We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth A Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #63 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Fantastic hotel, right on a lovely section of South Beach. Rooms have beautiful view. Hotel immaculate. All Staff very friendly. Food and drink in hotel very reasonably priced and of excellent quality. Anna, waitress in Hemisphere Bar a delight. Practically runs the place on her own. Pedro in Prestons Restaurant a star. Most attentive, a 1st class waiter. Pool area spotless, only downside to whole experience was the Valet Parking. Totally ambushed upon arrival. Almost forced into paying for Valet parking. Only after threatening to find another hotel to stay were we told about Car Park over the road from hotel where you can self park for $16 dollars for 24 hours compared to $40 dollars valet parking. Big difference when you're staying there for more than 1 night. Were then made to 3 point turn when there were cars/taxis everywhere, and later found out you can just drive right through....... NOT a good 1st impression of the hotel. Thankfully this was the only bad point, so wouldn't hold it against them but spoke to other guest who also experienced the same, nasty 'welcome'. They really need to address this problem!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on a higher floor, much better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allsonrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Allsonrobb,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel. It is feedback like yours that provides us with the drive to continue to work on exceeding expectations. We pride ourselves on having the best team in South Beach, Anna and Pedro are a prime example of that! Our team is dedicated to providing an AND MORE experience and exceeding expectations, and it sounds like you have been witness to this. We will be sure to pass on the positive feedback to Anna and Pedro and their supervisor for a job well done. As far as receiving a "nasty 'welcome' we assure you that this is not the norm. Also, in regards to valet, it is the primary option for our guests, as there is limited parking in Miami in general, however, there is a parking garage across the street with self-parking which is an alternative. Either way, our guests are provided with options that will best suit their needs and abilities.We invite you to join us again soon and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,203
    1,814
    704
    266
    298
See reviews for
1,923
1,707
140
1,054
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

6th time in south beach over past 5 to 6 years. Have stayed at Delano w kids, Gansevoort w kids, W hotel without kids x 2, Loews without kids. Chose Loews this time w kids due to location and more kid friendly. Not expecting W hotel. Currently on a 6 day stay. I never post but travel 5-7 times a year on leisure and business.
Check in: easy. Nice clerk. Nothing special but friendly.
Room: partial ocean view balcony two beds average size for SOBE. Clean
Pool: average cleanliness. Chairs average. Setup assistance is fair. Lots of kids. Not allowed to reserve chairs unless pay.
Lunch: expensive but tasty. Usual. Good portion.
Crowd, decidedly middle class European. Not the most friendly atmosphere. Chairs are very close to each other. Smoker next to me without a care for surrounding children anc pregnant women. I am from a culture of smokers but this is not cool. Guy just flicked ash on me.
Room turnover: at check in they put us in for complementary pm turndown. But comically we had no am cleaning. Room turned over at 8 pm while we're dinner.
Location: great.
Will post update if anything changes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustMyOpinons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear JustMyOpinons,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel. It is feedback like yours that provides us with the drive to continue to work on exceeding expectations.The standards that our hotel has set in place is to ensure the highest quality of service is provided to our guests include that of speedy, yet efficient delivery of luggage, food, housekeeping services among other things. While we may have failed to execute this during your recent stay with us, we assure you that this is not the norm. We invite you to join us again soon and ask that you allow us to show you the true Loews hospitality.We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I recently stayed at this property after a two week trip on the Oasis of the Seas cruise. I found this property to be amazing, great service, across the beach and close to many restaurants, bars and activities.

This hotel is in a great location with warm and welcoming staff from the time you walk through the doors to the end of you stay. The staff will always be willing to assist and ensure your stay with Loews was up to standards. Check in went smooth with no issues. Walking up to the room, I noticed it was a little different to what I expected but still a good room with comfortable beds, beautiful views of Miami South Beach City. The room had the usual facilities except for a fridge which was expected as I read this on the website before booking the hotel.

The pool and outdoor area was fantastic! There is a gate from the pool area to the public beach of Miami. You always need to have your hotel card with you at all times as the hotel security ask to see it randomly for security which I liked a lot. You also need to swipe your card at the gate to get between the beach area and pool on the property.

Overall, this hotel was a fabulous, exceeded many expectation and was an excellent choice.

I definitely would not think twice to stay at this hotel or any other Loews properties within the United States.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Jamiet290,
We are so happy to hear about your terrific experience at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, The safety and security of our guests is one of our priorities, we want to make sure that our guests are always safe, so that they can take full advantage of their getaway with a peaceful mind. You mentioned that you found our hotel to be an ideal location, and you are right. Loews is in the heart of South Beach minutes to the American Airlines Arena, Adrienne Arsht Center, steps from Lincoln Road shopping and restaurants, various museums, Ocean Drive and other landmarks and attractions that make South Beach the gem it is.
Our local flair and energetic staff bring the spirit of Miami into each guest experience and they truly work to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. It sounds like you had a "Five Star Experience" and our team took great care of you. We thank you again for your review and for joining us, and hope there will be many more visits to come in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Miami and decided on the Loews. What a very good choice.

The experience was positive from arrival. Prompt check in, amazing room (2712) with excellent facilities - well equipped bathroom. Rooms were cleaned and maintained very well. Beds were extremely comfortable. Only downside was that you had to pay to for wifi in the room. This is easily overcome using the free facility at the poolside or reception - which most people do.

The pool is very good with lots of beds and brollies. Beds are complimentary with an efficient pool service providing towels, repositioning brollies if required. The poolside drinks/food service is very good as well.
Every hour they provide a complimentary refreshment which ranged from coconut water, fruit skewers, cool towels etc.

Then there is the gym ... Oh my .... This is the one area that many hotels can disappoint. Not at the Loews - their gym is fantastic. Part of the Elemis spa complex. It costs $10 per day which is well worth it. It is well equipped with cardio equipment, weight machines and free weights. Headphones, towels, water are all provided. Then the change rooms have goodi sized lockers, showers are well equipped with Elemis shower gel, shampoo, conditioner. Then there are supplies at the hand brain, of disposable razors, shaving cream, mouthwash etc.... All adding to the positive experience. There is a wonderful steam room, jacuzzi and calming room..... VERY IMPRESSED.

Concierge service is very good.

Did not have breakfast so I cannot comment on this aspect.

The location is ideal. Direct access to the beach. Five minutes to Ocean drive, Collins and Lincoln with their abundance of shopping and restaurants.

This was my first visit to Miami and the Loews contributed greatly to the positive experience. I will definitely return.

One of my favourite hotels ......

Room Tip: We stayed in Tower 2 so had no sea view. The rooms are extremely comfortable though. Do not be put o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear SafferB,
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay to our hotel. We are thrilled that we were able to provide you with a WOW experience during your recent stay at the Loews Miami Beach! Specially, as a first timer to South Beach and to the Loews Hotel. You mentioned the Wi-Fi cost being expensive. At Loews we pride ourselves in giving guests options, this is why we do not charge a resort fee like that of many other hotels in and around South Beach. We believe that guests who don't want to use the internet, gym, spa or other amenities, should not be charged for it, and the same goes for those who would like to use it. Either way, it is an option that way our guests don't feel that they have all these added and unnecessary fees rolled into their rate.
On behalf of all the staff here at Loews Miami we want to thank you for staying with us and we are honored that you chose to spend your vacation with us, we cannot wait to have you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first time in South Beach, and our first time staying in a Lowes property. The Lowes was well appointed and very clean. Both buildings were nice, but if you want beautiful views of the ocean, request a room in the newer building. Not all rooms have balconies, so if you want one, you should make the request when you make your reservation. Considering the location, the cost was reasonable. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. Every request was met with a positive attitude, and a willingness to please the customer. We had wonderful service from the Concierge and Registration staff in particular.

If you are looking for reasonably priced food and libations you will have to do so outside of the hotel. Everything was very pricey. ($18 for a Frozen Mango Daiquiri - this included tax and tip, which is automatically added to your bill.)

If you like sitting by the pool, plan to get to the pool by 9am to reserve a lounge chair. The pool and deck area are clean, attractive, and well kept, but too small for the number of guests who use the area.

The only other concern we had was the lack of recycling in the hotel. There is only one recycling bin on every floor, which we accidentally found in the room where the ice machine is housed. We also found two poorly marked recycling bins by the pool. There is excessive use of plastic cups, and a lack of places to recycle them.

Overall, our experience at the Lowes was very positive, and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCMDforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear OCMDforever,
We appreciate your review of the hotel and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, its close proximity to all that South Beach has to offer, our staff and the general warmth and quality service that is standard at the Loews. We feel our employees best represent what it is we offer at our hotel, that is a four-diamond and MORE attitude towards exceeding guest expectations.

Our Hotel fully embraces our responsibility as an environmental steward and believes in developing sustainable practices as a leader in the industry. We apprciate the suggestion as far as recycling bins and educating our guests on the importance of recycling. We will defenitely look into develeping a way to improve that. We are happy to hear that you and your family had a great experience at our Hotel. Thank you for your feedback! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband had a conference at this hotel over the course of 4 days, so we decided to make a family vacation out of it and stay a full week at this hotel with our 6-month-old son. I had read on TripAdvisor that this is a good hotel for families with babies and kids, and I'd definitely agree. I saw lots of families with young babies and kids, and it felt like a comfortable environment for us where we didn't have to stress or feel awkward if our son fussed a little, or if we had to cart the stroller around, etc. The pool does turn into sort of a madhouse, what with all the children, but that's okay - its vacation :) I'm not entirely sure why my husband's professional association chose to have its conference at this facility what with all the kids around, but it worked for us! I will also say that personally, back in my child-free days, I definitely would not have wanted to stay here for a "party weekend" or anything b/c again, there are lots and lots of children all over the place. Be advised!

The hotel itself is clean, elegant, and well-appointed. It is a nice space just to walk around in - from the lobby area with its aquarium and fresh floral arrangements, to the art deco-themed halls. We had an oceanview suite (the lowest category of balcony suites) on the 23rd floor, and thought it was very comfortable, clean and spacious for our needs. We had requested a crib for our son, and a nice wooden crib with good quality linens was provided, along with a baby bath amenity kit - thoughtful touch. To be honest, the bathroom wasn't the most convenient for a small baby - there was a large glass-enclosed shower stall, which while elegant and nice for adult use, is very difficult for bathing babies! We managed though. The website said that one could request a baby bathtub, which I tried to do via email the week before arrival, but was informed they no longer provide them. Anyway - we enjoyed use of the room, balcony, the pool area and beach. I used the fitness center a few times, and visited the spa. Everything was in great shape, no worries.

But I have to call attention to the service from some of the staff that we received over the week. While everyone was polite, I have to say there were several staff mistakes made during our stay. Right at arrival, we were checked in and made our way up to the 23rd floor, and just as we were about to enter our room, the concierge staffperson was running down the hall right behind us calling out for us to hold on - she had given us the wrong room and keys. There were several similar mix-ups with the front desk staff and the fitness center/spa front desk people where we got the sense they weren't fully prepared or paying attention to our questions everytime we interacted with them - they'd say or do something, then moments later have to find us and rectify things. I expected a little more competence for the money we were paying. I still have to call the hotel to get them to refund me for a few small charges on my account that I specifically attempted to rectify in person with them, but they were so slow and incompetent at the front desk that it was making me run late for my return flight home - so I decided to leave and attend to it via phone later. Frustrating. Be advised - check your receipts, and also when you are asking or requesting services at this hotel, make sure the staff really understands and takes action on your requests right away, in front of you, so there aren't mix-ups later.

Not all the staff were bumbling and clueless, however - I have to give credit to the housekeeping, room service, and pool area staffpeople for their professionalism and efficiency. They did great work and were courteous and kind about any special requests we had, especially with the baby.

The hotel is located well within walking distance of a lot of good restaurants and eateries. There is also a Hertz rental car desk in the hotel lobby (convenient) - and we did rent a car on our final day in Miami.


Other reviewers have commented on the fact that things are expensive at this hotel, and that's definitely true. Let's start with the room rates. Honestly, they're expensive - but, probably par for the course among big resort hotels in Miami. That part I guess should be taken in stride. But the little extras at this hotel cost a lot, and sometimes that's the more annoying thing for guests :) I think my husband payed over $10 for 2 scoops of ice cream at the little ice cream shop in the lobby. I payed an inane $7 for a cup of hot tea there (but I was desperate and needed caffeine :) There are lots of drugstores and other shops in the area where one can stock up on beverages and snacks - - our room had a minibar fridge, but it's the type where you can remove/replace the provided items to make room for your own stuff.

Overall, if I were traveling to Miami again with a child, I'd definitely stay here. I'd just keep my eyes open about staff mistakes, and be prepared to be patient with them.

Room Tip: the balcony suites sure do provide a great view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolaJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear nolaJP,
That you are sharing your recent experience with us. We are constantly looking for new ways to engage and delight our guests, and it is through feedback like yours that we are able to do this.

While your husband was here primarily on business, we are glad to know that in the few days you extended after that you had a moment to enjoy all that Loews and South Beach have to offer.At Loews we work to truly go above and beyond to create a warm, welcoming, and satisfying experience. Your comments will be shared with our team in an effort to be more efficient. We pride ourselves in having some of the best team members around here at Loews Miami Beach, and we apologize that you did not experience that consistently. Your feedback has been passed along the different outlets and departments to ensure smoother processes and service in the future. We are glad to hear that despite a few minor hiccups, you had an enjoyable trip. We would like to thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

What a great experience... We just came from a horrible experience at the Greenview Hotel and Lowes was completely booked. We cancelled our reservation at the old hotel and Chakia at the front desk worked with us to help us find a room. She singlehandedly turned our vacation around.

The rest of the facilities here were very good and it had a Vegas on South Beach feel to it. The best part was definitely the guest service though. I can't say enough... Come visit this hotel and experience it for yourself

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuidoBandido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear GuidoBandido,
Thank you for your very generous review of the Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Our team is exceptional and highly-trained with the guest in mind, so it does not come as a surprise to me when you mention how polite and nice they were. It is feedback like yours that provides us with the drive to keep giving our guests the best quality service and attention possible, while looking for new ways to delight and enhance their experience. We are pleased to know that we played a role in turning your horrible experience into the wonderful vacation that you deserve. We look forward to hosting you and your family again and wish you good days ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing