We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful neighborhood with Latin flavor”
Review of Bernies L.A. Cafe - CLOSED

Bernies L.A. Cafe
Cuisines: Latin
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful neighborhood with Latin flavor”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The breakfasts and cafe con leche are first rate. For dinner I've had the chicken fajita wrap, which was served with a side salad and it was very good. So far, we've eaten there a number of times and thoroughly enjoyed everything we've had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place has everything from meat to vegan specialities. Good food, reasonable prices, great service. Not a lot of seating so not ideal for a large group unless tables can be reserved in advance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msmalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slightly different wonderful cuban food”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Small cafe with the best food + great prices. Attractive & helpful staff - just want you to enjoy and have a good meal. Nothing fancy but attractive & clean inside + a few tables outside - prefer inside - Alton can be busy/noisy. Eat here every time am in South Beach. Afterwards, a short walk to Lincoln Road if you want to check out the 'scene.' Also close to the Lincoln Road Multiplex movie house.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrea685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A local resident friend took me to this little bistro and was that a lucky thing. This is great Cuban food and local favorite. Being vegan, I had the tofu and veggie dish, but my friend who is local has been there a dozen times and tried different dishes. He enjoyed them all. The menu is eclectic, but the Cuban inspired dishes are great. Their dishes are cooked with a lighter, healthier flare, but full of flavor. The prices are very reasonable and the portions are HUGE! We got a salad, and one entree dish was enough to share and bring home leftovers. They also served hot grilled bread. The servers are playful and the service very good. I love this place and I'll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer County NJ
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Gem For Locals and Tourists”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Easy to miss, tucked into its spot on Alton Rd just south of Lincoln, this sibling of the popular Books and Books offers superb fare with Latin flare at modest prices. The Cuban options are best, but the menu is eclectic. Great service, take-out, and even free delivery. This is one of the best spots across the entire Sobe district.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikenkayak_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernies L.A. Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing