We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Trying to be luxury, not cutting it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #63 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trying to be luxury, not cutting it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I just returned from a week here with my 7 year old son. Average room, standard pool, they overcharge for EVERYTHING (even checking email in the business center) and the "free" WIFI is abysmal. I guess the way I would put it is, we had a great time, primarily because the location is great and everything is extremely convenient, but for the money I wasn't wowed. The pool is neither enormous or particularly beautiful or interesting. The rooms aren't either and the balcony we got had a "partial" ocean view and a primary view of building tops. The overnight garage fee is so outrageous we parked in a public garage half a block away for half the price. The food and cocktails at the pool are well below average but hugely expensive - we went off property every day after the first day. Hotel staff is either very friendly and attentive or completely checked out (never coming back to have us sign bills or not coming by to wait on us after sitting in the hotel lounge for twenty minutes). No middle ground. Amenities in the room are minimal - no free water, skimpy with the shampoos and other stuff. As a frequent traveler who often stays in luxury hotels, I think the Loews is missing the mark. So all in all, we had a nice stay, but I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Pamela R,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience to our hotel. Everyday we strive to deliver better service and it is your feedback that allows us to improve. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. I can assure your that your experience is not a usual occurrence and we will be sure to work on the areas that need attention. I will make sure to address the appropriate departments about the different issues that you encountered. We hope to welcome you back so that you can experience true Loews hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,946
    1,691
    632
    241
    262
See reviews for
1,750
1,584
123
951
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westhampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We go once a year, and are never disappointed. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, the room service is excellent, we love the pool and the beach, and the new cabanas are great! And the food, wonderful sushi , and the best burger by the pool I ever had!

Room Tip: ask for a balcony , the view both Oceanside and cityside is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerren8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Kerren8,
We appreciate you sharing your recent stay with us and are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your overall experience. At Loews Miami you receive a four diamond AND MORE experience from the moment you arrive to the time you leave. We base our hotel values on providing guests with the utmost comfortable and welcoming experience possible. Have you signed up for our YouFirst membership you will be eligible to receive discounts and benefits for increased stays and loyalty to the hotel? Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here 4-5 times over the years. Usually quite satisfactory. During our current trip the hotel has been overrun with spring break tourists. The hotel seems ill equipped to deal with it. The rates are jacked up over the usual and the service has dropped off. They stuck us in another building away from the main hotel. The rooms are older and not as nice as the main hotel. Despite staying here several times I didn't even know this other "B" building existed. At $700 per night, it is a complete disappointment. I will provably stay here again. But I will not stay in the coach class accommodations. And I will try to avoid it during peak times.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Grant F,
On behalf of all the staff here at Loews Miami we want to thank you for staying with us and we are honored that you chose to spend your vacation with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is unfortunate that you found the hotel to be less than luxury and not matching up to the descriptions. We pride ourselves on having more than just an exceptional staff, which you mentioned. At Loews we work to truly go above and beyond to create a warm, welcoming, and satisfying experience, so we apologize that you feel your stay was any less than this. Your comments will be shared with our team in an effort to be more efficient. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon for a better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed for three nights during a business conference. The rooms weren't anything special, but the hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants and attractions, and had beach access. My only complaint was that my shower curtain was noticeably moldy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emdash87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear emdash87,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience to our hotel. Everyday we strive to deliver better service and it is your feedback that allows us to improve. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you encountered. I can assure your that your experience with moldy shower curtains is not a usual occurrence at Loews Miami Beach, we value all of our customers and their business. Please accept our apologies. However, despite a minor hiccup, we are elated to know that you had a pleasurable experience. Thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

why on earth would any one give this hotel any positive review,horrible service ,outdated, overpriced,and nasty customer service.
nasty decor, nasty carpets, and smelly rooms and on top it when paid more money to upgrade got not nothing but same crap,this hotel should go out of business, even in room dining is garbage 35 dollar for a nasty burger that mcdonalds would have made a better burger.
I called manager to complain about the room and she flat out told me i can't do anything for you we are sold out just deal with it.
There are many hotel better in south beach for half the price ,just avoid this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank docfoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear docfoos,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience to our hotel. Everyday we strive to deliver better service and it is your feedback that allows us to improve. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you encountered. I can assure your that your experience is not a usual occurrence at Loews Miami Beach, we value all of our customers and their business. Please accept our apologies, if you wish to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact my office at 305-604-5452 or email my assistant at aamaya@loewshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hotel itself was fine.

Every day that we stayed there, housekeeping would come to clean around 5 or 6pm. That's pretty late in my book, but it wasn't a big deal. One day I was heading out around 4ish and while I was getting ready I took some jewelry out and set it on my unmade bed. I never put the jewelery back. At any rate I left and when I came back my bed was made and my jewelery was gone. I filed a report with security and they NEVER got back to me.

Finally, I followed up with a manager, who informed me of the next steps with the insurance company.

Long story short, I never got any reimbursement for jewelery that was irreplaceable.

Aside from the stolen/missing jewelery my main gripe was that the hotel was unorganized (no reason housekeeping should come at 5pm), and unresponsive to a theft. I just felt like they didn't care at all, which was jarring to say the least.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Danielle C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience to our hotel. Everyday we strive to deliver better service and it is your feedback that allows us to improve. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you encountered. I can assure your that your experience is not a usual occurrence at Loews Miami Beach, we value all of our customers and their business. Please accept our apologies, if you wish to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact my office at 305-604-5452 or email my assistant at aamaya@loewshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is my first review ever on TripAdvisor and I'd like to give credit to the excellent service at the hotel. One of the best service staff I've experienced in the US, with the exception of the bellboys (they are not too bad but simply are not at the same level as other staff). Unbeatable location pm South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aspiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear aspiria,
We thank you for joining us recently and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is valuable to us and we couldn't be happier that you found everything from our pricing, staff, hotel amenities, grounds and service to be exceptional. Our guests are our number one priority, and we hope that your great experience will bring you back again. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to experience true Loews hospitality. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Cancelon, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing