We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really nice, but you pay for it.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #68 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really nice, but you pay for it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overall I will say that my stay at the Loews Miami Beach was awesome, but it does come with a price. If you're looking to stay at one of the nicest and most centrally located hotels in all of SoBe, then this place is for you. The service was very good and the staff was mostly very friendly. You can walk to almost any place and you certainly feel like you're in the middle of all that SoBe has to offer. The beach out in front of the hotel is like a giant bath at low tide...you can walk out about one hundred yards and the water is still only knee-deep. However, if you're thinking about getting a spot at the pool, you better get there VERY early because there are not many spaces. You'll have more luck getting past the bouncers at the most exclusive nightclubs than you will getting a chair by the pool.
Loews is definitely a place that you don't have to leave to have fun...there's plenty to do and see there. However, if you're coming to Miami to see the sights and be out and about all day and night, then you may want to consider a less expensive hotel that is just as nice, just maybe not quite so exclusive. I would definitely stay at the Loews again, but only for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the tower...the rooms are just as nice and the balconies are nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Mat S,
Thank you for your review of The Loews Miami Beach Hotel. We are elated to know that you had an enjoyable stay.You mentioned that "it does come with a price" here at the Loews we are continuously reviewing our prices to ensure that we are competitive with other hotels of our caliber in and around Miami Beach. Our concierge does a fantastic job of customizing vacation itineraries to make sure that you are 100% comfortable and fully enjoying your time at our hotel and in Miami Beach as well. We thank you for your review and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,991
    1,723
    645
    248
    274
See reviews for
1,797
1,603
126
970
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (861)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ok, there is a lot to recommend about this hotel. It is beautiful, the service was great and the food excellent. However, there were a couple things that significantly marred our experience. We chose the hotel for the beach access and because it advertised a fitness center on premises. Since these amenities were advertised with many others we were very surprised to find that there were additional charges for beach chairs and use of the gym. We felt this was very cheesy for a place so well rated and for the amount we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbrichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear mbrichter,
Thank you for your review of The Loews Miami Beach Hotel. In regards to your comments about the prices to attain beach chairs and an umbrella or wifi and gym access, while other hotels may have a mandatory resort fee which includes these features, here at Loews we pride ourselves in providing our guests with options. We don't believe in charging guests for services they do not plan to use, thus if a guest wants to use the wifi there is a fee for that, instead of assuming they are going to use it and charging them for it regardless.

If you are interested, you may take advantage of our complimentary YouFirst membership program which rewards guests for their loyalty to the hotel. If you haven't signed up as of yet, be sure to do so that way you can receive benefits such as complimentary upgrades, internet and gym access on your 2nd stay, and more! We thank you again for your feedback and look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the Loews Miami Beach hotel with my girlfriends. The hotel staff was very accommodating to our needs and requests and the property is gorgeous. I would definitely pick this hotel to vacation with family but might pick a hotel with a different vibe for another adults only getaway. During the week the poolside bar closed at 5 or 6 pm and it would have been nice to have outdoor music and bar access later on in the evening since the pool is open 24 hours a day. The hotel is right across from Lincoln road so walking to bars, restaurants and shops was easy enough. All in all you can't go wrong staying at this property.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rc246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear rc246,
Thank you for your review of The Loews Miami Beach Hotel. We take pride in having such a dedicated, strong and caring team and we are elated to know that you experienced just that. Our poolside bar stays open until 9:30pm on Fridays and saturdays and we also have our Hemisphere lounge in the lobby which stays open until 1am. We hope you were able to experience that. Indeed our location allows easy access to lincoln road and other gems on the beach. We are glad to hear that you had an ejoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at his hotel in August and had mixed feelings towards the hotel. Let's start with the good. The room was a good standard and in line with other hotels of this level. The room was spacious and we had a nice view from the balcony. We have no complaints about the level of noise at night and the comfy beds ensured we got a good nights sleep. The maids always cleaned the room to a good standard also.

The hotel is in a good location for south beach which is one of the main reasons we selected it for our holiday.

The staff in the hotel were polite and courteous and we didn't have any problems that the staff couldn't sort out.

Now the not so good, the pool. It was far too small for the size of the hotel and if you didn't get there by 9 am you struggle to get a chair. The staff at the pool seemed to have a different attitude to the ones in the hotel and unless you were ordering drinks from them they seemed very uninterested. There was regularly food and drinks rubbish left by the staff for hours which is not what I would expect at a hotel of this level.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank The Keeps D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear The Keeps D,
Thank you for your review of The Loews Miami Beach Hotel. We take pride in having such a dedicated, strong and caring team and we are dissapointed to hear that the service provided to you by the pool was not parallel nor representative of what Loews stands for. We will make sure to address and we can assure you that this is not a common issue at our Hotel. We take pride in having a staff that engages in every guests experience and works to personalize and create a warm and welcome environment during their stay. On another note, it seems that you had an enoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back soon, so that we can show you true pool-side Loews hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for a girls weekend over Labor Day. We reserved a partial ocean view room with two double beds. Room was pretty small, however it was spotless and the bathroom was quite large. The beds were heavenly. Housekeeping was prompt. The food (pricey) but above average. At check in, we were several hours early, and they immediately had a room ready. Every staff person we encountered here was a complete pleasure. We rented a day bed in the new SOAK area. It was the icing on the cake. The beds were in a private area and it was so nice and quiet. The beds were oversized and very comfortable. The service was 2nd to none! ANYTHING you mentioned was taken care of. Our host made our dinner reservations, brought us buckets of ice to stay cool, sun tan lotion, after sun care, IPad to review restaurant menus and on and on. We had the privilege of having Dana. Dana is so wonderful. We did NOT want to leave. I also heard wonderful things about Jenny. I find it VERY hard to believe that someone said 1 negative thing about Dana (she is the one with dark hair) She gushed so many times about LOVING her job and was just out of this world. And lastly, the pool was great, but it was of course COVERED in loud children. I REALLY with Loews would consider a "quiet pool" as well. Nothing huge, just somewhere for the adults to cool off without being hit in the head with a ball or splashed so much. Regardless, I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gagirlinpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear gagirlinpc,
We are thrilled to hear you had an outstanding time during your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding your SOAK Day Bed experience. We opened SOAK in July 2012 after a $2.1 Million dollar construction and pride ourselves on having the only two-story, exclusive, ocean-front, private cabana and day bed experience in Miami Beach. Our cabanas and day beds have recieved excellent responses so far from the vast majority of guests and outstanding press coverage as well. Not only do our cabanas offer the ultimate in relaxation, but they also serve as a mutli-purpose venue that can be used for business events, weddings, private parties and more. We are even more thrilled to hear about the experience with your room view. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the breathtaking ocean views from the comfort of your private balcony. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Hotel is very family friendly. Very nice spacious rooms. The pool is in front of the beach. Wi-fi is free in the lobby, but U$20.00/day in rooms. Staff very friendly and always willing to help. There's a Starbucks in the lobby for breakfast and quick snacks, but the breakfast buffet is excellent and worth a try.
We got a side view room, that gave us a wonderful view of the beach, almost like a front view room!
Received many Amazon.com packages, that were delivered promptly to our room (at no charge).
The place is very safe to walk around, and the Hotel is almost in front of Lincoln Rd.
Also the Beach Boardwalk can be reached just by the pool area.
Would be very happy to stay at Loews Miami Beach Hotel Again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear GCCR,
We are thrilled to hear you had an outstanding time during your recent visit to our hotel. We are indeed a family friendly hotel, we do believe that families should vacation together and explore new places as a unit. It warms our heart to know that you were able to enjoy our location with your family. You mentioned the Wi-Fi cost being expensive. Furthermore, at Loews we pride ourselves in giving guests options, this is why we do not charge a resort fee like that of many other hotels in and around South Beach. We believe that guests who don't want to use the internet, gym, spa or other amenities, should not be charged for it, and the same goes for those who would like to use it. Either way, it is an option that way our guests don't feel that they have all these added and unnecessary fees rolled into their rate. Overall, it sounds like you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to hosting you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The expectation was that this was a nice hotel and in a good location. This was true on both accounts, the staff was nice and the rooms were clean, so I've got nothing to complain about. The location was great too, it was just off the main drag, but everything is very walkable. I will say though that while our room was ready at the 3pm check-in time, some other folks we were with had to wait. It would seem to me that the expectation of a 11am checkout time if you're room isn't ready at 3pm should be relaxed a bit. This wasn't the case and if you wanted a later checkout they would have had to pay a half day rate for the room to checkout at 2pm. Poor form in my opinion, but with that being said, everything else was quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WolffieCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear WolffieCO,
We are thrilled to hear you had an outstanding time during your recent visit to our hotel. Treating guests like family is part of the Loews genuine hospitality. That being said, I am happy to hear you were able to be accommodated and checked-in early on the day of arrival. This is not always a possibility due to our generally high occupancies, however when it is an option we always go above and beyond to make sure our guests are satisfied. Unfortunately, it seems that the other guests who you were with were not able to check-in early, we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We do offer guests the option of enjoying poolside drinks and misting in cases of early arrival that we cannot accomodate. However, it does sound like overall you had an enjoyable experience. We look forward to hosting you again soon and thank you for your feedback and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#34 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#7 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#18 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#8 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing