We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Location!!!!!!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #125 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Location!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

ecxelentel location of the hotel is simple, cute, clean, and not so familiar, as there are many people in pairs or alone but has as good a location as the car does not need to move around the area and invites miami beach shopping night RECOMMENDED .super

Room Tip: building rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaPotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    485
    314
    122
    105
See reviews for
385
374
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Hotel was overall okay, fairly new renovated but there are a few ekstra things you have to pay for. Parking is very expensive, and just because you pay for it, dosent mean that there is any room for you car. We had to park half out on the street, and there was already doubled parked in the lot.
The staff was overall not very impressive,and the cleaing staff one time ignored the "privacy please" sign on the door to clean. The door to our room (Which was next to the elevator) didnt close tight enough, so we could here and see out through the door. The breakfast was not very good, and the staff barely spoke english. And the highly-priced juice which came in the smallest glass ive ever seen, tasted like acid.
Overall a okay place to sleep, but i wouldnt recommend it. Also the beach is 500 meters away, but the location of the hotel is OK.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Miami Beach. I would like apologize for your stay not being up to your standards. It is in our best interest to try and do everything we can to ensure that your time with us is nothing short than exceptional and it seems it was not. We appreciate your feedback and we will make the necessary improvements moving forward.

Best regards,
Aaron Gusky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice..... great location, ok rooms, great price.... We were a little lost as to why we had no wash cloths in our rooms we called the desk and it's like they thought we were lying, the first night I went to the front desk and told them and they got us some , but every day after that it was an issue for wash cloths no one would bring any up to the rooms our rooms were cleaned daily and every day they would not put new ones in the rooms we got new towels but no wash clothes, the last two nights we called the front desk three times and no one ever brought any up to the rooms we waited till morning and just got them from the cleaning lady, as a very busy hotel you would think that someone is checking these rooms to make sure they are cleaned well and things are in the rooms that the guest need so you do not have these types of issues. Hotel is just in a great location right around the corner from the beach, and just one block from all the food and shopping. .... Overall my vacation was ok

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shantel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Miami Beach. It is unfortunate for me to read that your vacation was ok as we strive to satisfy our guests to the fullest. I would like to apologize about not having fresh wash cloths in your room each day. I am going to bring this issue to the attention of my housekeeping department so they can better correct their mistakes going forward. Thanks again for staying with us, we hope you come back so we can have a chance to give you nothing less than exceptional service.

Best regards,
Aaron Gusky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our recent trip to Florida. The hotel is only average and any extras come at an expensive option - car parking is $29 a night wifi is also an expensive extra. The hotel 'dining room' is only open for breakfast from 7.30 to 11.00 and there are no tea or coffee makers in the bedrooms. The small swimming pool is dirty and there are cigarette ends in the drains around the pool. The cushions on the sun beds are dirty and badly need to be replaced.Overall we were glad to be moving on from this hotel and we will not be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FourCrazyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It saddens me to hear that your stay at our hotel was not up to your standards and I would like to personally apologize to you. I understand that the extra $29 may be a lot for parking however many of the neighboring hotels in the area charge more than we do. Also there are other public parking garages and lots in the area that our staff can direct you to that may be better suitable for you. As far as our pool and the area around it, I would also like to apologize to you about it not being anything but exceptional for you and your family.

Sincerely,
Aaron Gusky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our 3 day stay here was pleasant. It is convenient walking distance to much of Miami Beach. The room was pleasantly updated with nice furniture and an A/C that almost worked too well! Parking was never full, and very convenient to the front door of the hotel. The maids did an excellent job of cleaning the room each day.

Even though the beach is across the street, it was no big deal, and they were ready to prepare beach chairs for us and offer us drinks. We did not use the pool, it looked OK. We also did not eat breakfast there, but it also looked to be OK.

There is nothing special about this hotel. We stayed there because it was a less expensive option and we were in MB with a larger group for a wedding. I will say that upon arrival while we waited to check in it was a bit intimidating as the two groups in front of us had their reservations jacked up (by their travel agent, not the hotel) and it was a dramatic scene as they tried to sort it out with the hotel staff in a flurry of high volume Spanish, Arabic, and a couple other languages we did not recognize. Our reservation was ok, but they were oddly strict that I go over to the lobby computer and actually print out my confirmation page for our reservation.

Overall, it was an adequate option, just not the upscale, flashy, brand new look I'd expect from a hotel on the strip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is in a good location for South Beach and a nice stroll to the shopping and restaurant area, the staff are helpful and friendly the room we had was very dated and could have done with a bit of a refurbishment would have asked to be moved if we where there longer than 3 days.
The pool on the other had was disgusting looked as if it had never been cleaned quickly changed my mind and headed for the beach.
We had continental breakfast with coffee nice enough but there did seem a good choice if you wanted to upgrade.
All in all you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinkerbell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to South Beach. It is awesome to hear that the location of our hotel was a great fit for you. I would also like to add that it is extremely satisfying to hear that the staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful which is something we pride our hotel on. However, it is unfortunate to hear about the pool not being suitable for you as we do have our pool cleaned on a regular basis. We appreciate you staying with us as well as your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Best regards,
Aaron Gusky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We only stayed one night, so got a very limited look at the Dorchester. It was very nice aesthetically with a modern reception area/lobby, and our room was very modern, clean, and comfortable. The bed was very comfy and the other furniture and décor of the room was great. The only thing I would say is that the room was not the most spacious, which was fine for us for 1 night, but for a longer stay it might feel a bit cramped. We were located towards the front of the hotel on the Collins Ave side, but we didn't have any issues with noise which had been suggested in previous reviews.
The location is fantastic and is a 5 minute walk to the beach, and around 10 minutes to the bars and restaurants on Ocean Drive. If you want to be close to the centre of all the action of Collins Ave and Ocean Drive then this hotel is a great choice, and is perhaps just far enough towards the quieter end that it doesn't feel like a noisy, party hotel.
The staff were fairly friendly and helpful, although the service at the reception desk could be a little slow and they didn't seem to hurry themselves even when a queue was building. We were expecting to pay a resort fee, however we were not charged one; we were just told on check-in that Wi-Fi cost $15, which we didn't opt for. This may have been as our stay was just the 1 night and wouldn't be surprised if we would have had to pay the fee had we been staying longer.
Parking was available on site which was around $30 for the 24 hours we were there, and we were happy to pay it for one day, but it would become expensive for longer stays. The parking lot isn't too big though, and we were lucky there was an available space.
We didn't use the pool, the bar area or have breakfast there.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and it was convenient for us being able to see South Beach in a limited time. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to South Beach. We are very pleased to hear all the wonderful things you had to say about our hotel even with the amount of time you stayed with us. It is also fantastic to hear that you would stay with us again in the future. As far as more spacious rooms, we do offer suites which I do recommend for guests with longer stays. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Aaron Gusky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#80 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
City Center
Suites of Dorchester
Suites of Dorchester
#139 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#79 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Townhouse Hotel
#108 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Property: Dorchester Hotel
Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing