We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place to Stay in Miami”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ithaca of South Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Little Place to Stay in Miami”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Loved the cool vibe of the hotel and the location is perfect for walking everywhere in South Beach. It felt like being in a guest house as the staff were very nice and you could tell they really like to make sure you feel at home. We had the smallest room and they would have moved us to a bigger room but they were full. They gave us a bottle of Cava Sparkling Wine which was a very nice touch. The only complaint was that some of the staff were talking very loudly outside of our door and we were trying to take a brief nap. I had to get up and ask them to please stop.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rysia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach.We value your feedback and we our always trying to improve the expectation of our guest.We look forward to your next trip to Miami and hope you choose the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach as your destination.
Chuck Castiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    140
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
146
285
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Ithaca for 3 nights recently (Mar17th-20th 2013), and we LOVED it! We had a double queen room. Our room (101) was massive. It was immaculate and the decor was beautiful. We also received a complimentary bottle of champagne when we checked in. Dion and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful, and are very lovely people. I will definitely be back to Ithaca sometime soon. Thanks for making our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlabos07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach.We value your feedback and we our always trying to improve the expectation of our guest.We look forward to your next trip to Miami and hope you choose the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach as your destination.
Chuck Castiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very nice hotel i definitely go back, the rooms are very big an spacious and very clean only a little bit "noisy" the busy street outside and inside you can here when people walking past your room.
I think the breakfast could be a lot better.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owenrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach.We value your feedback and we our always trying to improve the expectation of our guest.We look forward to your next trip to Miami and hope you choose the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach as your destination.
Chuck Castiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My stay at this hotel was amazing! My travel dates were 3/14-3/17 the entire staff was awesome especially Dion and my room was beautiful, I stayed in room 111. The hotel offers lots of freebies within the room like super cool toothbrush holders, great chocolate, complimentary water, slippers, and many other things. I arrived on 3/14 around 1:00pm and was able to check in immediately which was great since I know the scheduled 3:00pm. A week prior to my arrival I contacted the hotel asking about the available parking. I was informed I could valet for $25 dollars a day or self- park for $20, so of course as a college student I chose to self-park originally thinking I would save more money. My plan was to park my car and leave it in the parking garage for my entire stay(3 nights) which would equal around $60- 70 dollars or so, which was pretty good in my mind. When I checked out of the hotel and proceeded to take my car out of the garage my total was $120.00 compared to the $60-70 dollars I expected to pay. I was livid because my whole point of calling the hotel asking about parking before I arrived was so I didn’t run into this problem. The man working the booth in the garage proceeded to inform me its $20 a day FOR UP TO 12 HOURS…and the lady I spoke to at the hotel did not say that. Had I known it was really $40 to park for a full day I would’ve valeted my car because that was ultimately the cheaper option. The other issue I had was the door/noise. The door is too short and the left side of the door doesn’t touch the ground all the way and leaves an evident space from the ground ultimately allowing me to hear every time somebody was in the hallway talking or if one of the workers were working on fixing something in the hall. Minus these two major I would’ve given this hotel a 5 star review because it definitely deserves one. This was by far the best hotel I’ve ever stayed in, but like I said as a college student we look for ways to save and that parking situation really screwed my “parking saving plan.”

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach.We value your feedback and we our always trying to improve the expectation of our guest.We look forward to your next trip to Miami and hope you choose the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach as your destination.
Chuck Castiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to find this amazing boutique hotel in the middle of Miami Beach! From the first greeting by Agatha to our checkout with Dion and Chuck, the GM, we were treated wonderfully. The room was larger than expected and beautifully decorated. Very comfortable beds, a large bathroom with luxurious shower and amazing amenities, and complimentary champagne upon arrival as well as complimentary water in the room, chocolates, and a terrific breakfast! In all, a terrific experience and we have already told friends to make this their hotel of choice when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnA1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach.We value your feedback and we our always trying to improve the expectation of our guest.We look forward to your next trip to Miami and hope you choose the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach as your destination.
Chuck Castiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We just went down for the night. The staff was wonderful, and the room was well appointed. Quirky little entry, but would definitely stay there again.They suggested a great Cuban resturant. We had a nice europeon breakfast and wine and cheese at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach.We value your feedback and we our always trying to improve the expectation of our guest.We look forward to your next trip to Miami and hope you choose the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach as your destination.
Chuck Castiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I don't know if they make the same suggestions to all visitors but as soon as we checked in they offered us :
- parking (25$)
- bus+boat tour (40$)
- restaurant suggestion (don't remember price)
- car ride + pre- drinks + nightclub (don't remember price)

We took the bus+boat tour and not the rest.
But after stressing (a little) over parking deadline on the street, after having hard time finding a nightclub called the Wall, and after calculating costs ... maybe I would have took all 4 offers :P

I would suggest Ithaca to communicate in advance these options via e-mail so people could think about it prior to being on place.
These options are great because you save time, stress and possibly money.

It's one of my first time in this kind of hotel so it's hard for me to compare but I think it was very good overall.

I could only suggest a few things :
- having public restroom within the hotel (or suggestions of place in the area)
- before offering the options discussed above, wait for the visitor to unpack their stuff and rest a little (and/or have some travel brochure explaining the offers)
- improve breakfast/lunch a little

Finally, while the location is great, to be perfect, maybe I would take something a little further north and a little less expansive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanphilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITHACA_SOBE, General Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2016
Hello! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we truly hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
429 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
465 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,356 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
271 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ithaca of South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ithaca of South Beach Hotel

Property: Ithaca of South Beach Hotel
Address: 601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6213
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ithaca of South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ithaca of South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing