We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and healthy food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bernies L.A. Cafe - CLOSED

Bernies L.A. Cafe
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Seating
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and healthy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I loved the vegetarian options and the freshness of the food. I just wish this place was a little bit bigger, as eating in was a little tight. It looks like they do a great take out/delivery business.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ajh169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful neighborhood with Latin flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The breakfasts and cafe con leche are first rate. For dinner I've had the chicken fajita wrap, which was served with a side salad and it was very good. So far, we've eaten there a number of times and thoroughly enjoyed everything we've had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carolkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place has everything from meat to vegan specialities. Good food, reasonable prices, great service. Not a lot of seating so not ideal for a large group unless tables can be reserved in advance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank msmalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slightly different wonderful cuban food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Small cafe with the best food + great prices. Attractive & helpful staff - just want you to enjoy and have a good meal. Nothing fancy but attractive & clean inside + a few tables outside - prefer inside - Alton can be busy/noisy. Eat here every time am in South Beach. Afterwards, a short walk to Lincoln Road if you want to check out the 'scene.' Also close to the Lincoln Road Multiplex movie house.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andrea685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

A local resident friend took me to this little bistro and was that a lucky thing. This is great Cuban food and local favorite. Being vegan, I had the tofu and veggie dish, but my friend who is local has been there a dozen times and tried different dishes. He enjoyed them all. The menu is eclectic, but the Cuban inspired dishes are great. Their dishes are cooked with a lighter, healthier flare, but full of flavor. The prices are very reasonable and the portions are HUGE! We got a salad, and one entree dish was enough to share and bring home leftovers. They also served hot grilled bread. The servers are playful and the service very good. I love this place and I'll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernies L.A. Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing