We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful gym and relaxing pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful gym and relaxing pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Loews is where we stay during the craziness of Art Basel Miami. It feels a bit like a refuge because there is never a party at the pool, thank god, so it is a relaxing place to hang out. The gym is great and it looks out onto the pool area and beach beyond. They have a few classes and the women's dressing room has a steam room, hot tub and calming room. I have never had a massage or facial at the spa there, but I heard it is decent.
The music everywhere drives me a bit nuts, it is a little too mainstream rock and is even piped into the elevators in the main building and out of the bushes. The staff is friendly and professional. The rooms are a good size. I always end up having a drink with a friend or colleague at the porch on the side of the hotel, the service is efficient and fast. Maybe not the most romantic or elegant, but definitely a dependable spot in Miami.

Room Tip: If you like it calm and don't mind stairs, ask for the St. Moritz tower. Some rooms have balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,778
    1,578
    580
    207
    202
See reviews for
1,615
1,415
115
918
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san juan capistrano
Level Contributor
226 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I made reservations here for the recent Miami Basel Art Fair. Everything in South Beach was full. This is a large hotel in a convenient location in South Beach. The reception desk on check-in was efficient,but at check-out was undermanned and required extra time to check-out.
Our room on the 4th floor was spacious and had a city view with balcony,which we did not use due to the heat and sun. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom has a shower only. It was clean and functional. Towels were plentiful. The only real complaint was the ambient noise from the hallway,(doors slamming,voices easily heard outside,cleaning staff etc.),water noise from toilet & shower from room above,and the poorly functioning air conditioning,(it shuts-off when you leave the room,therefore it is hot in the room when you return).
The Sushi bar in the lobby area may have good food but was very small and unappealing and overpriced. The Preston Restaurant was more pleasant outside. The rotisserie chicken was good,but the tomato soup was not. Drinks were fine.
Overall a good stay as long as you do not equate price with what you receive in return.

Room Tip: Our room was near the elevator and was noisy. View of the city only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This well maintained hotel has it all. The location near Ocean Drive is near a lot of the fun restaurants without having to put up with party noise all night long. There is a gorgeous pool and nearby access to the beach. Security is attentive without being oppressive.

Room Tip: better value facing west-you can still see water without the extra expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e_borins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here on business the first time and found the hotel and resort to be simply excellent. My wife accompanied me for the secound time and i was able to enjoy South Beach and Miami so much more. This is a world class experience. The grounds and facilities are almost bey9und words. If you come to Miami and seek a fine extablishment, this is it. You will not be disappointed. Their restaurant is Emmeril's ......it's supurb.....drinks by the pool.....too much fun.....and you can walk on the beach in seconds.....

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Ocean. You can easily walk around South Beach from here to take in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a gorgeous hotel! And the staff here are amazing! Every single person who works here is so friendly and they go out of their way to do anything for you. Our room was very nice. We had a ocean view which I would highly recommend. Anything below that one isn't as nice. My only suggestion is for the rooms to all have a mini fridge. Only the highest price rooms have them or you can request one for $30 a night which is outrageous! All hotels have a mini fridge in the rooms, it's the standard. I would expect the same at loews and really suggest they change this. Especially since the room where the ice machine is smells like a dumpster, really badly! I almost threw up every single time I went to get ice.... I recommend you eat outside of the hotel for everything. It's extremely pricey for anything there. The pool is very nice. Very big pool and lots of chairs. Of course the beach is amazing! Loews has chairs, umbrellas, and cabanas you can rent. It's definitely worth it. We rented chairs every time and they are soooo comfortable! Worth the money. People walking around offering tanning oil, frozen fruits, and servers that you can order food from nautilius. Their food is amazing! Very expensive but taste so good. I recommend you request a room in the main tower and not the st mortiz. The st mortiz is the second building and it was not built with the original building but was an old hotel that loews but and remodeled.you can tell its older as its not as nice as the main tower. They tried to make it as nice but its not and the walls are very thin in the st mortiz. We were in the main tower and it was beautiful. You do have to pay for everything here, even wi fi and the gym. They ate $10 each per night and they have valet parking for $38 a day, take the walk and park your own car. The a garage on the corner of Collins and 13th and also 2 garages right across the street on 16th before you get to Washington ave. 2 of the garages are $20 a night and 1 is $16 a night. Definitely worth the small walk.

Room Tip: Main tower only, full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I just got back from a weekend stay at the Loews. Overall, it was a fine hotel with very little negatives. The rooms were clean and the beds and bedding comfortable. I wish I could say the sleep was perfect, but the walls seemed very thin to me, unless it was just a noisy group of people coming in at 5:30 am. The location is perfect because it's directly on the ocean, and next to Lincoln Road and Ocean Blvd. A car is not necessary. The one drawback is the pool area. It gets very crowded so you need to get there early to get chairs. There is a small section that gets sun all day, otherwise it's mostly shaded because of the towering hotels nearby. If you want sun, your best bet is down on the beach. You need to pay extra for chairs on the beach but apparently all of the hotels do that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was the second time this year that I've stayed at the Loews, and probably the fifth time overall. Each time, I leave feeling very refreshed and appreciative of the oasis the property provides in the sea of energy that is South Beach. The property is close enough to everything, and we walked wherever we wanted to go.

One thing that stands out for me at the Loews is the quality and quantity of staff! South Beach in general is not known for over the top service, but at this hotel there is a noticeable focus on customer service. Be it the attentive pool staff or the presence of staff in the lobby, you are never left without someone to assist with any questions or directions.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Luxury King, had partial oceanview with a balcony, great view!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMango22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,295 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,909 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
The Confidante
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing