We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Brand-new, Gorgeous Design, Friendly Staff, 1 Block from the Beach - AWESOME!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ithaca of South Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My mom and I stayed at Ithaca for 5 nights and loved everything about our stay.

The rooms are super spacious and look even better in reality than on pictures (the manager told me these exact words when I was booking my reservation, and I didn't think that was possible, but it's true).

The beautiful public beach is 1 block away. You can rent chairs and umbrellas there or just relax on your towel. It wasn't at all crowed and seemed very clean. Also Ithaca is 1 block away from the Ocean Dr. with all kinds of restaurants.

The hotel is located on Collins Ave. which is great for shopping. Zara, Mango, Club Monaco, Tommy Hilfinger are literary across the street.

Free breakfast was offered in the lobby and it consisted of very tasty pastries and croissants, toast, meat and cheese platter, coffee and juices. Also between 6 and 7 PM they offered wine and cheese with crackers (delicious wine, different kind every day).

The manager was extremely nice to us. The front desk staff and maids were always friendly as well. Another huge plus of this boutique hotel - it has only 11 rooms so you very rarely meet (or hear) other people even though it was sold out at the time of our stay.

Google TV with free Netflix, Pandora, and Internet access was great. Free Wi-Fi worked perfect as well. There is a fridge in the room which is free to use as long as you don't touch the mini-bar stuff inside. They provide shampoo, conditioner, and good oatmeal soap (but no shower gel).

Some minor things to consider before your stay:
- no hairdryers/iron in the room, but they are available at the front desk;
- there is a $ 25 charge for each lost room-key;
- no restroom in the lobby (after check out we had to use a public one 1 block away)
- no luggage room, although they were very nice to let us leave our luggage right in front of the reception for pretty much the whole day.

Overall the best hotel I ever stayed at. Please check out my pictures!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WandererENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITHACA_SOBE, Front Office Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Hello! We are so glad to know that your stay with us was satisfactory! Thank you very much for your lovely words! Hope to see you real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Ithaca of South Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 580 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

I spent only one night with a friend, I think it was September 13, a Thursday night with another friend of mine. I never wrote a review in my life, but I had to write one now. It is probabily the cleanest, the most quiet hotel in South Beach. Rooms are big, modern and very clean, the help was great, they just opened. Champagne on arrival, breakfast ready, a gift to take home. Most of all, it only has 11 rooms, but not bulked up so you can hear somebody snooring next door. The walls seem thick, so you can have a good rest after a long night.
I hope they keep it the same and they should hold each customer accountable for any damage or iresponsible behaviour. I can't wait to get a discount from the owner next time I am going down!:) I am sure I had a discounted price as they just opened.
Great job!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RADU M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITHACA_SOBE, Front Office Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Hello! What a lovely feedback! Thank you very much for your kindly words. We will wait for your next time! You will have your discount! Thank you very much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon and were incredibly well looked after- champagne, beach towels.........The location is great - 2 minutes from South Beach, the room was lovely - big, really fresh, funky design. Free buffet breakfast was a really nice touch.

The staff were excellent - really helpful and friendly without being in your face.

Also google tv in the room is really cool!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITHACA_SOBE, Front Office Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Hello! Thank you very much for your feedback! I must admit I got scared when I read the title! We are so happy to know that you spent good times here with us! We are so grateful for your lovely words We'll wail for your return !! Thank you
!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My friends and I stayed there on labor day weekend. The staff was nice, great price, good location. The room was clean and the beds are very comfortable. They gave ye complimentary champagne and a free gift because they had just opened up. We enjoyed our stay and it wasn't expensive at all. I would highly recommend thus place!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Datvirgog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for your recent response regarding your stay at the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach.We look forward to your next visit to our property when in Miami.

Chuck Castiglia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Conveniently located near stores such as Zara, Tommy Hilfiger and Mac, and only one short block away from Ocean Drive and the beach, this new boutique hotel has very modern amenities and décor, and has an enthusiastic manager who greeted us upon our arrival and talked to us, and staff members who assisted us with our luggage and throughout our stay. There is a family-feel to this hotel and the check-in process is very different from the traditional (long) ones.

Our room (two double beds) was spacious and had a pleasant aromatizing scent. Its décor was very modern and the room’s flat screen TV (carries Dish Network) also had a free Internet access feature, Web TV. We took advantage of it since the remote was very easy to use; we went on Google, Pandora, and even on YouTube for karaoke! There is also free wi-fi for those carrying a laptop.

The room also had an alarm clock with an iPod/MP3 dock (great sound), a phone, a work desk, two sofas, three lamps, a mini refrigerator (with two complimentary water bottles), a large mirror, in-room safe, and numerous pillows on the comfortable beds (linen and cushions were top quality as well). There were robes and slippers on the room’s cabinet. The bathroom (with a hair dryer) was very spacious and nicely decorated, as the rest of the room. From our balcony we could even see the beach!

From 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. there is breakfast in the lobby with coffee, tea, orange and cranberry juice, and delicious pastries from the nearby restaurant Manolo’s, where we went for lunch several times (excellent pizzas). During the day, in the lobby there’s fresh water with a hint of lime/lemon and green apples that come in handy before going out for a walk. Underneath the hotel there is a large souvenir shop that is extremely convenient for tourists since all sorts of souvenirs. Ithaca is also within walking distance of Lincoln Road and Española Way. It was a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely come back and recommend it to our family members and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for your recent response regarding your stay at the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach.We look forward to your next visit to our property when in Miami.

Chuck Castiglia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoostHeijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kein Zimmer über dem Laden nehmen, ist zu laut
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rapante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 210 in Miami Beach
478 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 210 in Miami Beach
501 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#26 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,305 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 210 in Miami Beach
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ithaca of South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ithaca of South Beach Hotel

Address: 601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6213
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range: $139 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ithaca of South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ithaca of South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing