We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place to host events!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #142 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to host events!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I went on 9/30/12 to the Dorchester Hotel for the first time. I attended the event for Pancreatic Cancer Action Network called Purple Lights. It was hosted outside in the entrance patio. The place was spacious, cozzy and very nice!!! It has a beautiful garden with a really nice large tree for great pictures and they have a nice cute bar. I also liked that in the event of rain there was space inside the hotel to transfer the event inside.

I found out the owner of the place, Lloyd, donated the space to Pancreatic Cancer Action Network for free!!! Thanks to Lloyd for his generosity and for helping the fight against pancreatic cancer. Cheers!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    457
    291
    114
    102
See reviews for
352
353
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for three days here and had a lovely time. We got upgraded to a suite which was actually a one bedroom apartment. Neat furnishings, nicely maintained property. Excellent staff and the front desk dealt easily with any request. The property is beautiful with an onsite pool and gardens. Very convenient with only a block over to the beach and they also have access to amenities of a sister hotel which is beachfront. The only downside I saw was that there is not a view from the hotel but like I said the property is pretty and enclosed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spindoctor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I booked this hotel based on the pictures of various websites; I was expecting a room like an apartment with fridge, table, chairs, coffee rusted machine, but I just got a normal room. The room has been modernized, consisted of laminate floor, fairly modern furniture and flat TV screen and a small bar fridge. Unfortunately the modernization did not extend to the bathroom which bath had once being repainted and that was peeled off, showing 2 colours (the original and the one were the newish painting was still surviving. Tiles were cracked and curtain real and plug wholes were rusted. The rooms have rather old air conditioners which are quite noisy and the windows and blinds are absolutely filthy.

The hallways are indeed very dated, to the point of being creepy, and the pool area needs a bit of attention. It could benefits considerably if someone sweeps the fallen leaves of the floor.

The good point about the hotel is location, about 500 metres from Lincoln Road and the attentiveness of their staff. The hotel has a daily service charge that covers the use of a pool towels or the use of the facilities of its sister hotel about 150 metres across the road and or lounges and umbrella in the beach by the sister hotel. If you don’t want to use these facilities you still have to pay the service charge because is compulsory.

The hotel has also a small parking area but they charge you U$S 32 per day, which is quite expensive for the area.

The hotel provides different kind of breakfast at different rates, it starts at U$S 6.99 for a couple of croissants, the U$S 8.99, US$ 9.99 and U$S 14.99 for the most complete option which consist of and omelette, bacon and sausages, cereal and fruit. Coffee is charged separately from the cheapest menus at U$S 2.99 a cup. I can only comment on my personal experience but the day I had breakfast they run out of orange juice, which seemed a bit odd for a 3 stars hotel.

The hotel has no restaurant or room service. There is a bar which hold a daily happy hour from 7 to 8 in the evening which charge only U$S 1 for the bartender choice. During my stay this was only 1 kind of drink which was vodka and lemonade. Although it is a bargain the happy hour has only that promotion so if you are not a vodka person that’s it for you. The bar also has limited variety of beer just 2 brands Heineken and Corona. One day I asked the bartender for some crisps or peanuts and he told that he did not have any but I could buy them myself from the next door supermarket…..

Would I recommend this hotel?, well with the current economic climate I would say that you can find better options for the same price range, location is very good but that only doesn’t do it all for me. When I book a 3 stars hotel I want the hotel to deliver the standards of a 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is awesome. The are very accommodating The rooms are all newly renovated and I know because I stayed there before renovation ant it was still awesome. The staff is attentive. I wanted to change room several times and they were more that accommodating. The reason for room change was because first I wanted a view of the pool then I change my mind and wanted a view of the street to see all the action. The hotel rooms are clean nicely decorated and modern. They also have sweets that are fully furnish and you can cook your own meals as they provide pots and pans. The ac works well and there is free wifi that works well I was constantly on the laptop when in the room. There is breakfast offered at a price and room services. There is a resort fee of I think $7. There is unlimited towels. House keeping does a great job (make sure you leave a tip). There is also happy hour and you can tip $1 per drink. The value is great for the price. Best of all it near everything so unless you plan on touring all of Miami on your own no car needed. ( I believe the parking is a bit pricy call before you get a car and you can compare to other hotels which is about $25-35 daily). This place is great for couples, singles, business, friends or solo as it is located near all the action but you do not hear the outside nose. If you there for business stay a way from the street rooms as those are the only room where you may hear noise. there is also a fitness center thats included in your rental. The pool is wonderful. I love this hotel very much I was trying to stay here this October buy they are booked and I am sad :( ...

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you have a problem or just want a different view they will change the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADerrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was a bit hesitant in booking this hotel since there was quit a bit of negative comments, I stayed in this hotel with 3 other ladies, The staff was courteaus and professional. Very convenient to the beach and other amenities. The only downfall was the noise from construction early in the morning. If we did not have to get up that early that would have been an issue. Next time I will be requesting a larger room if possible. Overall experience was a Plus...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in this small and cozy hotel for one week August 2012. The room was nice and spotlessly clean, the bathroom a bit small, which nevertheless was okay, but all our compliments do go to the wonderful staff and equal service. Not a question was not being correctly responded to and despite the stress of (often) too many people wanting attention at the reception desk at the same time, there would always be a friendly signal to inform that you were noticed.
Towels for the beach or swimmingpool were given to us whenever we needed them and for as little as 10 dollars there is also the availability of beach chairs and umbrella (a necessity during the time we were there).
We did not use the breakfast facilities every day, but if we did, whatever we asked for was provided in huge quantity and presented nice and neat.
When a mistake in our final bill appeared, the receptionist asked the manager to take care of it and things were then quickly settled.
Miami Beach was another great experience for us (we had been here a couple of times before), but staying at The Dorchester felt like a nice 'home away from home'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelies M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the Dorchester for a week in July. The overall experience was good. The hotel is locted at the northern part of South Beach. It's just a few blocks from Lincoln Road and the beach is just some five minutes across the street. A little longer to Ocean Drive of course, but we didn't mind walking, it's much to see on the way...
The hotell istn't fancy, of course, but you probably don't expect that if you're looking for this price range. However not fancy it's still very good. Rooms were clean, and not small, "large enough". Oh - btw, the AC was pretty loud so you might wanna bring ear plugs...
You basically have everything you need there, at convenient distance to most of what Miami Beach has to offer. The staff was nice, polite and service minded. We had breakfast there once - decent and the buffe is about the same price as if you would eat "at town". We recomend it if you're not the picky and glamour seeking type of person but rather looking for a good hotel at a great location!
All the best from Sweden!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#96 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
City Center
Suites of Dorchester
Suites of Dorchester
#136 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
City Center
San Juan Hotel
San Juan Hotel
#99 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#88 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,939 reviews
South Seas Hotel
#111 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,364 reviews
Boutique 18
#82 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Property: Dorchester Hotel
Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing