We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Odyssey of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Odyssey of South Beach Hotel
Ranked #120 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Checked in. I booked and paid online, but I had to sign a bunch of paperwork that took what seemed like forever. You have to pay for parking two blocks away. It was almost $2 per hour and you can only pay in 10 hour increments. So be mindful of the time. The room was clean. On their website, they stated that you can have two twin beds instead of one king. So after booking I called to request that and apparently they had new ownership from the day prior who wouldn't allow that. But I argued that because it was on their website, they should honor it. The website is no longer up and is under construction. There was no space to put any toiletries in the bathroom. But had a nice size closet where the safe was located. There is a weird kitchenette-ish type area with a long counter, two sinks, and a mini-fridge. But be careful as it is elevated and every time I walked up to it, I tripped because that little elevated step (about 3 inches) got me every time. The adjustments didn't work on the air conditioner so when we got too cold in the middle of the night, I had to stand on the bed in a sleepy daze and balance and stretch high enough to unplug it. It was the cheapest place on South Beach. So, I guess you get what you pay for. Would I stay there again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Be careful of the weird step on your way to the kitchenette type counter. Make sure the air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    93
    53
    19
    20
See reviews for
71
99
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Location is super convenient but price I paid did not match what I got. Floors were still dirty, the shower took forever to get hot, as well as no pressure. Size of tv was small for a suite room and the channel button on the remote for one of the tvs was not working.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aleauramedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Whole Staff at Delores Hotel & Suites are friendly, honest, attentive, and prompt. At my day job, I deal with the public 5 days a week and I know how challenging it can be to deal with the citizens of this world. The Delores Hotel from my experience, (2nd) year in the row, deals with that challenge very well.

My room was clean, when I invited female friends over they felt comfortable. Clean linen, quality bath products, hot shower water, cold adjustable A/C, No nasty situations. No health hazards, No bugs, No unsanitary issues, and No low-hygiene concerns.

Karina, is a Great Front Desk person (2nd year in row) - "She keeps her word." She is the reason I will continue to book at the Delores for future South Beach Stays.

I was treated like a King and a celebrity.

Fred B. (Dance SouL-Jah)

Room Tip: They seem to be all good - I hear renovations are forthwith - and the rooms will be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederick B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel was a hole in the wall! After checking in the sheets were dirty and so were the towels. I complained numerous times and was told my room would be changed it was never changed, no hot water the first night or even a faucet on the tub for that matter! The service was passed mediocre at best with the staff not speaking English! The pictures are very touch up! People sleeping in hallways outside of the rooms (majority safety concern) this hotel is worth $49 a night at it best! Did I mention the system is not even conputerized they check you in manually with pieces of paper?!? I forgot to mention no clean linen and even after I complained about the linen they left the same stuff on the bed!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Chose The Delores based on location and price, and did not have high expectations. The room was in good shape and well serviced, staff all friendly.

As noted by others the ‘continental’ breakfast is barely that. Internet was down for the entire 3 day stay.

The staff shared that there is new ownership of this property and they will be making improvements.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tryingfor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We made our reservation 3 weeks prior to our arrival. Upon arrival I needed a restroom and walked through the front door and down the hall assuming I'd find a public restroom. The only restroom was being worked on by a plumber. So, I saw a door ajar that housekeeping was in the process of cleaning. I went in and used the bathroom . I was shcoked by the size and condition of the room! Very Small and poor quality. I then went down the hall and checked out another room being serviced by housekeeping and discovered the same. I then went back to the front desk and my husband informed me that we had no reservation. The hotel was SOLD last week (2 weeks ago now) and not all the reservations transferred to the new owners. As a result, the hotel was booked and we were simply told "sorry". However, after seeing the rooms I felt this was a blessing in diguise. Which it was. We ended up booking with Pestana on James Avenue which turned out to be great. But from what I saw and experienced, I don't have any idea why anyone would stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfer142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the Delores for 4 nights in Feb 2014, We found the hotel to be clean and well maintained, the staff was mainly helpful. They offer free beach towels, and small folding beach chairs (a nice perk).
Dont expect this place to be a resort, its a no frills spot. We chose the Delores because the nightly rate was very fair. The room was a bit small, but very comfortable. It had a small kitchen, which came in very handy. Our air conditioner was not working properly, and the staff came down and fixed it immediately.
Would I stay there again, or recommend to a friend? Yes

Room Tip: The first floor was a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daddenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Riviere South Beach Hotel
Riviere South Beach Hotel
#126 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
City Center
Nassau Suite Hotel
Nassau Suite Hotel
#107 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#133 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Villa Paradiso
Villa Paradiso
#111 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#86 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odyssey of South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odyssey of South Beach Hotel

Property: Odyssey of South Beach Hotel
Address: 1420 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4104 (Formerly The Delores)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Odyssey of South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Odyssey of South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Delores Hotel Miami Beach
Clarion Collection Delores
Clarion Collection Miami Beach
Clarion Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing