We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel!”
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #118 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed August 13, 2013

From the minute we arrived at the Dorchester Hotel on South Beach (Miami) to the flawless check out five days later, everything was perfect. This hotel has an ideal location ... on Collins Avenue just two blocks from Lincoln Road with all its great shopping and dining. And Ocean Drive is just four blocks south and one block east from the Dorchester.

As soon as we pulled into the parking lot, we were greeted by Junior, the bellman. He unloaded the luggage in our car while we check-in at the front desk. We were welcomed and addressed by name. Check -in was flawless and a bellman we met a year ago recognized us and welcomed us back. The front desk team also let us know there were boxes waiting for us and the bellman would bring them to our suite. We had lots of luggage due to us travelling with two 21 year old females who were on a mission to find the hottest clubs on South Beach. Junior hauled everything to our fabulous two-bedroom suite with a smile on his face, despite the 93 degree temperatures. He then went to fetch the additional boxes of medical supplies we had shipped to the hotel.

Our suite was great, and recently renovated. We had a king bed in the master bedroom and two double beds in the second bedroom. The living room was spacious with hardwood floors. The kitchen had a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, two-burner stove, coffee maker, etc. We brought our own blender for pina coladas after the beach. All four of us had either a lap top, or tablet, but we still found plenty of free bandwidth to all get online at the same time. The only thing I missed was FOX News.

Although the hotel is not right on the beach, we simply had to walk one block down the street to the Hotel Marseilles, the sister property of the Dorchester, where we could access the beach. We picked up our beach towels from the pool attendant and proceeded to the Hotel Marseilles cabana out on the beach to get our complimentary lounge chairs (2) and umbrella.
At lunch time, we took a break from the sun and had lunch on the front patio at the Hotel Marseilles. Great food, great service, reasonable prices .. what more can you ask for.

What a great pair of hotels ... the Dorchester Suites and Hotel Marseilles. And the staff at both hotels is warm, friendly, well trained and eager to help. We look forward to returning to South Beach again in the near future. I look forward to staying with these folks again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Loyal Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment
on your "perfect" stay.

Yes, we have some of the most friendly and dedicated
professional staff, in South Beach, who always go above
and beyond to ensure that all our guest have a great stay.

Thanks again for attesting that we do have a "great hotel".

We are sure we will see you again during you next stay in
Miami Beach.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Hotel is well located,I had a big problem with noise from other guests, witch wasn't resolved by the management,although they tried,had no successes.I couldn't sleep all night,unfortunately.
It was clean and spacious, and had a parking that you need to pay, but it's beside the Hotel.
I intend to return there and I hope there is no noise.

Room Tip: The roons with view of the garden are larger, and there is kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppolck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Let me first of all thank you for taking the time
to let us know about your stay.

I would like to personally apologize for any inconvenience
you might had experienced while staying here. I would also
like to thank you for commenting about our clean and spacious
rooms.

Overall, you mentioned that you intend to visit us again, please
contact me personally when you are about to make your
reservation; I would like to do something extra special for you.
Here at the Dorchester, we cherish all our guest.

Thanks again!

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Dorchester Hotel in Miami is situated one block from the beach and in the heart of the arty area of town. The hotel looks to have had a good clean up and we found everything to be as we wanted it. The staff are friendly and helpful and we were given free Wi-Fi as we were only staying for one night.
My only issueis that they charge $30 for parking which I do not agree with. Considering we had driven for overtwo hours, do not know the city, have no idea where to park, it left us with no option but to accept. In saying that would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmedq2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Loyal Guest:

Thanks for giving us your feedback about your
stay.

We are very pleased that our hotel met your
expectations. Regarding your concerns about
parking in South Beach, virtually all hotels charge
for parking, and there is hardly anywhere to park
on the streets. The big difference with us is that
our charge for parking is one of the lowest in the
the entire South Beach.

We are very happy you said you would stay with
us again and are looking forward to WOW you
again.

Thanks again!
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great service and friendliness from the reception staff, loved the modern decor & feel of the room but everything tatty & tired, paint drips/marks on many surfaces so has the potential to be great but feel that owners aren't that bothered as the problems are long past when they should have been rectified. Main problem was with being asked on departing by Carlos, the porter or whatever title he owns, would we like to leave something for him (as in tips) as he wouldn't be there when we called to collect our bags prior to flying home. Happy to tip even tho we don't live by these rules in the UK but I won't tip when I am asked to in such a manner as all he did was take a key, inches from where he stood, secured our bags to the others by a security rope & gave us a card to collect! He said this to 2 families so obviously says this to all guests & spoils the gesture of tipping because of good service & not because it is expected of us. I tipped plenty during my 2 week east coast tour but think this gentleman is doing your hotel a dis-service by his behaviour & doesn't end up getting him any tips either does it?!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay.

We are happy that you find our staff to be friendly.
With regards to your concerns about one of our bellman,
we will definitely look into the matter, and want to apologize
to you for any inconvenience.

Thanks again for you feedback.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a nice relatively small hotel in Miami Beach. I was glad to have booked this hotel. The room was clean, the staff was really friendly. When we got up to our rooms, the only, maybe negative aspect I could say was that the air-conditioning was a little bit loud (but, hey, we've been to several hotels and everywhere it was the same thing). In general the hotel is nice, ideally located in my opinion.

The only negative aspect of the hotel in general is the fact you have to pay quite some money to use the parking lot. On the other side I think it's understandable when you see that in the vicinity of the hotel there is hardly any space to park your car...

So in general: a nice hotel with friendly staff who make you forget the small remarks in no time !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davyvandelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for letting us know your thoughts
about you stay with us.

We are happy that you find oue hotel to be
nice and with a friendly staff.

As you rightly noted, there is hardly any parking
in the area and that is why we provide parking
for our guest at a modest charge: our parking
rate is one of the lowest in South Beach.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Dorchester Suites on a girls trip with 5 ladies in the one bedroom double suite. The rooms were spacious and clean. It had a full kitchen and a Living room with a sofa bed. It easily sleeps 6. The staff was great! The location was awesome. We near Lincoln road and the beach. I will definitely use the Dorchester for my next Miami get away!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niknik913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I recently was in South Beach and stayed at the Dorchester. What a wonderful hotel. The staff members are so pleasant and knowledgable. Close to Lincoln Road and the Beach is across the street. Cozy little bar right off the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to let
us know about your experience at our property: your property.
We are very happy that you were very pleased.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Sunny Miami.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
485 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#142 of 212 in Miami Beach
149 reviews
City Center
Suites of Dorchester
Suites of Dorchester
#144 of 212 in Miami Beach
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,718 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#69 of 212 in Miami Beach
822 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#25 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $100 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing