We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #120 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Dorchester Hotel is situated just outside of the madness of SoBe but close enough to taste it. Lincoln Rd is a quick five min walk, as is the beach and Ocean Drive. Pick a direction and you will find something for everyone. Also, the sister resort is across the street so you can get loungers and sit on the beach comfortably. I stayed in one of the normal rooms, it was spacious even with two beds. The tub in the room was a bit dated and felt like it was coming undone, but who comes to SoBe to take baths?! Happy Hour was nice, there are $1 specials each night. The resort fee wasn't explained properly, so it was a surprise when I saw it as a separate charge after checkout. However, a quick email resolved any confusion I had. No Shuttle but MDT has an Airport Express Rt 150 that stops at the corner just feet from the hotel, so problem solved! The hotel staff, to include housekeeping were all really nice! Second time at this hotel and will def stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the timeto give a response on
your stay.

As you rightly noted, we are very fortunate to be
at a location close to Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive
and all the activities in South Beach. We are very
pleased that you find our staff to be nice and that you
will definitely stay with us again.

Thanks again for your review and hope to see you
again.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    526
    339
    135
    111
See reviews for
434
405
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the Dorchester hotel first for one night before going on our cruise, We were put in a room on the outside of the main hotel in the courtyard, after reading the reviews about noise and traffic I thought this was going to be very noisy, but this was not so. The room was big clean and tidy and we could not find fault. We returned back to the Dorchester for a few more nights at the end of the cruise, this time we were in the main hotel, again the room was clean and tidy and was cleaned every day. The staff were friendly and we found them to be polite [which is a big thing for me] As for the noise aspect this was not an issue for us and we slept soundly enough, If you are looking for nice clean hotel in Florida's Art Deco district next to the beach and shopping areas i would certainly recommend the Dorchester Hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback
about our property: it tells us we are on the right track..

Yes, on a whole, our property is not noisy, and most our
guest often comment on having a good night's sleep.
We are very pleased that you find our rooms to be big
and clean, and could not find any fault.

Thanks a lot for recommending us to other travelers, and
hope you will stay with us again during your next visit to
South Beach.

Your truly,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Upon arriving to the hotel, you walk through a gorgeous outdoor space with beatiful landscaping and lighting and a great breaze.. it's a great spot to hang out, have a drink at the bar, and relax. The outdoor area seems like a hidden gem on the bustling Sobe strip. Staff is friendly. The location is GREAT! Walking distance to great restaurants and night-life, and of course just a hop into a cab away from anything a little further.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AECLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about
your great appreciation for the Dorchester Hotel.

We are very pleased that you find our outdoor
landscaping and lighting to be great and beautiful
and that our property is like a hidden gem to you.
Our friendly staff, as you noted, are among the
best in South Beach and are always ready to serve
you with the highest degree of professionalism.

We are also pleased that you fin our location to be great
with the walking distance from great restaurants and night
life.

He hope that you will stay with us again during your next
visit to Miami Beach.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Managemenr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

On 10/27/13 I attended this year's Pancreatic Cancer Action Network's Purple lights event hosted at the Dorchester Hotel! Just like last year the venue for this event was fantastic!!! Event took place in the front outside garden. The place is very spacious and cozy! It fit a little over 100 people very comfortably!

Staff members were all nice and friendly especially the bartender Maria. She was very courteous and multitasked very well!

I highly recommend this place for an outdoor event! And, if it happens to rain there is space on the lobby to possibly move it inside ;)

If after an event you want to take a walk on the beach you just need to cross the street and the beach is right there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our property.

We are happy that you attended the Pancreatic Cancer
Network event at our property. We always live up to
our social responsibilities and give back to our
community and mankind: this is motivated by our
employees' passion for people in general, and this
you noted in you comments when said our staff is
nice and friendly. As you also noted, we are fortunate
to have a spacious and cozy property that is just steps
away from the beach.

We do hope that you will continue the spread the good
news about our property and visit us again.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Dorchester Hotel in South Beach. We came from the cruise in the morning and we did not get the room before 2 pm. We could leave our luggage in the reception which was great. The check-in receptionists were friendly. We stayed in 3rd floor. The room was clean and comfortable.

There was a hotel bar under our window which played music until 2-3 am. We could not sleep at all. We didn't complain about it because we figured it was only noisy on Saturday night and the next night we could sleep well. We were wrong. The hotel bar was playing the music loud on the next night as well. Also the guests in the bar kept singing very loudly like there was a karaoke. At 2 am I went to reception to complain. The receptionist promised to call the hotel bar to put the music down and told us that the bar is playing the music every night. It did not help and we could not sleep properly. In the morning we went to reception and another receptionist promised we could change the room at 2 pm. So we needed to pack our bags and leave them to reception again. We got a bigger room but there was a construction site opposite of the building. In the new room we could not sleep in the morning. We were really disappointed in how the staff handled this situation. We spoke to three different receptionists and no one apologized us for the noise and that we had to change the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkaisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for letting us know about your stay.

On behalf of the management and entire staff, I would like
to take this opportunity apologize for any inconvenience you
had while staying with us. Here at the Dorchester, it's all about
our guest, and as you rightly noted we generally attemp to
make provisions to ensure satisfaction, and if there are cases
where the inconvenience is not caused by our hotel, once we
are notified, we will go the extra mile to please our guest.

Once again please accept our apology, and we do hope that you
will give us another chance to show you why we are one of the most
favourite hotels among travelers in South Beach, Florida.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The stay at the Dorchester was great! The rooms are very nice and clean and the installments very cozy.. The location is great because it is walking distance to all the action and the beach. The service was also great specially from the ladies at the front desk Cynthia and Laura. I definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for all your kind words about our property.
We are very pleased that you said that you had a great stay,
and that you find our rooms to be nice, clean, and cozy.

We appreciate you recommending us to other travelers.

Thanks again and hope to see you during your next visit
to Miami Beach.

Yours.
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed October 2013 9 nights room only party of 8 20 something girls. Picked this time of year to coincide with Carnival (we didn't make it to the stadium unfortunately). Chose the hotel for location, close to beach, shops and short taxi distance to clubs and bars. This allowed us to have some quiet time away from the hustle and bustle.
Taxi for 8 dropped us from the airport right outside the entrance ($68) where a helpful bell boy assisted with baggage. Unfortunately he was alone so couldn't manage the gazillion bags we had for the whole party. Upon entering the lobby we walked through a lovely outdoor bar area with lovely lighting and seating. Very easy check in and we found our rooms easily. We booked through Dial a flight and unfortunately the rooms were not suitable. We had two standard rooms that consisted of two double beds for 4 people. Double meaning 3 quarter size to us British. After deliberating we decided 9 nights sharing a rather small bed in a small room would not be very pleasant so took ourselves to reception to discuss our options. The receptionist could not really help and called the manager from their sister hotel who was with us in half an hour. Due to the busy carnival weekend they were only able to upgrade 1 room as a goodwill gesture due to it being dial a flights error. The rest of us were promised an upgrade after the weekenders had checked out. As I ended up in the standard room I can only comment on the facilities for this type of room. Iron and ironing board GREAT! No tea and coffee facilities :-( daily servicing with complimentary soaps and shower gels etc... Wifi came at a $15 charge for our entire stay but there is a free desktop in the lobby to access the web although you may struggle to get on as in popular demand. Its a shame they do not give free wifi as you can access free wifi hotspots throughout SOBE. They have a cute bar that has happy hour but with one server you will be lucky if you can get to it during peak times.

So far so good.....until it came to problems with room key activation, poor customer service from 1 receptionist and lack of communication amongst the management team crossed with delegation issues. Not gonna go into too much detail on the negatives as we could have been unlucky but the hotel definitely has its pitfalls. Upon requesting the key to our new room (upgrade) after checking the day before it was still going ahead we were advised there was nothing in the book and yet again they would need to call the manager who agreed it. He was off duty and they couldn't contact him so we had to wait to wait until the following day. On the next day the manager who was supposed to be on duty and wasn't, we became disgruntled so they asked the other manager to call us to discuss. There was no discussion to be had they had no rooms available and apologised, they said when the other manager comes in they will let us know. They didn't let us know and we didn't speak to reception after this as we didn't want to ruin our holiday by arguing with a hotel where there was no delegated authority and no emphasis on customer service. I was going to leave the rude receptionist unnamed but feel it unfair to tar all of the hotel staff with this brush as the others were polite, professional, empathetic and helpful. Laura on the other hand was quite the opposite and left a bad taste in my mouth, I have never been treated with such disrespect and disregard by a member of the hospitality industry. One does think Laura is in the wrong line of work and has single handedly ensured I would not recommend nor stay at the Dorchester hotel on my next visit.

You will see comments on here about the smell in the corridors, although not permanent there was frequently a smell of wet dog/damp was very pungent!

Other than that South Beach was amazing, would recommend tours to malls, key west and Bahamas just be prepared for a lot of waiting and early morning pick ups!

Thumbs up Miami but with an array of choice for accommodation I would suggest you try somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniellesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Let me first of all thank you for taking the time to let us
know about you stay and to apologize for any negative
experience you had while staying with us.

We are paying close attention to your comments because
we want to make sure that all our guest leave here with the
greatest impression, we will definitely make all necessary
correstions surrounding the areas of your major concerns.

Nevertheless, thanks for choosing and hope that you will
give us another chance to show you why most of our guest
are excited about our property.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#80 of 208 in Miami Beach
463 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#147 of 208 in Miami Beach
131 reviews
City Center
Suites of Dorchester
Suites of Dorchester
#141 of 208 in Miami Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#69 of 208 in Miami Beach
799 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
4,660 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#26 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Property: Dorchester Hotel
Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing