We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Needs Additional Security”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #51 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Loews Miami Beach. Very nice-looking property and rooms, great location near South Beach.

The property could use additional security, however. For a hotel in a city environment (with a visible homeless/transient population nearby), I found the overnight staffing to be very thin.

The hotel consists of two towers. The main tower has 24-hour staffing by the elevators. However, the smaller tower (the St. Moritz tower) had a lobby with multiple entrances (including directly from the street) which did not seem to be staffed whenever I walked by. Likewise, there was no key card security or any other security feature on the elevators.

When I left the hotel at 5:30am, there was no bellhop at the main lobby entrance to manage the taxi line, and two of the taxi drivers waiting in the hotel's driveway got into a fistfight over which taxi was at the front of the line. No hotel staff came to intervene or help with the situation despite that it was happening in the hotel's driveway.

Nice hotel - but they need to increase security/staffing given the city environment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear 77Man,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid and valuable feedback. Nothing is more important to us than the safety and security of our guests. We take great pride in the efforts of our Secuirty team and also successfully partner with local law enforcement agencies to achieve this goal. I have shared your comments with our Security Director and have discussed your experience with our team. I regreted to learn that your experience was less than perfect and we did not consistently provide exceptional service levels for your stay. Rest assured that we continue to strive to improve and be more reliable and consistent with our service delivery to prevent future such guest feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,598 - 3,604 of 6,954 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Lowes Miami Beach is situated in the best possible spot-a few steps south and your on famous Ocean Drive-a few steps north, and your on Lincoln Road, which has great restaurants and high end boutiques. The hotel is great for families looking for a safe fun environment, for couples looking to share quality time or even for singles just looking to relax and be pampered. Whatever the situation the staff will be there to cater to your every need. Service is outstanding-something I require on all my vacations. From the time you arrive until the time you leave, a very pleasant staff of people are there to assist and comfort you. The entire hotel just recently went through an entire makeover and it seems like brand new. The rooms are spacious and I recommend the ocean front grand one bedroom with a king bed. The views from the balcony are spectacular. The hotel just recently built cabanas around the pool called SOAK. If you can spare the money, get one for the day or your entire stay-they are awesome and you will be treated like royalty. I just recently went with my family and will be going back next month. Each time I go the experience gets better and better. If you go several times a year, they give you VIP status and you get your very own coordinator that will respond to your every need. Whether your just on vacation or having a wedding the Loews is the place to be. ENJOY

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pdcommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Pdcommander,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about our hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our prime location and our world class service. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the perfect location and a great beach. Service is good and price is very fair for South Beach. The pool does get very crowded and the drinks are not as strong as they need to be for the price. They do come around with fun snacks and hotel staff is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bcoss24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear bcoss24,

Thank you for the fair and honest feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed with Loews from the moment I pulled up. I was greeted kindly and efficiently in front and allowed to check in an hour early by a very kind front desk person. I had read about all the added charges but I was admittedly shocked to find a $25 charge would be added just to use a refrigerator. The luggage guy politely recommended filling the sink with ice if I wanted to chill anything. I had long looked forward to perhaps indulging in room service but it was about $11.00 just to have a small orange juice delivered so I bought out. The hotel breakfast offered with taxes and tip was right around $40 I believe per person which was a bit much for me. The room was spotless and the view of the city wonderful. The pool was truly impressive with a very helpful staff and is deeper than a usual hotel pool which was a joy being tall. The hotel food was a bit expensive for me although the food quality I did enjoy at poolside and see served elsewhere was quite superb. There was a nice restaurant very close to the hotel with $3 dollar Budweiser's and very reasonable food. Checkout was polite and beyond expectations. First I was kindly allowed to stay late. Secondly I could not get my boarding pass printed. Igor at the Concierge desk patiently worked it out for me when the airline did not show I had a ticket! I was panicked but Igor took all the time necessary and after a time on hold got me my boarding pass then stunned me by refusing a ten dollar tip. He said he was happy to help and glad to see me not worry. That's why I'm giving 5 stars, this hotel charges a lot but it also delivers excellent quality. If you can afford it and want a great place with excellent food, service, and a spectacular pool, this is your spot! Thanks Loews!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savannah111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for the warm feedback. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us, and hope that we will be seeing you again soon. Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have now stayed at this Loews hotel in South beach several times. It is by far my absolute FAVORITE!!! I have stayed at many hotels in the South Beach area and this one is my favorite. It is absolutely gorgeous, has very good rates and is just steps from the beach (literally)!

The pool area is amazing and the food at the restaurant is to die for. Seriously! :)

The staff is soooo accommodating and definately helped us out when we arrived in November and didn't like the original room that we were given. They then went out of their way to upgrade us (for free) to an Ocean View room that we just loved. Not to mention, they sent up a really nice plate of cheese and crackers for our inconvenience!

The spa at Loews was fantastic too!! The cost was only $10 for guests!!! You could soak in the hot bath, steam in one of the steam rooms and there was also a very tranquil low-lit room that you could de-compress in that had tranquil music playing and provided free water (with limes and lemons), bananas and crunchy apples and biscotti biscuits. We ended up going to the spa every day and I am still dreaming about it!

A MUST STAY HOTEL FOR SURE!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has an ocean view and no other hotels located right outside of your window! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracidhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear tracidhb,

Thank you for taking the time to share your glowing comments from your recent stay with us. We are truly grateful for your high praise of exceptional service and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Location is perfect. We attended the Food Network annual festival just feet away. Lots of kids at Loews compared to others I've stayed at nearby. Emeril visited his resteraunt there! Star studded hotel and event. Rooms were large with nice views. Package upgrade was promsied but sold out and unavailable. Pool service wqas excellent.

Room Tip: if its sold out you will not get the romised upgrade. go for the ocean view even if it is smaller th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Judi D,

Thank you for your feedback. The South Beach Wine and Food Festival is one of the most fun times of the year. We're glad you had the opportunity to join us for this special event. We appreciate you comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This timewe stay at Loews.Wonderful place to be in south beach.Staying there we don't need a car.We can do everything by walking.
Beautiful hotel amazing rooms and very good spa with a complete gym room.
Breakfast buffet very complete but a little expensive.
Staff very helpful .
Beds very confortable .
Beautiful view at our 18 floor room.
Pool is not warm a little cold but we are in Miami ...always sunny and hot.

Room Tip: Ocean view at a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAIOMEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear CAIOMEN,

We apprecaite your comments and will share them with the team. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,198 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,667 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#14 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#15 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,641 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $344 - $802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach’s vibrant Art Deco District, the renowned Loews Miami Beach Hotel recently completed a spectacular $50 million renovation, resulting in a vibrant new lobby experience; 790 transformed luxury guestrooms; an enhanced, oceanfront pool deck with direct beach access; SOAK Cabanas & Daybeds with new adult-only cabanas; enhancements to exhale South Beach spa and more. Four new restaurants and lounges include Preston’s Market, Miami Joe Coffee Co., Bar Collins and Nautilus, in addition to the award-wining Lure Fishbar - all offering an authentic taste of the destination via Flavor Miami. A curated food and beverage journey, Flavor Miami brings together Miami’s culinary greats, integrating their offerings throughout the on-property experience. Whether in-room, poolside or dining al fresco, guests can sip and bite their way through the city’s unique neighborhoods and culture. An inspired canvas for meetings and events, Loews Miami Beach Hotel has 65,000 square feet of beautifully redesigned function space, accommodating groups of 10 to 2,700 guests. Additional amenities include a fitness center; premium shopping at Splash and Splish retail boutiques; and a new state-of-the-art Kids Club offering areas for crafts, video games and outdoor adventures, to ensure a memorable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing