We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ithaca of South Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Boutique Hotel in central location”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A great boutique hotel, in the heart of South Beach, with very friendly staff and great rooms. I was told I was in the smallest room, and yet it seemed bigger and better than most I am used to.

The buffett breakfast was minimal, but provided something to start the day with.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITHACA_SOBE, Front Office Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2016
Hello! Thank you for chosing us and for your feedback! We are so glad to know that you liked our rooms, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    141
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
149
287
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ithaca Hotel of South Beach just for one night, but I will definitely be booking with them again in the future! From the minute we walked in, everyone was making sure we had absolutely everything we needed and more! The interior is very well done and contemporary, yet cozy. I loved the intimate feel of the hotel, with only having about a dozen rooms or so (if even that?) we got to know the manager and workers by name during our short stay. They were all gracious and very helpful with providing suggestions as to where to eat, what to see and do, etc. The hotel was clean, location was wonderful (though a block off the beach, for the price it was a steal!), and the complementary champagne and turn down service (complete with chocolate on your pillow!) were such a treat! We really picked a gem with this one!

Room Tip: We had the room all the way at the back... not a great view but very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITHACA_SOBE, Front Office Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2016
Hello! It would be a pleasure for us to host you again. Thank you very much for your gentle words. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We love this place and watched the Superbowl until the power went down...in the stadium.
Good location, very smart interior, spotless cleaning, basic but good breakfast and good service as we need tea on a very regular basis. Would recommend this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre19671024752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITHACA_SOBE, Front Office Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2016
Hello! Thank you for chosing us and for your feedback! We really hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2013

For many New Yorkers Miami is a second home. We are less than 3 hours away from fine cuisine, shopping, and most importantly the beach! And tucked in posh neighborhood of South Beach on Collins Ave. blocks away from the loud obnoxious party hotels with the cramped rooms is a beautiful quaint oasis called the Ithaca South Beach Hotel. At the Ithaca here there hospitality is unmatched, the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, and (although it is cliche) you truly feel like you are at a home away from home.

The Ithaca is a true boutique hotel merely a half a block from South Beach,with upscale amenities like a complimentary continental breakfast, and a European style Wine (including champagne) and Cheese hour for hotel guests every evening. The hotel opts out of having a traditional check in desk which truly gives you that home like feeling. Instead guests are greeted with a complimentary glass of champagne upon check in. Thanks to the hotel's state of the art surveillance system they are ready and prepared to help you with your bags quickly check you in and show you to your room.

If you are looking for something to do just ask Dionne who is hands down one of the best concierge's in South Beach!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosaka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITHACA_SOBE, Front Office Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2016
Hello! Thank you very much for your feedback!We are so happy to know that you spent good times here with and to know that you felt our Hotel as your own home since that's our bigger concern! We are so grateful for your lovely words We'll wail for your return !! Thank you
!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a small, boutique hotel with great unique rooms and friendly staff. As soon as arrived the General Manager helped me with a place to park, took my bags for me, and gave me a glass of bubbly. I was hungry, so he pointed out two close places to grab a bite. Breakfast in the lobby is European style and was great for me as I was on the run. The bed is HUGE and I had a great sleep in Room 110. Enjoyed my day at Ithaca at the cost is less than you'd expect for such niceties!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ry_Bry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITHACA_SOBE, Front Office Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2016
Hello! Thank you for chosing us and for your feedback! We really hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Just great and friendly! Chuck(?) is a master of fixing things and can help you with anything! Beautiful rooms and great cleaning. And of course the best of locations. Near the beach, restaurants and shopping. :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITHACA_SOBE, Front Office Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2016
Hello! We are so glad to know that your stay with us was satisfactory! Thank you very much for your lovely words! Hope to see you real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

.. i couldn't sleep ..

we had room 101 right at the front desk, although i asked for a quiet room by email weeks before our arrival ..

the deco, the huge size of the room, the comfy beds and pillows, the free wifi, the complimentary champagne upon arrival, the cleanliness (outstanding !!!), the location (5 min. walk to south beach, shops below), the breakfast (it's true there is no dining room, but they now have trays for u to take ur breakfast to ur room and the choice is sufficient to start ur day and it's all very fresh) and above all the staff who are all exceedingly friendly, helpful and nice .. all that rates a straight 5/5 - absolutely fantastic !! .. but at the end of the day, i go to a hotel to sleep .. and i didn't ..

room 101 is behind the kitchen where breakfast is prepared (coffee machine, ice machine, banging, etc.) and everybody walks past it to get to their rooms or to check-in/out (which did happen at 2am) .. i had to come out in my dressing gown several times a night to ask guests and staff alike to lower their speaking voices .. i was exhausted by the time i left .. sleep deprived and grumpy ..

yes, i am a light sleeper, that is why i specifically emailed asking for a quiet room .. i don't know if that was taken into account, but i can only ask right ? .. i would be happy to try another room another time, if they would have me back after this review ..

it breaks my heart but i am rating it 3/5, as management really should address this problem - either condemn that particular room and make a dining room (idea ?!!) or soundproof it - i obviously can't comment on the other rooms ..

a lot of hotels have soundproofing issues, but i have never had quite so many sleep disruptions as here .. and it wasn't street noise, it was corridor noise and staff going about their jobs early morning .. they really did try their best to lower the noise when i pointed it out, but i did have to come out every night and reiterate my request, during my 3 night stay ..

i even left them thank-u chocolates upon my departure, because they were such wonderful people and i know it's not the staff's fault .. but somebody needs to actually sleep in that room and see for themselves, as i was assured it was quiet, when i pointed out my upfront concerns upon check-in .. and sadly i was right .. i don't think the staff realize themselves ..

it's one of those "i love u, but i can't live u with" situations ..

Room Tip: if u are a light sleeper u must avoid room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggof61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITHACA_SOBE, Front Office Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2016
Hello! We are so glad to know that you loved the hotel and our staff service. We took your comments really seriously and those help us to improve our standard of quality day by day... That's why we are working so hard in future improvements to solve any possible inconvenience! Thank you very very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 208 in Miami Beach
456 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
482 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,398 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
286 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ithaca of South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ithaca of South Beach Hotel

Property: Ithaca of South Beach Hotel
Address: 601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6213
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ithaca of South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ithaca of South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing