We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four star hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #48 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over Art Basel weekend and paid $620 a night even though was supposed to get 50% off room for 2 night stay. Arrived at hotel and had to interrupt 4 valets who were too busy talking to come help with luggage and park the car ($42 a night!). Front desk personnel pleasant although did not give any info about hotel and amenities. Bellman (Junior) was great and even filled our ice bucket.
Our room had partial ocean view with no balcony and view of other high rise Sobe hotels blocking city view (outrageous considering price we paid for room). It was small and uninspired. Bathroom extremely small with no bathtub and a small shower whose badly tiled floor was sinking. Toiletries provided were not of 4 star hotel quality - can get better at a Holiday Inn. The room was clean and kept clean by housekeeping staff which is only good thing I can say about this cramped room. They forgot to give us new toiletries and soap though when our room was cleaned. Also pretty stingy with towels provided. Internet at $14.95 a night absurd when paying over $600 a night for a room. We had a bad experience with concierge "Danny" who was rude and snotty when we asked about Art Basel tickets. At every 4-5 star hotel I've ever been to the concierge goes out of his way to obtain tickets for the guests. But we were rudely told the hotel does not provide this service and we had to get the tickets ourselves. Considering this was Art Basel weekend I expected the hotel to try a little harder. What is the need for a concierge (there are three) who can't be bothered to help a guest obtain tickets to the show they are doubling their rates for? Danny was also asked to have a newspaper we ordered while reserving our room online delivered but he forgot and I had to ask front desk 3 times over two hour period to get the paper delivered. Didn't eat breakfast because was told there would be a 30 minute wait eventhough saw empty tables.
Pool looked nice although did not have chance to use it. Front desk Doris was helpful in getting us newspaper we had ordered although I had to insist on getting one when she tried to tell me after I waited 2 hours for the paper that they were sold out. When checking out however had to wait while the 3 receptionists were busy talking to each other and only stopped when I put our key cards on counter and told then I didn't have time to wait until they finished their personal conversation.
We definitely will not stay at this hotel again. For what we paid the Ritz Carlton has nicer rooms and better service and amenities for same price.
And please kill the frigid airconditioning in the halls - it was unpleasant walking to our room and in the lobby.
I gave this hotel a three stars because that's all Loew's Miami Beach deserves. There are nicer hotels for the price in SoBe

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank niso2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear niso2007,
I am terrible sorry to hear that your experience was less than what you expected.Our goal is to exceed guest expectations in all areas, and in your situation we clearly failed to do that. Please be assured that the appropriate managers have been met with to ensure that your experience is not repeated. If you wish to provide us with further feedback about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact my office at 305-604-5452 or my assistant at aamaya@loewshotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,342 - 3,348 of 7,149 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

If it's growling Harley's, screaming Yamaha's, fierce Ferrari's, blaring horns, and all night sirens you're after, then look no further than the Loews Miami Beach. The all night street partiers outside your window are merely a low key, minor nuisance compared to the major decibel contenders.

This hotel is pre sound proof doors and windows, and even from the 18th floor you'll feel like you're sleeping on the street, right down there with the real SoBe's.

After a sleepless night it might not bother you that the maids start slamming doors and enjoying a hearty laugh at 8am on the dot; after all, you were lying in your bed awake anyway. The bedroom doors at this Loews don't close, they SLAM, and the sound reverberates up and down the hallways seemingly without stop.

The beach side of the hotel is pretty, and the pool area is potentially pleasant, but it's so jammed up with chairs and people that it's tough to enjoy.

The food is typical hotel fare, but you might be so tired from your sleepless nights that you won't have the energy to go anywhere else to eat.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ofteninlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear asiandude,
I am terrible sorry to hear that your experience was less than what you expected.Our goal is to exceed guest expectations in all areas, and in your situation we clearly failed to do that. Please be assured that the appropriate managers have been met with to ensure that your experience is not repeated. If you wish to provide us with further feedback about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact my office at 305-604-5452 or my assistant at aamaya@loewshotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The location and setup of this hotel is amazing. RIGHT on the beach, with direct access. 24-hour pool. Lounge with live bands. Attached spa. VERY prompt and courteous service. Rooms with wonderful views. Location walkable to Lincoln and other locations. However, you'll pay for every part of this.

Not saying that's a bad thing - you do get what you pay for (Except for the gym part; $10 for a rather lousy gym in the spa was the only thing that would detract from staying here again..)

The minibar prices are obscene as expected, drink prices even for beer downstairs are through the roof. Surprisingly, mixed drinks were about average.

Other than the cost, it was exemplary and I'd go there again in a second.

Room Tip: Use the check-in upgrade option vs buying an upgraded room at check-in. It's more cost effective...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tcp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Tcp102,
We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to grow and ensure that each guest arrives welcomed and leaves satisfied. From your review it sounds like you received nothing short of excellent care and service during your stay. In regards to the extra charges you mentioned, our hotel does not charge a resort fee like many other hotels in and around Miami Beach. We like to provide our guests with options so they are not charged for additional amenities they are not planning to use. We pride ourselves on providing competitive rates and various options instead of assuming all guests want the same thing out of their stay. Personalization is key at Loews Miami Beach. Also, we hope you have taken advantage of our YouFirst Membership where you can participate in receiving extra benefits - like free Wi-Fi, fitness center access, room upgrades, food and beverage credits and more - to your reservation simply for staying 2 or more times per year; and the best part is it's FREE! Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

"You get what you pay for" is the perfect phrase for this hotel. The level of service is absolutely wonderful, from the bartenders, to the person who brings you room service. The salt water pool is open 24 hours a day, and you can swim on the beach at 1am in the moon light. The rooms are spacious, and the bathrooms are modern, sleek, and surprisingly roomy. The hotel has a beautiful atmosphere.

This all said, you will be paying over 20 dollars for a hamburger (This is at the bar, if you get it through room service . A can of Corona (no glass by the pool) and a 8oz Pina Colada came to over 20 bucks by the pool. Even the ice cream shop is expensive.

It is South Beach, nothing is cheap. The Loews is no exception. If you have the means, go for it.. you will not be sorry. If you are budgeting your trip, this might not be the place for you to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reclusivevixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear reclusivevixi,
We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to grow and ensure that each guest arrives welcomed and leaves satisfied. From your review it sounds like you received nothing short of excellent care and service during your stay. Our staff truly is exceptional and they are dedicated to ensuring each guest feels comfortable and engaged throughout their time with us. You also mentioned you were already planning your trip for next year. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourself so much. We love our guests and try to reward their loyalty as best we can by providing a complimentary program which provides guests with points and benefits each time they return. This program is called YouFirst. If you haven't already, sign up to begin enjoying benefits at your next stay! Your feedback is important to us so we thank you again for sharing and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My friends and I were in South Beach for Thanksgiving week and decided to give the Loews a try. It's a beautiful hotel with a very friendly staff; the concierges were especially helpful. The rooms were big enough. What we found lacking was the feeling you were in the Art Deco South Beach area. We have stayed at the Delano, Mondrian, and The Betsy before and they were more to our liking. Don't get me wrong, the Loews is great and in a great location. But its a big chain hotel amongst a bunch of cool boutique hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CasaPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear CasaPete,
Thank you for your recent trip to the Loews Miami Beach hotel. We appreciate your feedback of the hotel and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, its close proximity to all that South Beach has to offer, our staff and the general warmth and quality service that is standard at the Loews. We feel our employees best represent what it is we offer at our hotel, that is a four-diamond and MORE attitude towards exceeding guest expectations. Thank you again for your feedback and for sharing your experience with us, we hope to welcome you and your friends back sometime soon so we can work to delight you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Hotel was one of the cleanest hotels we have been to. Great location. The beds were very comfortable and the room size was perfect. The service was very friendly and attentive. For being such a big hotel, there are several elevators and we never had to wait a long time for an elevator. It is a very family friendly place meaning there are a lot of kids running around, not a place for singles and those wanting a party scene. Not a lot of chairs for everyone around the pool. You need to wake up early to get a chair around the pool. We ended up going to the beach everyday and you have to pay for each chair.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 272GeorgeM272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear George M,
What a great review! Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. You mentioned that you found our hotel to be an ideal location, and you are right. Loews is in the heart of South Beach minutes to the American Airlines Arena, Adrienne Arsht Center, steps from Lincoln Road shopping and restaurants, various museums, Ocean Drive and other landmarks and attractions that make South Beach the gem it is. We just recently updated the bedding in all of the rooms and changed our mattresses and boxsprings as well, so it is nice to hear they are comfortable and satisfactory. Your feedback is important to us so we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is by far the best place to stay on the beach! It is in the middle of everything and has one of the best pool areas on the beach. We have been coming to SOBE for the last 11 years(had to talk my wife into it the first time, she was instantly hooked!) We have tried many "4" star hotels on the beach and found that in SOBE there are many definitions of 4 star! The Loewes has been home for the last 5 and will continue to be. The staff is polite, rooms are clean and unlike many others on the beach you can't hear your neighbor chewing their gum through the wall!

Room Tip: Stay in the tower if available, it is the newest and is much easier that the adjacent St. Moritz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chitownfinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Chitownfinfan,
What a great review! Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. You mentioned that you found our hotel to be an ideal location, and you are right. Loews is in the heart of South Beach minutes to the American Airlines Arena, Adrienne Arsht Center, steps from Lincoln Road shopping and restaurants, various museums, Ocean Drive and other landmarks and attractions that make South Beach the gem it is. We love our guests and try to reward their loyalty as best we can by providing a complimentary program which provides guests with points and benefits each time they return. This program is called YouFirst. If you haven't already, sign up on our website to begin enjoying benefits at your next stay! Your feedback is important to us so we thank you again for your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,730 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#29 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,736 reviews
SLS South Beach
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,265 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $372 - $755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach’s vibrant Art Deco District, the renowned Loews Miami Beach Hotel recently completed a spectacular $50 million renovation, resulting in a vibrant new lobby experience; 790 transformed luxury guestrooms; an enhanced, oceanfront pool deck with direct beach access; SOAK Cabanas & Daybeds with new adult-only cabanas; enhancements to exhale South Beach spa and more. Four new restaurants and lounges include Preston’s Market, Miami Joe Coffee Co., Bar Collins and Nautilus, in addition to the award-wining Lure Fishbar - all offering an authentic taste of the destination via Flavor Miami. A curated food and beverage journey, Flavor Miami brings together Miami’s culinary greats, integrating their offerings throughout the on-property experience. Whether in-room, poolside or dining al fresco, guests can sip and bite their way through the city’s unique neighborhoods and culture. An inspired canvas for meetings and events, Loews Miami Beach Hotel has 65,000 square feet of beautifully redesigned function space, accommodating groups of 10 to 2,700 guests. Additional amenities include a fitness center; premium shopping at Splash and Splish retail boutiques; and a new state-of-the-art Kids Club offering areas for crafts, video games and outdoor adventures, to ensure a memorable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing