located just 20 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and 15 minutes from the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 5 Hotel
Ocean Five Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Five

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing