We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value by the beach”
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #119 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value by the beach”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Dorchester is walking distance to so many great cafes, nightlife and the beach. Walking distance to both Lincoln Rd and South Beach. Also it has a great little bar...and is a very good value for families. Our unit had a cute little kitchen and plenty of sitting area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to let us know that
you were pleased during your staying with us.
We are very fortunate to have a property that
is very close to great cafes, exciting night life, and
next to the beach which amounts to a good value
for the family as you mentioned.

Thanks again and hope you will try us again during
your next visit to South Beach.

Regards,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    526
    339
    135
    111
See reviews for
434
405
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Ángeles, Bio-Bio, Chile
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Dorchester was great. I had a problem when I landed and they handled it without saying a word. Ruben the GM and his staff were great. If you're in South Beach and you want a drama free, clean hotel, this place has the answer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your
stay with us.

As you rightfully mentioned, in the event there is
ever a problem, we always handle it towards the
guest satisfaction: oue staff, as you noted, are great
and are focused towards giving our guest a
"a drama free" stay along with a clean room.

We hope to see you here again when you retrurn to
Miami Beach / South Beach.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were put up in the Dorchester hotel through business. Rooms were spotless good sized and comfy. Close to everything we needed yet peacefull enough to sleep. Loved the location, staff were efficient and friendly. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diggers1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
Thanks for taking the time to let us
and the world know that you had a"great stay"
We are very happy that you recognized our super
friendly staff, our spotlessly clean rooms, and
excellent location.

Thanks a lot for your candid review.

Yours,
E, Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at the Dorchester for the weekend with some friends...

The Front Desk staff were super helpful and friendly during the check in process. The manager Aaron went out of his way to show us all the amenities the hotel had to offer including our HUGE room. We could've had 12 people sleeping in our suite. The ambience of the hotel is very nice as well and definitely had a relaxed vibe but with amazing decor.

The bar offers FREE drinks during happy hour and the front courtyard is an amazing place to hang out and meet other guests of the hotel.

The beach is only a 5 minute walk to Lincoln Rd and the beach is literally across the street where we got beach chairs and an umbrella.

I would HIGHLY recommend staying here if you are planning on going to South Beach.

I'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We are very pleased to know that you
had an "AMAZING Weekend" at the Dorchester
Hotel. Our super friendly staff, as you mentioned,
are to point in ensuring that all our guest have great
stay.

We are very eager to have you here again in
the future, and thanks for takinf the time to
let us know about you great stay,

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I just returned from a 4 day 3 night stay at the Dorchester. The staff was friendly and the hotel was really nice and clean. The onsite bar was really good. Great location. I didn;t care too much for the onsite restaurant that served breakfast..it wasn't that great but it is a great option to have if you don't want to leave the hotel. My room was clean and the refrigerator was stocked with refreshments, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyfierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for letting us know that you had
a great stay. Your observations about
our friendly staff, clean property, and great
location is something we take great pride in.

As for our restaurant, we recently improved
our menu selections with amazing items.

Thanks again for your constructive feedback.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during March.......... I'll break things down individually so you can read which posts you feel are more important to you:-

Location - This hotel is situated on Collins Avenue which is an excellent location as you are practically in the center of everything. The beach is literally just over the road and the shops / bars are a mere 5/10mins walk away.

Hotel - On arrival our first impressions were good, the hotel looks lovely from the outside and there is a medium size courtyard where you can sit and have drinks from the bar or just generally relax. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and check in was very smooth and nothing seemed too much trouble. Pool area was nice but didn't spend any time there.

Rooms - Now here is where the disappointment starts, the room was of average size with two double beds, a flat screen tv and a small bathroom. The room itself was fine and the beds were quite comfy, but the downfall was with the bathroom. Once we had unpacked a little my friend decided to freshen up with a shower after 9hrs of traveling only to find out the shower wouldn't work, we called reception and to be fair they sent someone straight up to sort it out........ excellent now we can have a shower! 10mins later she came out and said the toilet wouldn't work so i went in to see if we could sort it between us but unfortunately it wouldn't flush........ again we put in a call to reception to send someone up to fix it! The first gentleman came and tried to sort it, 30mins later he phoned for his friend to come and help him as he couldn't understand why it wouldn't flush, we tried to explain to them but neither could speak English so that's where the communication ended. Anyway in a nutshell the toilet never got fixed so we had to keep going down and using the reception one. Thank god we were only there 3 nights!

Hotel Bar - Be sure to pay a visit to the bar, the staff are lovely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G33NA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
We would like to thank you for giving us your
feedback on your stay. We would like to also
apologize for any inconvenience you might had
experience while staying with us.

We do thank you for your candidness in commenting
about our "excellent location.....practically in the center
of everything" and our extremely helpful staff. We do note
your concerns and hope that in your next visit you will
try us again to show you that we alway listen to our guest
and make improvements based on their constructive criticismes.
We always take pride in living up to our motto that "here at
the Dorchester, it's all about you".

Thanks again.

Yours,
E. Hewitt, CHA
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have stayed here before and decided to stay again as they advertised that they had done some upgrading. General impression is good, the location was perfect not exactly on Ocean Drive but a walking distance to everything. There are lots of restaurants around to get a good breakfast and dinner. The beach is just across the street. They took a resort fee 10 $ a night that included internet, beach chairs, umbrellas and towels that was a good deal and practical. We had breakfast once that was tasty but a bit expensive. The room was spacious, beds were comfortable, and bathroom was OK. Our room faced Collins Avenue and was very noisy we probably should have asked for a room facing a side street that seemed quieter. AC was either very cold or did not work at all so we used it only a couple of times. Room was clean, internet worked well and the hotel service was good. Parking seemed to be a problem in that hotel but we did not need it. There is also a nice courtyard and a swimming pool that we only used once. The only negative thing was that after checking out a small sum was charged on our credit car for minibar that we did not use. We would stay here again when visiting Miami Beach next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the side street which is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about
your experience at our property, and thanks for choosing
us again for this stay. We are very happy to know that you
think that our location is perfect and within walking distance to
everything. Our spacious and clean rooms, as you mentioned,
are some of the many reasons many guest choose us. And yes,
our good service, nice courtyard and swimming pool are very
much appreciated by most of our guest. We hope to see you
here again during your next visit to Miami and will continue to
go above and beyond to ensure that you have a great stay.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#82 of 208 in Miami Beach
460 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#145 of 208 in Miami Beach
128 reviews
City Center
Suites of Dorchester
Suites of Dorchester
#139 of 208 in Miami Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#69 of 208 in Miami Beach
796 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#87 of 208 in Miami Beach
4,653 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#26 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Property: Dorchester Hotel
Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing