We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Marks for Service and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #51 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Spent a week at this hotel for the Winter Break Holiday. Hotel is clean, attractively appointed, and is within walking distance of most of the South Beach highlights. There are a lot of young kids here but this is to be expected given it is a school holiday week. The hotel also has a large contingent of European travelers (probably true all over Miami given location).

The hotel staff could not be any more polite and friendly. We really were impressed with how personable and service oriented EVERY hotel employee we encountered was. Seems like a simple formula.... why don't more hotels/resorts grasp this concept?

Hotel had lots of nice little touches such as: cold towels and free suntan lotion spray at pool. Free samples of ice cream, smoothies, and frozen banana bites at the pool also. Pool area is nice and has several jacuzzis. They have lots of shade umbrellas. I like their policy of giving people printed time limits when they leave there seats. For instance, you can't just leave a towel there at 6AM and expected to hold the seat all day. If you leave your seats they usually give you an hour or so to come back or they will offer the seats to other guests- makes it fair.

Room was clean and comfortable although efficiently spaced. Large flat screen TV. We had a room with its balcony directly facing the beach. The hotel pool has a gate that leads right to the beach after walking across the narrow boardwalk. That is, beach is right there next to hotel. You have to pay a private company for beach chair/ umbrella rental $$ as this is not done by the hotel. This company also rents water craft,etc.

Hotel has a dining room. Buffet was decent but a little pricey ($28.50) but only $9.50 for kids. There is a separate coffee bar, ice cream parlor, and a very decent sushi bar. There is also Emeril's restaurant next door at the hotels other building- liked our dinner here. Did not like that the hotel adds a service charge of 20% even if you order a buffet- don't mind tipping but this seems excessive. They also leave a blank on the slip if you want to add more tip on top of the 20% - seems excessive and it was probably the only thing here I would criticize.

Room was nice and clean. Bed/ bedding were very decent. My wife commented that the shower products were not as nice as she might have expected. Room has a safe large enough to hold our small Mac laptop and some other items. Bathroom is a little small but not too bad. Shower only, no bathtub in our room.

One quirk: the internet is free in the lobby,restaurant,etc but there is fee to use it in your room.

We really like Spiga (Italian restaurant) which is located 7 or 8 blocks south on Collins Ave. Great, authentic food, not pretentious and reasonably priced. Did NOT care for Yuca rest. on Lincoln Rd - uninspired Cuban Food and lackluster service (despite an also included 20% service charge.

Overall, a very nice place to stay (Loew's). Would strongly consider staying here again if we return to South Beach for another vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,400 - 4,406 of 6,954 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2010

Back on business and I stayed here just last weekend. The service was amazing. I was catered to. I never stayed here before and with all my experience on South Beach this past year and a half, I gotta say...this was a pleasant surprise. The service and food were amazing and the room was just right. Well worth the money due to the service provided. You cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyDelavora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Great if you like big crowds. This is a Vegas hotel in South Beach. Over the top large and ostentatious. Truly a nice place, though I personally dont like massive hotels for a beach vacation. We are a couple and this place was teaming with children it was not a good place to relax or have peace and quiet. You have to fight for a pool chair and be up at the crack of dawn to get one. Prices were high, food was so so. Emirals restaurant which was part of the complex is pedestrian at best. The rooms were small and designed in an incredibly tacky manner.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckieNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

My colleagues and I spent 4 nights at this hotel and I was impressed from arrival. Service is what this hotel has going for and from start to finish, it was excellent. Check in, even when I arrived with about 20 colleagues, was fast as they had each of there at least 8 stations ready to help people. They granted late checkout, and check out was easy and pretty much everything else, from the bar service to pool service to conference room service, including meals, etc, was excellent. Every staff member I encountered was friendly, genuine and quickly helped with anything I needed.

The hotel itself is great, it was decorated for the holidays. The lobby and bar area is great, one word of warning is drinks are very expensive at the bar and 18% service is automatically included -- it may be that way everywhere in Miami though.

The pool and beach areas were great, plenty of space, lots of towels, free water, ice cream in the afternoon, etc. Even inside the lobby I saw them randomly offering little appetizers and stuff. They brought drinks quickly (again, very expensive though!) and food was quick and pretty good too. They have a great selection of creative drinks as well.

Conference rooms were great, food was good (we had hosted breakfast and lunch) and great selection of beverages, etc (san pellegrino). They kept the conference rooms fixed up with everything we needed as well.

I would say the only disappointing factor about the hotel was the rooms. Don't get me wrong, there was nothing wrong with them, but I thought service-wise and rest of the hotel, it was practically 5-star, but the rooms were not. The beds were awesome, but I think the bathrooms could be updated with a better shower and the worst part was that the toilet (while it looked cleaned, this is before it had been used at all) really smelled of urine, and continued to... could literally be smelled from several feet away (room 803).

With nice beds and TVs, I think they just need to improve the shower area and the general decor of the room. It would be great to see the bathroom opened up with a large tub and a shuttered window that connects to the room or something like that.

The location is great - just a block from Lincoln road and also walking distance in comfortable heels to lots of the clubs and other hotels.

I would recommend this hotel, but wouldn't pay 5-star prices unless they update the rooms. It definitely didn't help that most of my colleagues had come from snow, so the 80+ degree weather was awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurengucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Great location at the north end of Ocean Drive. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly. Got a 'free upgrade' to a partial ocean view which meant we didn't get the king bed we requested. She didn't tell us that when we checked in. We should have gone back down and asked to be moved but didn't.
Pool area was always packed. Far too many people and children for me. Hard to get a server to take a drinks order initially - but once we got someone they were very attentive.
18-20% service charge added to everything including a quick coffee in the bar.
We enjoyed sitting at the Hemisphere lounge outside on the nice comfy chairs.
I would give the spa a miss. Completely overpriced. And definately do not get persuaded on the 'special extras'. Spent over $400 on 2 massages (including 20% tip of course) and get a much better experience at our normal spa in Chicago.
Food at the pool was nice (should be given the price!). There is a lovely jewelry shop on 16th a 2 minutes walk from the hotel on the left side. A couple of adorable ladies work there and they have great fashion jewelry at good prices.
Overall not a bad experience, we just didn't select a hotel that suited our likes and dislikes.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoCatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Loews property over Columbus Day weekend. We were greeted with a warm reception from the doorman to the front desk. We had an ocean view room on the 14th floor. The room was clean and modern and had a fantastic view. The poolside amenities and service were terrific. I wouldn't hesitate to book your next vacation at this resort!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vette4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

This is a great hotel and it is pet friendly too. I wish the gym was in the hotel and not across the way when it rains. It is in the cool part of South Beach and has provided my family with a wonderful base for great family vacations. The rooms are very nice and clean. The cabanas by the pool make it feel very personalized at a cost.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoff0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,198 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,668 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#14 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#15 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,641 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $344 - $802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach’s vibrant Art Deco District, the renowned Loews Miami Beach Hotel recently completed a spectacular $50 million renovation, resulting in a vibrant new lobby experience; 790 transformed luxury guestrooms; an enhanced, oceanfront pool deck with direct beach access; SOAK Cabanas & Daybeds with new adult-only cabanas; enhancements to exhale South Beach spa and more. Four new restaurants and lounges include Preston’s Market, Miami Joe Coffee Co., Bar Collins and Nautilus, in addition to the award-wining Lure Fishbar - all offering an authentic taste of the destination via Flavor Miami. A curated food and beverage journey, Flavor Miami brings together Miami’s culinary greats, integrating their offerings throughout the on-property experience. Whether in-room, poolside or dining al fresco, guests can sip and bite their way through the city’s unique neighborhoods and culture. An inspired canvas for meetings and events, Loews Miami Beach Hotel has 65,000 square feet of beautifully redesigned function space, accommodating groups of 10 to 2,700 guests. Additional amenities include a fitness center; premium shopping at Splash and Splish retail boutiques; and a new state-of-the-art Kids Club offering areas for crafts, video games and outdoor adventures, to ensure a memorable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing