We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #63 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I travelled here back in March '12, with my two brothers. One of whom is disabled. We picked the States to holiday in as it is just so much more accesible than Europe. So, I went and picked a large hotel on the beach promenade that would mean easy access for us.

This is a typicalyl large transient american chain hotel. It is so large that you don't get any chance to make a connection with staff, but they did seem friendly enough.

The rooms were large, we had a connecting room. The "adapted" room wasnt very adapted. There were certainlyy grab rails in the bathroom, but the main bedroom was the same as mine. Useless for a wheelchair user. Furniture in the way etc... Some people in wheelchairs do not have upper body co-ordination, therefore need grabrails to aid getting in and out of bed etc.. I cannot for the life of me understand how hotels, on every level, fail to see this.

Anyway, the hotel itself was completely accessible, however the pool area is very small and got very busy, so trying to access the poolside bar was a nightmare sometimes as people had to get up and move!!!

Food wasn't great at all, and everything was absolutely overpriced, but then I guess you are staying on some of the most expensive real estate in the world!!! What do you expect?

I would not revisit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear ali832,

We appreciate your feedback and are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We as a hotel do all that we can to ensure our guests feel comfortable and have everything they need to get around easily and freely, even those guests with accessibility restrictions. Your experience means everything to us, so we are disappointed to hear that you did not feel that all of your desires were met, and thus you won't be returning to our hotel. We sincerely hope you will reconsider this and give us another chance to better assist you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,272
    1,838
    715
    273
    302
See reviews for
1,952
1,741
142
1,084
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in the Loews over a long weekend in October 2012. There we supposed to be 4 going on the trip, so we had booked a suite. However, last minute, 2 couldnt go, & the hotel was extremely helpful in switching our reservation from a suite to a single room with a king bed & ocean view. Also, it was my boyfriends birthday that weekend, which we mentioned while checking in and they sent us up wine, fruit & other snacks along with a card wishing him a happy birthday! The hotel is gorgeous both inside & out. The pool was fantastic, however we did have trouble finding chairs a few times. We rented a lounge on the beach one day which was great. The little bar in the hotel lobby was good for drinks & late night food. We ate at the poolside bar every day for lunch & while a little pricey (with tip already included), you got a TON of food & it was very good. The location of this hotel I would say is the best in Miami (Ive stayed both North & South of this location). It is a short walk to the restaurants on Collins Ave & to Lincoln Road which has great shopping & places to eat. We walked to one of these places each night for dinner & you cant go wrong - there is a great mix up upscale & less expensive places on both. I will definitely be returning to the Loews!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear stephanie m,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us. We pride ourselves on offering top notch service and in having some of the best staff around South Beach. We are happy to hear that you were accommodated throughout your stay and that overall you enjoyed your time. Happy Belated Birthday to your boyfriend. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in Rotunda Suite early January 2013. We travel to South Beach 2-3 times per year, usually stay at Mondrian/Delano/Ritz. Decided to try Loews and regret it. Why?

- room not ready at check-in
- $46 for 2 beach chairs and umbrella (!!!!!)
- no wifi on beach (though Ritz and Royal Palms signals were present)
- forgotten food/drink orders at beach and pool on 3 separate occasions
- no turn-down service 3 of 4 nights
- unprofessional, unhelpful and generally unpleasant staff
- spent half a day at the beach having to listen to one of the managers berate her staff to "go out and get 'em to spend more money"
- constant lines at elevators and valet
- poor food quality (when/if it arrives)

Save your money. There are innumerable other decent hotel options. Avoid our mistake and take your business elsewhere. We surely won't be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are vastly superior, with the benefit of not having to be stuck at Loews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank travelMDtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear travelMDtoronto,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. While it sounds like you had an unpleasant time during your stay at our hotel, I would like to encourage you to reach out to me so we can discuss this further. Our hotel devotes much energy and time into scouting, hiring and training our employees to be the best service individuals in the industry. We believe in our team, and know they are highly dedicated individuals. Your unfortunate experience with the forgotten food/drink at the beach has been expressed to the team, and I will ensure that this process is streamlined to be more efficient for all parties involved, as you know the team members have to run from the kitchen to the beach and back. While we do have many loyal, repeat guests, we are disappointed to hear that you will not be joining us again. However, we do appreciate your feedback and thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

An hotel where you have to avoid to go
This hotel is expensive and has not the capability to welcome their client with the level of quality that we can have in this kind of hotel
We have been very disappointed because client is not in the priority in this hotel
Rooms are noisy with old refrigerator with noise appearing each hour for several minutes day and night. We have asking to solve this issue, first answer was we will come soon to change the cooling machine but we never saw somebody to make the operation. After we have asking a second time and the answer if you don’t use the refrigerator the best solution is to switch off. We did and we haven’t any refrigerator during our stay.
Second issue is the swimming pools where the lack of location and the lack of seat do not allow welcoming all clients. To be sure to have a seat we have to be installed at 8H30.After no seat and you have to go on the beach where you have to pay more than 40$ to have a seat.
And to completeted this issue when they deposit on your seat a paper saying if you are not came back in one hour they will give your seat to other clients!
You have also to note that in December you have shadow on the swimming pool and the seat at 2H30 PM
Even if you get a seat on the swimming pools the people at the entry say please stay no more than one hour because of the other invite!! Incredible
Note also that the gratuity is 20% without any choice for the clients. If you want you can add additional gratuity as is now usual in Miami.
Internet connexion is not good and expensive 10 US the day and mobile phone connexion is often also difficult with a lot of difficulties in the room in the front of the sea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear ROMBAS,

I'm sorry to hear that your visit in early January was not as calm and relaxing as you had hoped. Our guests are in fact of the utmost high importance to us, so your feedback is saddening for us. While this tends to be a busy leisure period at all resorts, we strive to ensure that our service levels don't suffer during peak holiday weeks. We recently purchased new pool furniture for our pool and restaurant to better accomodate our guests, and the addition of our SOAK cabanas has created another sophisticated poolside venue for our guests to have another option for seating and relaxing. We hope you will join us again and give Loews another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife, 6 and 10 year old stayed at the Loews Hotel in Miami South Beach Dec 14, 2012 for two nights and we all had a great time. We selected this hotel for a pre cruise stay. There were plenty of other options available to us but we decided that the convenience of this hotel to Lincoln Road was worth a try and I am so glad we made this choice. This beautiful hotel is perfectly located on Collins Ave and is 30 yards south of popular Lincoln Road. For those who are interested and want to compare it to the Ritz Carlton, the Ritz is located right at the intersection. The ride between the airport and hotel is approximately 20-25 minutes and should cost no more than $35.00 US. Go with a yellow cab, because these cabs are registered by law and you won’t need to bargain and get hassled by those selling you a flat rate ride that is usually more expensive. For those cruising, the ride between Loews and the port is approximately 15-20 minutes as well.

The drive up to the main entrance was impressive and we were immediately greeted at the door when our cab pulled into the circular driveway and was assisted with our luggage as we checked in. Smiles, opened doors and pleasant greetings welcomed us at every turn and with every staff encounter. While checking in, we upgraded our room to a partial ocean view with a balcony for an additional $25.00/night and was able to go immediately to our room at 1:00PM. The gentleman at the check-in desk was very professional and courteous. The marbled lobby and main floor of this hotel is very chic and clean. There is a restaurant, sushi bar, alcohol bar area and lounge (with live music in the evening), dessert parlour that serves ice cream, candies and cookies and a small boutique store located on the main floor.

We were escorted to our 4th floor room facing southeast and we were impressed. Again, the chic modern style is carried throughout the halls and in the rooms as well - no popcorn ceilings or walls. The hotel looks as advertised - posh but not over the top. The room itself is not very large but sufficient nonetheless. Everything was very clean and well made with 2 comfortable double beds (wished they were queens) as requested, crisp white linens and decorated fabric headboards. There was a nice size flat screen TV, stocked mini bar and also a desk. The huge bathroom that you enter through a sliding frosted glass door had a nice spa like feel to it. The large glassed-in shower was great. Free wifi is available on the ground floor and pool area but we had no time to use it nor did we have any intention of doing so on this vacation, therefore I can’t comment on the speed. You can order wifi for approx $14.00/day.

My family and I love pool and ocean water. There is a beautiful bricked pathway that is flanked by towering palm trees that takes you to the beach level pool and is located on the south side of the building. The pool and grounds are reserved for guests only so it is gated and guarded. You will have to present your room key to enter the grounds at all times. The only uncomfortable thing for me is that if you want to use the pool, you have to come down the main elevator to the lobby floor (lol - for those who are uncomfortable with this public display, take your hotel robe or towel with you). I am not sure if there is another way to get to the pool. The heated pool is beautiful with its curved features and waterfall/fountain and is a good size. It’s also available for use 24 hours. The water depth is great for both young and old with its deepest point at just over 6’. For those who have kids, you can rent water toys and floating devices while you are there. Fresh clean towels and lounge covers are available by the pool and there were plenty of umbrellas and lounge chairs available during the time we were there. You can order drinks and meals on the deck of the pool at the bar or by requesting it from the roaming servers who were always polite and smiling. Keep in mind that everything is a little pricey here, but if the chicken fingers with fresh cut fries is any indication, you won’t be disappointed by the presentation, preparation and taste of the food. It was delicious. There is always live music during the day by the pool and on the Friday night that we were there, they had what was a called a “Drive In” (large screen projected movie) by the pool. There are two good size hot tubs available for use. The one located at the back of the pool behind the water feature can be used at anytime while the other hot tub is reserved for spa/cabana guests but can be used by anyone after 6:00PM.

On Saturday night, there were some huge fireworks set-off at the back of the hotel that was quite lengthy and nice. I am not sure whether they were arranged by the hotel or not because I was on my way to the Walgreens for some snacks for the kids. I wish I knew about it before hand because I would have taken the family to the pool area to watch.

The beach is separated from the hotel by a boardwalk and is actually closer than it appeared from the view that we had from our balcony. Keep in mind that the lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach are managed by a private company, so bring your wallet or room card with you. A regular lounge chair rents for $12.00/day while fancy covered cabanas costs $110.00/day (you can bargain a little with them). Don’t make the mistake that we made. Test the water temperature before you rent one of these in case you change your mind or at the very least make sure you are staying because the weather can change quickly during this time of year. The ocean water in Dec can be a little nippy, even in Florida so the heated pool at Loews may end up being a little more attractive than you anticipated.

We decided to do a little snooping on our last day in case we ever return to Miami and took a tour of the Ritz Carlton. Even though the Ritz was recently renovated, it did not have the crisp clean new look of Loews. The Ritz had a more dated look and the clientele was a little older. The pool area was nowhere as nice a Loews either. I’ll stop here with my comments regarding the Ritz.

Things are pricey at Loews but I expected this from a hotel of this class. To expect otherwise is unrealistic. Besides, Lincoln Road is a fantastic 10 BLOCK strip with dozens and dozens of fabulous dining options (very reasonable prices) - why you would choose to eat and just stay at the hotel unless absolutely necessary is beyond me (you might as well go to an all inclusive resort). My wife and I are not avid shoppers but we enjoyed this popular strip very much, with its high end shops, countless outdoor coffee shops and restaurants. We have decided we will return for an extended stay and Loews will be at the top of our list. For those going to Miami and skipping past Lincoln Road, it’s a huge mistake. I could write a whole article on Lincoln Road in Miami alone, but we’ll leave that for another day.

Tips: Ask for an upgrade that might fit your budget on the day of arrival. See if you can get a room a little higher up so that you don’t hear the vibration from music from the bar/lounge. Lots to eat and drink on Lincoln Road.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade that might fit your budget on the day of arrival. See if you can get a room a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloudsurfer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsMiamiBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear cloudsurfer2,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Loews Miami Beach Hotel! What better way to escape chilly Toronto during the wintertime than to swap out your coat for swim trunks and lounge by the pool in the 80-degree Miami weather?

As you mentioned in your review, there are many other hotels to choose from in sunny South Beach, but we are pleased that you and your family decided to join us for your vacation. Even in your short stay with us, we are happy that we were able to impact your vacation so deeply and present you with insight into what Loews has to offer. Our primary objective is to create a positive stay and uniquely local experience for each of our guests, and we are glad that we were able to deliver on this.

Again, we appreciate you providing us with detailed feedback on your experiences during your stay at our hotel. It is feedback like yours that drives us to do better each and every day. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights (around christmas) in a luxury double room.. The staff was helpful and friendly - besides the one heavier lady in her 40's with black hair on the entrance to the breakfast buffet. Smiling or at least being formal 'nice' must be foreign words for her - especially after 3 days in a row. She must have won her hotel aducation in the lottery. Besides this: The area, the house itself, the location and especially the 'lower' staff (entrance staff) are all great. BUT: There was no (!) toilet brush in the bathroom. Yes, if you wanna know that clear: I used toilet paper and my hand when leaving brown 'traces' - this is more than a joke in a hotel like this! Or do they really wanna have me to call housekeeping at night - very sad. Then: I also found 3 longer black hair in the bathroom on 3 different spots - both of us are blond. THEN: At breakfast, at the buffet, the coffee they were giving us in a thermos flask was cold - no joke, cold. AND: The white coffee cup in the inside was brown all around. They apologized of course but you could tell that the buffet staff was partly very overtaxed - and the area was full by about 75% if even. Sounds like small things but in a so called 5* hotel, forget it - all this is just weak and a-never-to-return-reason.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tscherni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsMiamiBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Tscherni,

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experience with the Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Delivering exceptional service is our top priority and we would like to apologize if the service provided to you during any point in your stay was anything less than that.

In regards to finding hair in the bathroom that was not your own, our Housekeeping staff has been advised to better inspect each and every room more thoroughly so it is in perfect condition for each of our guests. We would also like to apologize for your encounter at the breakfast buffet. Rest assured that all coffee thermoses have been inspected to ensure that this does not happen again.

We are saddened to hear that your previous stay with us has affected your decision to join us again in the future. We would love it if you could give us the chance to change your perception of Loews, and would like to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great service, comfortable rooms: the only thing that can ruin a holiday more than a rainy day when you want to go to the beach: awful Wifi. At times, download speeds were virtually non-existent and the IT department refused to acknowledge a problem.

Room Tip: if you are travelling in a company of more than 2 people, make sure you ask for a room with more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsMiamiBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Hayley M,

Please accept our apology regarding the unsatisfactory Internet service and assistance you experienced during your recent stay with us. Service is our number one priority and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We would like to thank you for your feedback and inform you that the appropriate managers have been notified of your issues with the Wi-Fi connection and they will address the situation immediately.

We hope this experience does not tarnish your image of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,986 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,487 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,753 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach’s vibrant Art Deco District, the renowned Loews Miami Beach Hotel recently completed a spectacular $50 million renovation, resulting in a vibrant new lobby experience; 790 transformed luxury guestrooms; an enhanced, oceanfront pool deck with direct beach access; SOAK Cabanas & Daybeds with new adult-only cabanas; enhancements to exhale South Beach spa and more. Four new restaurants and lounges include Preston’s Market, Miami Joe Coffee Co., Bar Collins and Nautilus, in addition to the award-wining Lure Fishbar - all offering an authentic taste of the destination via Flavor Miami. A curated food and beverage journey, Flavor Miami brings together Miami’s culinary greats, integrating their offerings throughout the on-property experience. Whether in-room, poolside or dining al fresco, guests can sip and bite their way through the city’s unique neighborhoods and culture. An inspired canvas for meetings and events, Loews Miami Beach Hotel has 65,000 square feet of beautifully redesigned function space, accommodating groups of 10 to 2,700 guests. Additional amenities include a fitness center; premium shopping at Splash and Splish retail boutiques; and a new state-of-the-art Kids Club offering areas for crafts, video games and outdoor adventures, to ensure a memorable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing