We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Average hotel - sometimes good, sometimes bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #126 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Playa Blanca, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average hotel - sometimes good, sometimes bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I have stayed in Dorchester several times and most of the times your room and service is a surprise: sometimes good, sometimes bad. If you really want more tranquility or cleanliness you're better off with the Suites, which has more consistent service, although there are some rooms with the A/C not working properly. As to the normal hotel rooms of Dorchester, well, it is a bag of surprises. However almost all the rooms are rather small and you can hear anything outside your room, even the elevator. The bathtubs' cleanliness is also inconsistent: some are not as thoroughly cleaned (hairs, soaps), while others are immaculate. Probably the worst room you could stay in is 222 with broken A/C cover, oxidized tub, mold on tiles and other unpleasant sights. Run away if you get it. The WiFi is average as well (some rooms don't get coverage at all).

The staff, again, surprises. Some people I recommend are Norma, Monica, Silvana, Laura, Marcia, Hernan and Juan for consistent and excellent service (front desk, bell/doorman assistant general manager and housekeeping). Definitely you can count on them.

As to the other traits of Dorchester, here's the rundown:

The spa doesn't exist anymore and it was never wow material with its extravagant prices. The pool was sometimes dirty because of the next door construction, although I believe it is finished now. The gym is small (don't believe the pictures) with okay machines. I like it because no one ever goes in it: see how invisible it is?

Breakfast and food is okay; the same low hotel quality taste and high prices, although the omelets are great and made with fresh eggs. Other egg dishes: please request fresh eggs. One day I saw that some eggs were actually powder eggs. Horrible taste. Last I went for breakfast terrible service. The lady had a sour attitude. If I am waking up and paying $15+ for a breakfast dish (wanted fresh eggs, not powder) I at least want a more friendly service. The lady only became more serviceable when she saw I was going to lose my patience with her.

Bar - meh. High prices. You are better off eating or drinking at other Miami Beach bars, clubs or restaurants with the same prices.

Location - excellent. You have everything at walking's distance.

Security - If you are in the suites, don't leave your clothes hanging from balcony. They fall, mix themselves in other rooms and you might never see it again. Otherwise, generally it is safe. Why only generally? It's not the staff the problem, but there is no security for outside or inside. Someone may come in (and they have). So follow the advice to leave your doors locked. If the staff is cleaning and you want to come in, don't think it is rude if they come out, close the door and let you open the door. It's the hotel's weakness. At least the staff is using precaution. Still, the hotel is generally safe.

Summary: Dorchester is in all an average hotel due to to its inconsistent cleaning, service, staff and pretty much everything (rooms, WiFi, etc.), with its best asset the location and few great people. Room value, because of the former, may be great or bad, but generally an okay bargain.

Room Tip: Run away from 222. Suites are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shuro18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    475
    304
    119
    104
See reviews for
376
364
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santos
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

It always bother me how much people are not able to make a review that actually gives the readers a correct idea of the hotel. People are always pointing small defects (like their houses were perfect), mistakes in reservations and misunderstandings with hotel staff.

Location - The hotel is located in the heart of South Beach, a short walk from Lincoln Road shops, one block from the beach and a few blocks from Ocean Dr. Meaning = perfect location

Room - The room had a fresh smell, like it was brand new. It wasn't a big room, but it had a decent size and fits every traveler needs. There was a mini-fridge in the room and it was very silent, even being in the ground floor.

Amenities - Nice pool, guest laundry, small and trendy bar (great for happy hour) and a nice restaurant where they serve breakfast. On that matter they have 3 or 4 menus that fit every type of hunger and financial needs.

Price - For all that it offers and it's location, I consider this hotel a great pick, with great price and I am always recomending it to my clients.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pedrobraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My family and i stayed for 2 nights on a Friday and Sat and were kept awake by revellers allowed to be in pool drinking and smoking till 4am.
Stupidly left 2 electric toothbrushes in room and realised on route to Orlando and phoned hotel to ask them to keep them for us and we would collect a fortnight later on our return to Miami to catch our flight home.
Hotel staff promised this would be ok,but despite several phone calls and emails from me they said there was no sign of them.
Apart from the cost of the repacements that we have incurred the Asst General Manager Juan Manuel Valera 111 could not even bother to reply to my email until several weeks later he sent an email response basically implying that we did not leave them otherwise they would have been found.
The Exec housekeeper was the only lady who was polite in her email response and obviously had problems getting her boss to respond.
All in all it ruined my faith in customer service ,more so that the manager could be so scathing in his response to my email and basically was unconcerned.
I am not one to give poor reviews and infact always like to praise rather than criticise so this is a first in terms of a bad review.This is also my first review on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: I would not advise a stay in Dorchester!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caroline e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Had one night at the Dorchester after my birthday party, Check-in was fast, which was great because it was late. Got complimentary drink coupons for it being my birthday which was a nice surprise. Deffinately not a place for those trying to get a good nights sleep, but that was ok with me since we were partying. Beds are so comfy! Bathrooms could be updated but it didnt ruin it for us. Breakfast was good, and the bar is very cute. Short walks to the beach and Lincoln Rd. we had so much fun!

Room Tip: Probably not best for travelling families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovely623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear LOVELY623,
Thank you for your kind words. We consider ourselves a place that is close to everything that is happening in South Beach and at the same time family friendly. Our happy hour is a great spot were many club-goers like to huddle before they start club-hopping towards Ocean Dr., Washington, and Lincoln Rd. We are so glad you had a great birthday with us. Please come back and see us very soon.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

first of all i would like to say what a wonderful stay we had at the dorchester. as soon as we arrived during a big storm we had arrived early, appx 11 am and our room was not ready. we were greeted by silvana at reception who was very welcoming indeed, she said the room would be ready at 13:00. as it was our 30 th wedding anniversary they gave us a suite which was very clean and spacious, comfotable and cool. the maids did a great job everyday of our stay.

the art decor furniture in the lounge was everything we expected, so traditional.... we found the hotel not too big and a comfortable size, with a cosy and tranquil outdoor/indoor bar, perfect for a relaxing late/early evening drink. the hotel also has a nice sized outdoor swimming pool with comfortable sunbeds.

breakfast was also very nice and a good selection at a very reasonable price for southbeach with good strong columbian coffee, just to kick the day in.

this hotel also offers a fantastic beach deal for 10 dollars( bargain ) 2 sunbeds, umbrella and towels, just ask at reception. normal price if you go straight to the beach 30 dollars.make sure you go to the marseilles hotel beach section. this is the sister hotel to the dorchester.

we stayed at this hotel for 6 nights after we had been on a cruise for 5 nights, and it was the perfect hotel at a reasonable price for the climax of our holiday.

pre cruise we stayed at the marseile hotel ( beachfront ) for 2 nights and we were very well looked after,we were in a beautiful room overlooking the ocean. as i said before this is the sister hotel to the dorchester and you can use all the facilities. we met a very informative guy here called willy, he recommended some great restaurants and gave us hints and tips on were to go in southbeach.

once again a big thankyou to the manager at the dorchester/marseile for looking after us in such a special way, you made our trip, also not forgetting the warm smile and greeting from silvana athe dorchester reception.

best regards and hope to see you again,

dave and lynn taylor from manchester in the united kingdom.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daveandlynntaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear DAVIDANDLYNNTAYLOR,
I am extremely glad you felt welcome at our place. Silvana has been known to take extra care of our guests on anniversaries, and placing our guests in ideal rooms for the occasion is somewhat of a specialty for us. I can say you had a a great stay and several days to enjoy all aspects of our hotel. We can only hope that your next anniversary you decide to spend it with us. Thank yo so much for your kind words.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stay thery September, Happy Hour is a joke you paid $1.00 for service and it is only for Vodaka
and juice no beer and the beer is very expensive

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fleeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear FLEETO,
From what I understood in your review you only seemed to have experienced our 1850 Bar. As to $1 for vodka, I am sure that is as competitive as any happy hour can be, even in Sydney. I hope our bar prices and selection will not keep you from visiting us once more, and we will definitely try to enhance the variety of our happy hour selection. Thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This was the final hotel of our Southern State coach tour and sadly probably the worst. Maybe hotel standards in Miami are generally lower? The lobby was quite small and the entrance was set back through a courtyard.

Our room on entry seemed a little overcrowded with 2 queen size beds, wardbobes, drawers and large desk. Disappointingly there was no fridge and the first hotel to have no coffee maker. The bathroom door stuck a bit and the paintwork was a bit grubby. The shower was good, but the hairdryer was continually off and on and didn't seem too safe.

We had a few drinks in the hotel bar which were very expensive - not surprisingly it was pretty dead. I felt a bit sorry for the young bar maid. Lincoln Road is a couple of blocks away and there are lot of restaurants to choose from there which we found to be good value. Breakfast can be purchased in the hotel but we chose to go out and chose somewhere ourselves.

If I returned to Miami beach I don't think I would chose this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TriciaBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear TRISHABISHOP,
Thank you so much for your comments. I will start by clarifying that hotels in Miami do not have a lower standard, but it is definitely a different thing to stay in a historic Art Deco property from the 1930's. We are always looking to improve our services, and we apologize for not having a fridge in your room, however all our rooms come with minibars to keep beverages cold. As to coffee, we serve the best Colombian roast blend everyday from 7:30AM to 11:00AM at our Dorchester Café. We hope that you visit South Beach again and that you do not remain steadfast in not stopping by to see us once more.
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#82 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
City Center
Suites of Dorchester
Suites of Dorchester
#139 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#80 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 4,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#180 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
San Juan Hotel
San Juan Hotel
#105 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Property: Dorchester Hotel
Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing