We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for short stay”
Review of Ocean Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Five Hotel
Ranked #108 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here just for one night excellent location just 100 metres from Ocean Drive. Rooms where clean with two large double beds in them very comfortable. Only issue was room was a bit small if staying longer and did smell a little bit of foist but the person I was staying with does have a highly sensitive snout - I did not notice that much.

Good selection of free toiletries.

Breakfast as included in the price but it was basic just toast.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank paulmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 887 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

very friendly and helpful the rooms are very nice and clean if i was going to go back i would stay here again..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fatma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The location was awesome, right next to the beach. The rooms are very small and the TV is a blurry SD television, but all in all the staff was amazing and the location and cleanliness of the rooms made it a nice stay. There are tons of eating options nearby which was also a plus. The room rates were very reasonable compared to other similar boutique hotels in the area I researched. I defininitely felt like Ocean Five Hotel gave be good bang for my buck and I would be open to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed at the Ocean Five one night post-cruise. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room clean and nice - but freezing cold at night! The breakfast consisted of two slices of toast and jam, which really wasn't much - but I guess you get what you pay for. I'm going back to Miami in October, but I don't know if I'll stay at the Ocean Five again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ingridkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Staff are pleasant but some rooms have no fresh air so it is only natural that there is an unpleasant odour that lingers. Bathrooms need a good clean and the ones we saw are very neglected. Location is excellent but noise travels down long hallways. I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aricatau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed at Ocean Five for 2 nights (Thursday and Friday nights). The hotel is located in a great location within walking distance from all the beach, bars and restaurants on Ocean drive.

Check in process was ok it took a bit of a wait as there was only one person at the front desk.

The hotel has parking for $25/day which is pretty good considering the location of the hotel.

The room was equivalent to a 2 star motel at its best. The owners clearly don't care about the room. The furniture is old wood and looks like it was made in the 70's. The TV was an old CRT television with limited channels. Our windows did not close properly so bugs and stuff could get it and the sun was in my eye at 7am. The beds were extremely (I repeat, very much) uncomfortable. The pillows were so thin and no more than 1 inch in thickness. We were constantly woken up at night and early mornings by the sound of slamming doors and people talking the hallways. But who needs sleep in south beach. The room is dark and there are dark tiles on the floor and dark grey bed covers which makes it look very unappealing and has a hostel feel to it :(

Although the rooms were old and ugly they were clean. The bed sheets were clean and the bathroom was also clean buy very old. There was shampoo and soap in the washroom.

There is free WIFI internet in the room which was a bonus.

Overall the quality of the hotel was below average and I will not be staying here again. The hotel is great for groups of young people who want to go the beach and don't care about the room quality. However if you are on a budget and want to do sight seeing and spend little room in the room this place is ok. This hotel cost me a fraction of what the brand name hotels would charge so you get what you pay for and it want a fancy hotel try paying $600+ night for a 4 or 5 star hotel.

The Good:
- Location
- Friendly front desk staff
- Free Internet
- Safe in the room
- Price

The Bad:
- Ugly and old rooms
- Noisy rooms
- Uncomfortable beds and pillows

Room Tip: Ask for additional pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoronaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

our room smelt of stale urins and boiled cabbage. Bedding was stained and worn. Bathroom needed a good scrub. Staff were friendly, bathroom was ok.

Room Tip: Not above reception better at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#123 of 214 in Miami Beach
890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#85 of 214 in Miami Beach
213 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Mimosa Hotel
The Mimosa Hotel
#172 of 214 in Miami Beach
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Julia Hotel
The Julia Hotel
#72 of 214 in Miami Beach
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clinton Hotel South Beach
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#77 of 214 in Miami Beach
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#75 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Five Hotel

Address: 436 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6614
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $169 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Five Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent Miami Beach location on Ocean Drive, in the Art Deco District, we are steps away from the ocean and South Beach shopping, gourmet dining, a chic nightlife, and miles of golden Atlantic sand beaches. At the same time, here is the surprisingly tranquil area of well-known Ocean Drive, SoFi - South of Fifth. Within our Art Deco setting (origin, 1936) we welcome guests seeking an unpretentious, uncomplicated boutique hotel with attentive service. An Authentic Experience... the Essence of South Beach! Italian travertine marble floors,modern decor. Friendly and professional staff is ready to please our guests, We offer complimentary continental breakfast and WiFi Internet. Conveniently located just 20 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and 15 minutes from the Port of Miami. Italian Restaurant on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 5 Hotel
Ocean Five Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Five

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing