We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20% service charge - really?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #59 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Basking Ridge. NJ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“20% service charge - really?!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Given the age of this property, it has been preserved/renovated very well. Our room (a king with a "partial ocean view" - you could see the beach by peaking through the canyon oh tall buildings on either side of Collins Avenue) was lovely and comfortable. The public areas, including the lobby, spa, fitness facilities and the pool area, are handsom and well maintained (although some of the chairs in the bar were shabby, with shredded fabric and chipped wood frames). Service from the staff was uniformly excellent - attentive and genuinely friendly. But it is simply wrong - in so many ways - to automatically include a whopping 20% tip on all bills, especially at the bar and the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vogaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,351
    1,862
    728
    279
    306
See reviews for
2,005
1,774
144
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My Wife and I have just returned from a short stay from the superb Loews Hotel. The only word that can best describe the overall experience- 'Stunning'. We had a standard room which was clean, large and had a great bathroom. We had views of the ocean and the beach as well as the City. The service is superb, the best we have ever seen on our travels.

Mike and David who work on the front doors are superb and remember you each time you leave or come into the hotel.

Drew, Poolside is excellent and remembered our names each day even though we hardly spoke to him- brilliant.

The pool and jacquzzi area is really nice and spacious with plenty of deck chairs.

Overall, the best hotel experience of our lives!

Room Tip: Standard rooms with a request for a high floor have a fantastic view of the beach, ocean and the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gursh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Excellent choice in South Beach. Close to everything. Loved the boardwalk behind the hotel. Clean room and bathroom, both spacious. Comfortable bed. Efficient and courteous concierge - Took fast action and care in handling a problem with our in-room safe and more than made up for the inconvenience by providing a fruit & cheese tray sent to our room with a card of apology. Great attitude from pool staff. Loved the pool experience with the free flavored waters and surprise treats such as the smoothies and blueberry pretzels. Overall an excellent stay but expect high prices with gratuity automatically added in, not only at the hotel but surrounding restaurants as well. At least you get lots of quality food for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed on 11th floor, far from the elevators and ice machine. We had an ocean view but no balconv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaches18G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We just came for a week and found the staff and facilities excellent would recommend this hotel to anyone. Pool deck very good with plenty of beds and the gym and Spa very good also.
Beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 657maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Hotel is in a great location on the beach and at the end of Lincoln Rd Mall. Staff are very friendly. We managed to bag an upgrade to a room with a 'partial' sea view. In reality we were one room away from the rooms with full ocean view - so couldn't ask for much better! One thing to note is that sitting on the balcony there was quite a lot of noise from what I presume was the aircon units on the ground floor. Not a problem if the doors to the balcony are closed.

Toiletries were ok - not fantastic. Sometimes it took a long time to get the room serviced. The pool is quite small and VERY busy. This is def a family orientated hotel.

Minor complaints are the cost of using the gym. TOO expensive.
Latest check-out was 12 midday - changing/showering facilities are then quite limited and not up to 5-star standard. Although the Sushi restaurant is very good all the restaurants blend into one another - its almost like eating in a food court.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK-James72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My wife and I recently visited Miami to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary and thought it best to celebrate in style at a great hotel. The Loews Hotel certainly didn't let us down! We had great service from the moment we checked in to the moment we left the premises. The hotel is located very centrally and guarantees you don't need to drive/take taxies to check out the whole of Miami Beach. We were also very impressed with the bar as they could make any drink you could think of - even if it may not be on the menu (we would recommend the Apple Martinis)! If we ever decide to visit Miami again, there is only 1 place where we will stay.

Room Tip: Mention if it's your birthday/anniversary - all the staff will go out of their way to make your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmy-I-1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel was exceptional. The service was impeccable. Everything was great, but it was pretty presumptuous that they charged a 20% service charge on all transactions made at the resort...even the walk-up ice cream shop or the convenience shop where only goods were purchased and no real service was provided.

All in all, this was a great hotel in a wonderful vacation. We plan to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buxfan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,054 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,412 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,523 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach’s vibrant Art Deco District, the renowned Loews Miami Beach Hotel recently completed a spectacular $50 million renovation, resulting in a vibrant new lobby experience; 790 transformed luxury guestrooms; an enhanced, oceanfront pool deck with direct beach access; SOAK Cabanas & Daybeds with new adult-only cabanas; enhancements to exhale South Beach spa and more. Four new restaurants and lounges include Preston’s Market, Miami Joe Coffee Co., Bar Collins and Nautilus, in addition to the award-wining Lure Fishbar - all offering an authentic taste of the destination via Flavor Miami. A curated food and beverage journey, Flavor Miami brings together Miami’s culinary greats, integrating their offerings throughout the on-property experience. Whether in-room, poolside or dining al fresco, guests can sip and bite their way through the city’s unique neighborhoods and culture. An inspired canvas for meetings and events, Loews Miami Beach Hotel has 65,000 square feet of beautifully redesigned function space, accommodating groups of 10 to 2,700 guests. Additional amenities include a fitness center; premium shopping at Splash and Splish retail boutiques; and a new state-of-the-art Kids Club offering areas for crafts, video games and outdoor adventures, to ensure a memorable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing