We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service! nice pool and right on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #54 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, great service! nice pool and right on the beach!”
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I had a lovely time at the Loews! The hotel was very clean, large and elegant. The pool was large and clean and only steps away from the beach!
It was nice that you could get right on the beach from the pool area, the beach area was great too.
Location is perfect, right in the heart of south beach near lincoln rd, shopping, restaurants, night life and the beach.
The service was great too, I would definetly stay here again.
The rooms were nice and clean, great ocean view from balcony.
No free internet service thou. Not much to complain about this hotel. its gorgeous!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torontogirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,464
    1,896
    742
    286
    311
See reviews for
2,077
1,821
145
1,125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cound
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We booked this hotel with a little intrepidation given some of the negative comments re the refurbishment. We checked twice that this would not be a problem and it wasn't. From the moment we arrived at reception until we left we found the service and staff excellent. The room was very good with a nice view of the ocean and the standard of cleanliness was also excellent. The pool although very good lost the sun throughout the day and so we decided to go on the beach. A bit more expensive but worth it. Some of the attention to detail including the pool and beach service were good. The location, which we knew, was in a prime spot for Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. Service charge is an issue as even buying a drink at the bar incurred 18% service charge. There did not appear to be an optiion to reduce or withdraw this! We had some minor issues, e.g problems with the safe but the response of the hotel was very good but communication could have been improved.The main issue with Loews is that it is a Conference Hotel which experience shows can be disruptive. It hardly impacted on our holiday at all. We are already looking to book our holiday next year to Miami and almost certainly will book The Loews

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

I just looked and saw that we never wrote a review of this hotel. We stayed here in March 2009, and we loved everything about it. The place was not cheap, but when we considered everything afterwards, we can't wait to go back!

The beach along the stretch at Loews was as nice as most Caribbean beaches. We had been to Caymans and Truck Bay, and it's hard to compare them. After recently going to Antigua, and having been to Jamaica, Miami Beach is every bit as nice, if not nicer, and we never knew that until we went.

The great think about sitting on the beach at Leows is that the waiters from the pool bar come out and take your orders, and they rush your drinks right out to you while you relax on the beautiful beach. It's better than the all-inclusive resort we just stayed at where you can drink for free, but you can get your own. As we said, you pay for everything - the chairs, the umbrella, and the drinks of course, but when it was all said and done, we enjoyed every bit of it, and it was worth every penny!

The breakfast buffet was fantastic - all the fresh fruit you could want, as well as anything else you can imagine, fresh made omelets, etc. The pool was terrific, but it was hard to find a chair there for sure. That''s OK though because the beach experience is fantastic. The beach is beautiful. The water is beautiful. The women are amazing, so it's a great place to sightsee. My wife and I will certainly go back here again....hopefully soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuffTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Stayed in a balcony room facing the beach, it was nice but not especially plush or spacious. Horrendous noise from construction - even with earplugs it was hard getting a nap. Not just noise, crashing and the sound of heavy things being dropped - this must have been demo work not just construction. This is a nice looking facility in a fantastic location, the staff are nice enough, but I don't think it would be worth the price even with the construction discount (and without the construction). Was impressed with the coffee maker in room though - made very good quality coffee & this is something usually not offered in more expensive hotels. Also the snacks in the mini bar were good quality.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tink360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

I stayed here when I was in Miami for a conference. The hotel itself is beautiful and my room was huge (and smelled amazing!). I had a view of the ocean and the sunsets were beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kukiimnzta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I stayed at the Loews for a getaway weekend in early January. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room itself was adequate and probably hit the mark for the price. I had the city-view suite, which offered a king-sized bed, small open sitting area, and nicely furnished bathroom. The room was clean, but it seems that the details were skimped - the mini-bar lock was broken, there were almost no hooks to put towels on and there was only one trash receptacle in the bathroom. Also, I left my towel on the one towel rack to re-use but it was taken; however, a replacement towel was not left behind. The hotel was reasonably quiet, a plus considering that many places on Ocean and Collins are often very noisy late into the night. There was construction going on but we barely noticed it.
The location is excellent, with a semi-private entrance to the beach and just a block south of Lincoln. Unfortunately, it was cold when we went but the outdoor pool is heated so it was still usable. Despite the cold (and numerous hotel patrons wandering about aimlessly given the poor weather), the hotel still charged for gym usage, offering no accommodation for the weather.
Overall, I'd say the hotel was fine but not worth the price. Clean, modern and functional, but I left feeling somewhat nickel-and-dime'd.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eternalchafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed at the Loews Hotel as part of a convention. It's a plush, upscale place in the heart of the art-deco sSuth Beach area. The physical facilities are outstanding. Public areas are beautiful, both inside and out. The service by staff was superb in every instance. We tried two of the restaurants - Prestons was informal and a good value, with decent food. Emeril's did not live up to the hype: it was mediocre at best, with confusing seasonings and bland food. Our room was large and well appointed. We had a terrific view of the city and ocean from our balcony. But - and this is the reason this hotel does not deserve five stars - it was poorly insulated for sound. We could hear everything in adjacent rooms and the hallways. Others have mentioned the nickel-and-dime approach to "extras: Water for $8.50, parking for $35, internet for $16.95. Classy hotels should not do this, given the high prices they charge.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,132 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,575 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,565 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach’s vibrant Art Deco District, the renowned Loews Miami Beach Hotel recently completed a spectacular $50 million renovation, resulting in a vibrant new lobby experience; 790 transformed luxury guestrooms; an enhanced, oceanfront pool deck with direct beach access; SOAK Cabanas & Daybeds with new adult-only cabanas; enhancements to exhale South Beach spa and more. Four new restaurants and lounges include Preston’s Market, Miami Joe Coffee Co., Bar Collins and Nautilus, in addition to the award-wining Lure Fishbar - all offering an authentic taste of the destination via Flavor Miami. A curated food and beverage journey, Flavor Miami brings together Miami’s culinary greats, integrating their offerings throughout the on-property experience. Whether in-room, poolside or dining al fresco, guests can sip and bite their way through the city’s unique neighborhoods and culture. An inspired canvas for meetings and events, Loews Miami Beach Hotel has 65,000 square feet of beautifully redesigned function space, accommodating groups of 10 to 2,700 guests. Additional amenities include a fitness center; premium shopping at Splash and Splish retail boutiques; and a new state-of-the-art Kids Club offering areas for crafts, video games and outdoor adventures, to ensure a memorable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing