We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for active people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Odyssey of South Beach Hotel
Ranked #125 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

The Delores was the first accomodation during our trip through Florida.
Reservation: We booked the stay with a 3rd party provider. Unfortunately, we messed up the dates and wanted to correct them immediately. Calling the hotel was not successful so we just booked another night with the provider and hoped for the best. At the arrival the staff was kind enough to allow us to keep our room during the whole stay.
Arrival: Tired from a long overseas flight we were glad that the bus took us directly from the airport to a station within a 5min walk from the hotel. The check-in was quick and efficient.
Room: You do not book this hotel for a nice view and that's fine. Everthing was pretty tidy, A/C didn't make any noise either. Although there was a lot of road and construction work going on right in front of the hotel, we did not hear a thing in our room.
Breakfast: The small breakfast buffet included a tray of different very delicious pastries, some juice and coffee.
Area: From the hotel you can access the shops, bars and restaurants of Washington Ave, Collins Ave & Ocean Drive within a few minutes on foot.
All in all, the Delores was a nice place to start off our stay in Florida with little extras but at a very reasonable price.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Pascal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Odyssey of South Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 305 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

The room was very bad, especially for what you pay. My brother and I stayed here the end of March for 3 nights. I stayed in better hotel in 3rd world countries. The location is good, some friendly staff, after that, the room was bad. The room had holes in the wall, fixtures missing from the bathroom, no cot, (which I asked for). I would never stay here again. Don't let pictures fool you, this is like a hostel and getting a private room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaScotian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at the Delores for 1 night (June 17) with my wife and 11 year old son in a double queen suite which was ideal for our small family. Our room was room # 2 (first room on left when you enter hotel),which has a window facing the street with the front desk/lobby area just outside the door. It worked well for us and made for a good one nighter.
Two separate rooms with 1 bathroom(large shower) separating the rooms, both with (32"?) flat screen TVs w/Direct TV remotes, cool rock memorabilia on the bedroom walls( The WHO, Elvis, Jimi Hendrix, The Doors,etc ), a safe, a kitchen area. We put our son in the back bedroom and discovered we could (temporarily) lock his bathroom door from inside and not worry he would walk in on us which afforded us some privacy. If you are travelling with 2 couples there is only one bathroom and you would have to pass through the front bedroom and bathroom to get to 2nd bedroom. So deal with it or pony up and get 2 separate rooms.

We loved the place. Beds were extremely comfortable, nice white linens which were very clean. Tile floor throughout unit and kitchen area, bathroom were recently updated ( granite counter top in small kitchen area with sink, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker). Yeah there were people hanging out til 3AM right outside our window in the front bedroom so I simply closed the blinds and kept my wife up later than usual. I couldn't sleep with noise after 1AM so figured if can't beat 'em join 'em, grabbed a cold drink from fridge, left my room, hung out in lobby for a bit, watched World Cup highlights, sat outside and checked out all the people walking by after leaving the clubs. What a scene...
We hit breakfast around 8 o'clock in the hallway/ corridor down from our room and coffee was great along with pastries, etc. It was fine.
Keep in mind that if you have a rental car there is NO FREE PARKING in SOBE, so be prepared to pay $20/day at nearest public parking garage 1 1/2blocks away ($1/hour up to 15 hours). The cheapest one is $16/day( 2 blocks away)but is usually full by afternoon check-in time.
I'd recommend the Delores to anyone visiting SOBE area, especially if you're budget-minded.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I had a great weekend here. The room was clean and nice although it was a little small. The staff was very friendly and willing to help you get what you want. When I checked in I did think that I had already paid for the resort fee in my payment online, so that was a little confusing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieM857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Checked in. I booked and paid online, but I had to sign a bunch of paperwork that took what seemed like forever. You have to pay for parking two blocks away. It was almost $2 per hour and you can only pay in 10 hour increments. So be mindful of the time. The room was clean. On their website, they stated that you can have two twin beds instead of one king. So after booking I called to request that and apparently they had new ownership from the day prior who wouldn't allow that. But I argued that because it was on their website, they should honor it. The website is no longer up and is under construction. There was no space to put any toiletries in the bathroom. But had a nice size closet where the safe was located. There is a weird kitchenette-ish type area with a long counter, two sinks, and a mini-fridge. But be careful as it is elevated and every time I walked up to it, I tripped because that little elevated step (about 3 inches) got me every time. The adjustments didn't work on the air conditioner so when we got too cold in the middle of the night, I had to stand on the bed in a sleepy daze and balance and stretch high enough to unplug it. It was the cheapest place on South Beach. So, I guess you get what you pay for. Would I stay there again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Be careful of the weird step on your way to the kitchenette type counter. Make sure the air conditi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Location is super convenient but price I paid did not match what I got. Floors were still dirty, the shower took forever to get hot, as well as no pressure. Size of tv was small for a suite room and the channel button on the remote for one of the tvs was not working.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank aleauramedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Whole Staff at Delores Hotel & Suites are friendly, honest, attentive, and prompt. At my day job, I deal with the public 5 days a week and I know how challenging it can be to deal with the citizens of this world. The Delores Hotel from my experience, (2nd) year in the row, deals with that challenge very well.

My room was clean, when I invited female friends over they felt comfortable. Clean linen, quality bath products, hot shower water, cold adjustable A/C, No nasty situations. No health hazards, No bugs, No unsanitary issues, and No low-hygiene concerns.

Karina, is a Great Front Desk person (2nd year in row) - "She keeps her word." She is the reason I will continue to book at the Delores for future South Beach Stays.

I was treated like a King and a celebrity.

Fred B. (Dance SouL-Jah)

Room Tip: They seem to be all good - I hear renovations are forthwith - and the rooms will be even better.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frederick B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Riviere South Beach Hotel
Riviere South Beach Hotel
#112 of 210 in Miami Beach
489 reviews
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#176 of 210 in Miami Beach
14 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Villa Paradiso
Villa Paradiso
#118 of 210 in Miami Beach
465 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#137 of 210 in Miami Beach
608 reviews
City Center
Nassau Suite Hotel
Nassau Suite Hotel
#116 of 210 in Miami Beach
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odyssey of South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odyssey of South Beach Hotel

Address: 1420 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4104 (Formerly The Delores)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $113 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Odyssey of South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Odyssey of South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Delores Hotel Miami Beach
Clarion Collection Delores
Clarion Collection Miami Beach
Clarion Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing