We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #52 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is by no means great!
Its too big and inpersonal.
Rooms at the St Moritz tower are very small and old.
Its a great location though...
Car parking costs 40 dollars a day!!
Service is average! Not even close to great... Pool is very crowded...A mess!
Be careful with the "great" reviews...
Jgufcyxugc
Jgvguvuf
Guvf
Ihbguv

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pedro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Pedro O,
On behalf of all the staff here at Loews Miami we want to thank you for staying with us and we are honored that you chose to spend your vacation with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is unfortunate that you found the hotel to be less than luxury and not matching up to the descriptions. We pride ourselves on having more than just an exceptional staff, which you mentioned. At Loews we work to truly go above and beyond to create a warm, welcoming, and satisfying experience, so we apologize that you feel your stay was any less than this. Your comments will be shared with our team in an effort to be more efficient. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon for a better experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,951 - 2,957 of 6,877 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I spent 1 night. Check in was directed by a guest who told us where the line was...the lobby is a disorganized mess ..as stated in previous reviews you can hear the guests in the next room. It is so tacky to charge for beach chairs yet not for pool ... Staff at pool taking food & drink orders uniforms were dirty stained .. Gross. Toiletries in bathroom are not 4-5 star standard ...not worth the money. Have stayed at the Loews in London ... Total opposite professional staff,clean pristine ...that's the Brits way ...sad representation of Loews at South Beach .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Becky L,
Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated. First, thank you for joining us during your recent trip to Miami. We appreciate any and all feedback which we receive from our guests, as it helps us to grow and expand on ways to better assist them in the future. You mentioned the pricing for the beach chairs - Loews Hotels has a partnership with Boucher Brothers which is the beach team that manages all of the huts, chairs and umbrellas as well as various watersports and activities all up and down South Beach. Boucher Brothers offers Loews guests a discount on their activities and rentals because of our great partnership with them. If you are a Loews guest, and you mention this to them when you are at the beach, 2 chairs and an umbrella will cost you $35. Thank you again for your review. We hope to have another chance to delight you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Having been to Miami several times, we have always stayed in the Ritz Carlton next door without question. However due to sensationally high prices there we looked for an alternate.
The Loews is a beautiful, vibrant and welcoming hotel, we stayed on an top floor suite with breathtaking views of the downtown Miami and of the beach. This view must be rivalled by only a few multimillion dollar apartments a very few hotel rooms.
The room itself was great with free wifi, and a huge balcony. Breakfast was great (albeit expensive) with at the great touch of a juice bar and an in-house 'Starbucks' coffee shop.

The pool is very lively and the beach side food is great albeit the service is very slow. Overall an excellent place and when we return will now have to think considerable to which hotel to go to! The gym is a little small in terms of the weight zone.
The bar in the evening is great and the Lure restaurant is fantastic.
Thank you Loews.


Concerns: — outside the front, the lack of being able to get a taxi quickly. The shear mess of cars! make it one way!
- The lack of a club level! why?
- the 2 beds per person policy? when there were 4 of us in our party
- taking away our 21st birthday balloons as a 'security risk'! seriously!!!

Room Tip: make sure you are on the rooms that overlook to the south and are high. the north side is blocked by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisDerbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear ChrisMcCartin,
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to join us to celebrate! We pride ourselves on offering state-of-the-art amenities, quality service and highly trained and guest service focused team members. Your recent stay exemplifies the true Loews hospitality, and we are so glad that you were able to experience the best that we have to offer. We look forward to hosting you many more times. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel was centrally located and very nice. All the staff was extremely helpful. The evan spritz at the pool, chocolate covered pretzels and cinimin bun snacks passed out during the day was another nice touch.
Unfortunately we had a city room view booked on Expedia on the 9 floor and we could hear the music vibrations from the club across the street. It was not a problem as we live in NYC and noise is something we always live with but if that might bother you request a ocean or pool view but be mindful the pool is opened 24 hours a day.

Plenty of chairs, umbrellas and towels poolside.
Beach also has plenty of chairs towels and umbrellas but the beach at south beach is public although the hotels have their private area .. You must pay daily for chairs and umbrellas ( chairs $13 per day umbrella $17 per day).
As you would expect at any resort food is expensive. Lunch on the beach for 2 people which consisted of a salad, a sandwich water and a diet come $72.
Suggestion go to Walgreens on the corner you can buy water fruit etc to keep cost down if that's a concern.
Spa was lovely we did massages everyone was happy.
Ate at Lure food and service was excellent.
Took an Everglades tour.. ( The one recommended by the hotel) It was fun as you rode on a air boat but did not see much wildlife and spent a lot of time getting to and from the place. Rent a car for a few hours and drive yourself its easy drive. Car rental in hotel and hotel has a free service they will drive you around south beach in a fiat. We never used it as we found out about it on our last day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear nytravels,
Thank you for taking a moment from your day to write a review of our hotel and share your recent experience with us.

Your feedback is appreciated as we constantly work to find ways to engage and delight our guests. You seem to have had an incredible experience throughout your stay, which we are happy to hear. You were able to try many of our amenities within the hotel, as well as branch out and visit some of the local areas and hotspots in South Beach. From fine dining and ice cream shops, to boutique shopping, a luxury spa and more, Loews Miami Beach has everything you need and you don't even have to leave the hotel! We hope that you will come back and join us again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We are a same sex couple who travel regularly around the world and this hotel was a disappointing. Staff are friendly, food is over priced and average quality. We paid over $500 per night for a room with no balcony and the free wifi barely works, unless you pay the extra $19.99 per day. The pool is very small for a massive two story hotel and be prepared to pay $20 per chair on the beach if you want to escape the hotel pool area. I was completely disgusted by the hotels lack of effort to recycle pool side cups - all cups are thrown away. We are switching hotels for our last few nights- hopefully The Betsy will be that much betted.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear 2014AndrewW13,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience to our hotel. Everyday we strive to deliver better service and it is your feedback that allows us to improve. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you encountered. I can assure your that your experience is not a usual occurrence at Loews Miami Beach, we value all of our customers and their business. Please accept our apologies, if you wish to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact my office at 305-604-5452 or email my assistant at aamaya@loewshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have stayed at Loews many times on business. Last year we spent Spring break at a Loews property. The Miami location did not disappoint. The pool is very large and has many extra chairs in two sunbathing areas. The gated pool area adjoins the boardwalk so the ocean is a short walk down a path. Restaurants are great. They go have a fresh Sushi bar that offers all you can eat rolls for $26 dollars. The only drawback is all food and beverage has an automatic 20% gratuity included.

I think this story sums up why I have no qualms about bringing my family to this resort. I had a ziplock bag with my ID and a large amount of cash in my pocket. I had taken kids to lunch and went right out to the pool. When I got to my room to clean up for dinner, I couldn't find it. I reported it to security and then realized that it may have fallen out in the pool when I was playing with the kids. I called pool area manager and mentioned it as well.

That night security called and said my ID was turned in. To my surprise when I went to pick it up they also gave me an envelope of wet cash. All the money was there. I really thought there was no chance the money would be recovered. Kudos to the staff and the honest guests who frequent the Loews Miami.

Room Tip: We have a family of 5 so we liked the Terrace suites. Ours had balcony with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2014AndrewW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear 2014AndrewW13,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is much appreciated and we couldn't be happier that you found everything from our staff, hotel amenities and service to be exceptional. Our guests are our number one priority, and we hope that your great experience will bring you back again. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to having you with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I completely agree with the earlier review by virgoBoston about there being nothing special for kids. We had the same experience where the front desk/concierge knew nothing about the lending closet for kids. All the pool seats were taken by 9 as well as the paid chairs on the beach, unless you wanted to sit way back. Having traveled in the past for work and staying in chain hotels in cities over and over again, I can say that this hotel is your basic chain hotel in a city that just happens to be on a beach. I was hoping for a resort feel and felt more like I was working again. Do not pay for the ocean view, because you have to go out on your very tiny cement balcony to see the ocean (which is shared with your neighbors), the view is mostly of the large hotel next door. Having said that, if you are going to MIami Beach with kids and want to be in this area, this is the only place I would recommend. This is a very busy area with many young single people looking for a good time and can be a bit difficult with a family. Having seen it, I probably would not stay in South Beach again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraC47588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear BarbaraC47588,
Thank you for your recent trip to the Loews Miami Beach hotel. We appreciate your feedback of the hotel , its close proximity to all that South Beach has to offer, our staff and the general warmth and quality service that is standard at the Loews. We feel our employees best represent what it is we offer at our hotel, that is a four-diamond and MORE attitude towards exceeding guest expectations. As far as our kids programs, we hope you were able to enjoy our SoBe Kids Camp located in the St. Moritz tower. Our team is dedicated to ensuring that both the parents and children enjoy everything our luxury resort has to offer. While mom and dad are relaxing at the spa or lounging by the pool, our team entertains and educates little ones with fun and interactive games and activities. If you didn't get to try it this time, we hope to have you back so you can experience the joy of SoBe Kids Camp! We thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,616 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,641 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#45 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $294 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach’s vibrant Art Deco District, the renowned Loews Miami Beach Hotel recently completed a spectacular $50 million renovation, resulting in a vibrant new lobby experience; 790 transformed luxury guestrooms; an enhanced, oceanfront pool deck with direct beach access; SOAK Cabanas & Daybeds with new adult-only cabanas; enhancements to exhale South Beach spa and more. Four new restaurants and lounges include Preston’s Market, Miami Joe Coffee Co., Bar Collins and Nautilus, in addition to the award-wining Lure Fishbar - all offering an authentic taste of the destination via Flavor Miami. A curated food and beverage journey, Flavor Miami brings together Miami’s culinary greats, integrating their offerings throughout the on-property experience. Whether in-room, poolside or dining al fresco, guests can sip and bite their way through the city’s unique neighborhoods and culture. An inspired canvas for meetings and events, Loews Miami Beach Hotel has 65,000 square feet of beautifully redesigned function space, accommodating groups of 10 to 2,700 guests. Additional amenities include a fitness center; premium shopping at Splash and Splish retail boutiques; and a new state-of-the-art Kids Club offering areas for crafts, video games and outdoor adventures, to ensure a memorable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing