We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat for families”

Chalan on the Beach
Ranked #53 of 1,087 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to eat for families”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Excellent food, big portions, fair prices. Nothing really to dislike. Not far from the Lincoln. You can easily take 2 dishes and share it with kids.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toronto_Travellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    233
    55
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“If you haven't had Peruvian food, you must!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This was a total random visit on the advice of a cab driver. We had been to many fine dining establishments throughout our week in Miami and decided to be adventurous... The food was fabulous! Fish cerviche, rice with seafood (arroz con mariscos), Paella (pescado sudado)and tacu tacu were all delicious. Flap steak is something we had never heard of but were glad we tried! The dishes are enormous, so share - we wasted a lot! You can easily feed 3 people with one entree. The place is small and unassuming, service is excellent. Branch out and try it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mandjfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive family dining”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Busy neighbourhood restaurant on 16th and Washington in Sth Beach. Peruvian food, beer and wine license only, family friendly, good wholesome food, inexpensive. Far better than all those tourist traps on Ocean, 2 blocks away. I'll go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Austin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Honestly, we went to Chalan on a lark based on our tour guides recommendation. Peruvian/Latin American joint. Busy place, appeared to be popular with the locals for sure. Fortunately had a reservation. Service started out real slow but once our waitress (Gloria) found us she turned out to be an excellent waitress. Started with fried yucca. Interesting, heavy, filling....very starchy. Ordered two rice dishes (Chaufa Mixto Al "Chalan" and Arroz Chaufa De Mariscos); Gloria recommended swapping out one for something else. So we changed the chaufa mixto out for Pescado Con Mariscos. Arroz chaufa was a green rice, mixed seafood dish that was outstanding (it's on the little sign in between the salt and pepper shaker). The rice got its green color from cilantro which flavored the rice and seafood. The other dish was also a mixed seafood dish but the seafood was in a simple brown sauce (almost like a Marsala). Glad Gloria talked us into not getting two main rice dishes, it would have been way to much. Even so, two entrees was too much for both of us. But both were very good!
For desert we split a tres leches which was good (but appeared to have come from an outside vendor). Still, tasty.
Great peruvian food, excellent service, fun crowd (we were witness to a 97-year olds birthday celebration!).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dbbrakebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
400 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Amazing Peruvian food”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

So crowded, we went there two times, since we did not get the table for the first time (40 minutes wait), but we were lucky to get it the second time. Everything we ordered were great!! They gave us big portion with best quality of seafood. Definitely cheap!! We love it!! Go there early, so you don't have to wait or go there for lunch, it is less crowded.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalan on the Beach also viewed

 

Been to Chalan on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing