We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class hotel and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #59 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“World class hotel and service!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a gorgeous hotel! And the staff here are amazing! Every single person who works here is so friendly and they go out of their way to do anything for you. Our room was very nice. We had a ocean view which I would highly recommend. Anything below that one isn't as nice. My only suggestion is for the rooms to all have a mini fridge. Only the highest price rooms have them or you can request one for $30 a night which is outrageous! All hotels have a mini fridge in the rooms, it's the standard. I would expect the same at loews and really suggest they change this. Especially since the room where the ice machine is smells like a dumpster, really badly! I almost threw up every single time I went to get ice.... I recommend you eat outside of the hotel for everything. It's extremely pricey for anything there. The pool is very nice. Very big pool and lots of chairs. Of course the beach is amazing! Loews has chairs, umbrellas, and cabanas you can rent. It's definitely worth it. We rented chairs every time and they are soooo comfortable! Worth the money. People walking around offering tanning oil, frozen fruits, and servers that you can order food from nautilius. Their food is amazing! Very expensive but taste so good. I recommend you request a room in the main tower and not the st mortiz. The st mortiz is the second building and it was not built with the original building but was an old hotel that loews but and remodeled.you can tell its older as its not as nice as the main tower. They tried to make it as nice but its not and the walls are very thin in the st mortiz. We were in the main tower and it was beautiful. You do have to pay for everything here, even wi fi and the gym. They ate $10 each per night and they have valet parking for $38 a day, take the walk and park your own car. The a garage on the corner of Collins and 13th and also 2 garages right across the street on 16th before you get to Washington ave. 2 of the garages are $20 a night and 1 is $16 a night. Definitely worth the small walk.

Room Tip: Main tower only, full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,376
    1,869
    732
    280
    306
See reviews for
2,025
1,783
145
1,105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I just got back from a weekend stay at the Loews. Overall, it was a fine hotel with very little negatives. The rooms were clean and the beds and bedding comfortable. I wish I could say the sleep was perfect, but the walls seemed very thin to me, unless it was just a noisy group of people coming in at 5:30 am. The location is perfect because it's directly on the ocean, and next to Lincoln Road and Ocean Blvd. A car is not necessary. The one drawback is the pool area. It gets very crowded so you need to get there early to get chairs. There is a small section that gets sun all day, otherwise it's mostly shaded because of the towering hotels nearby. If you want sun, your best bet is down on the beach. You need to pay extra for chairs on the beach but apparently all of the hotels do that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was the second time this year that I've stayed at the Loews, and probably the fifth time overall. Each time, I leave feeling very refreshed and appreciative of the oasis the property provides in the sea of energy that is South Beach. The property is close enough to everything, and we walked wherever we wanted to go.

One thing that stands out for me at the Loews is the quality and quantity of staff! South Beach in general is not known for over the top service, but at this hotel there is a noticeable focus on customer service. Be it the attentive pool staff or the presence of staff in the lobby, you are never left without someone to assist with any questions or directions.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Luxury King, had partial oceanview with a balcony, great view!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMango22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were originally booked in for 4 nights but checked out early because it was not in anyway relaxing being at this hotel.The main problem was the building work going on next door which we could hear whether we were in our room or by the pool.

The room itself was a good - nicely done with enough space to not feel cramped and it had a balcony albeit one that you could barely move on.

The pool on the other hand was a disappointment. The photos of it show the actual pool itself which is nice enough but what you don't see is that there are just rows and row of loungers with no space around them so you feel like you're in a battery farm. Really unpleasant and not somewhere to chill out. This was made worse by the staff who constantly kept coming round and asking if we wanted anything. I know some people wouldn't mind that as it would save them having to get up but honestly, one day we were asked 3 times in the space of an hour.

We considered going to the beach but when we heard it was about $50 for us to rent loungers, we soon changed our mind. Definitely not worth it.

The location is pretty good - on Collins which is just a few minutes from Ocean Drive. So, there are plenty of restaurants, bars & stores to chose from.

The hotel didn't offer free wi-fi which I thought was disgusting since 95% of Miami Beach has free outdoor wifi coverage and about 70% of the city has free indoor coverage up to the 2nd floor of a building. It's just an extra way to make money which didn't sit well with us.

Breakfast wasn't included but thankfully there's an Aroma Espresso Bar just outside which not only has great food but has free wifi.

I can't say the hotel was bad as such but it just wasn't our cup of tea and it's not a place we would want to revisit. It was just a huge glitzy hotel with no personality or charm.... and it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Perfectly acceptable resort, but nothing special and better value and service in other resorts nearby. As other reviewers say there is nothing wrong with this resort, but I left feeling underwhelmed again on my 2nd visit. When you compare you can get the Ritz Carlton next door for a similar price you begin to wonder how they get such high prices for a resort that delivers just about what you’d expect of a 4/5 star resort but doesn’t impress or over deliver in any way.

Rooms are nice enough with comfy beds and everything you’d expect. Facilities, again everything you’d expect – but not overwhelming. Everything just feels like they do ‘just enough’ but no more – unlike many hotels in South Beach / Miami Beach who really try hard to deliver in such a competitive area.

Service is again an area which is ‘just OK’. Everyone is friendly enough but no one seems to do anything more than they have to. Bell desk was appalling (and we had the same on first visit). 4 bellman literally watched us lift our heavy cases out of the car, in through the door and just when they didn’t have too far to go would offer to take it off us. I thought it was a one off but it happened on check in, and check out on 2 separate visits. Whilst waiting for a transfer on departure I had 10 minutes to watch them – and it seems they do exactly the same – watch people struggle then once the guest has done 90% of the work they swoop in to get the tip for the final 1 metre!

All in all a perfectly acceptable resort, but there is better value and better service nearby. The hotel isn’t a patch on the Ritz Carlton next door (yet a similar price) or the Fontainebleau further up the beach. It’ll be interesting to see how they go with more and more resorts being refurbished and brought up to a 5 star standard.

Room Tip: If you book the 'luxury king' category be careful as not all have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stay for a Finance conference and everything was great. The rooms were clean, spacious. Beds are a little hard but manageable for the couple of days I stayed. The fitness facilities are modern and high quality. Service are very attentive and friendly. I will go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoriannie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a nice experience overall, but there were small things that made this hotel a rating of 4 instead of 5. Everything just seemed very overpriced. We stayed mid-October and had a standard room on the 4th floor. We were told by the front desk clerk the floors are soundproof, so we wouldn't hear much (being on the lowest level of rooms, I believe). That was wrong. We heard the band over the weekend playing in the bar at night, and lots of noise (at night, too) coming from the conference rooms bleow (chairs, tables being moved). The cost of everything from rooms to incidentals seemed exorbitant. ($15 for internet in your room, $10 to use the gym, etc.)

Our room was clean, and when we requested towels from housekeeping, they were brought quickly. The pool is very nice, and the hotel is on the beach. Also, the hotel is in a great location and is within walking distance to Lincoln Road. One tip: some restaurants in South Beach add gratuity onto their bills, so read the receipt. For a wonderful, quick lunch, try La Sandwicherie.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srp2775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,069 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,415 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,540 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach’s vibrant Art Deco District, the renowned Loews Miami Beach Hotel recently completed a spectacular $50 million renovation, resulting in a vibrant new lobby experience; 790 transformed luxury guestrooms; an enhanced, oceanfront pool deck with direct beach access; SOAK Cabanas & Daybeds with new adult-only cabanas; enhancements to exhale South Beach spa and more. Four new restaurants and lounges include Preston’s Market, Miami Joe Coffee Co., Bar Collins and Nautilus, in addition to the award-wining Lure Fishbar - all offering an authentic taste of the destination via Flavor Miami. A curated food and beverage journey, Flavor Miami brings together Miami’s culinary greats, integrating their offerings throughout the on-property experience. Whether in-room, poolside or dining al fresco, guests can sip and bite their way through the city’s unique neighborhoods and culture. An inspired canvas for meetings and events, Loews Miami Beach Hotel has 65,000 square feet of beautifully redesigned function space, accommodating groups of 10 to 2,700 guests. Additional amenities include a fitness center; premium shopping at Splash and Splish retail boutiques; and a new state-of-the-art Kids Club offering areas for crafts, video games and outdoor adventures, to ensure a memorable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing