We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch Rooms- Watch out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch Rooms- Watch out!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a very active hostel with good vibe at main hostel, but when I checked in, they did not take credit cards, had to go to ATM for Cash, including a $50 deposit for key and towels. Then sent me 7 blocks away from the hostel to some apartment building with nasty rooms. When you book, it looks like your staying at the main hostel, but you are a world away...no internet, no services, no interaction or vibe and a long walk back to the hostel, beach and fellow travelers.

Big negative for me personally is there is no airflow, fans or hvac in main lobby and lower rec kitchen area, so when you are there, you are constantly sweating...If make the walk back in time for meals and you like bagels and pasta, the breakfast, lunch and dinner will work for you, but I like meat with my meals so it was not a big plus for me.

Room Tip: Go to the Miami Hostel on Alton, great covered common area, computers, modern common kitchen, clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilidogtraveler823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    268
    117
    62
    123
See reviews for
15
73
276
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

the rates are great. the free breakfast, lunch and dinner is a huge money saver, as well as there nights out. we got to go see hardwell the dj in mansion (one of the biggest clubs in the mansion) for 20 dollars even though it said 40 dollars on the ticket. the staff are great very helpful and friendly, the rooms are cleaned twice a day and everyone who's staying here was really friendly while i was there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Chose the Miami Beach International primarily for location, atmosphere & partying. Booked a private double en suite a month in advance for Memorial Day weekend May 2012. Upon arrival informed of no private doubles left available – moved to apartments c.10 blocks away on the wrong side of Miami Beach. Apartment disgustingly unclean and in unsafe area. Terrible value for money. Reception lady extremely rude and of no help whatsoever. Demanded refund.

Room Tip: Avoid the whole place at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

If you're not up to drink a lot while youre staying in this hostel, forget it! It's definitely a party hostel which makes sure you won't be alone. You'll have an awesome time drinking, partying, meeting awesome people, going to the beach just 2 minutes walk away and going to the best partying a few blocks away.

It's not the cleanest hostel I've been to but when you're drunk all the time you won't care.

They organize lots of stuff, partys, free food, free beer, theme nights, you can also book your tours at the desk, yes- you can expect a lot for your party holiday.

But believe me. If you look for a calm place and if you care about every little thing, forget it. It's noisy, not too clean and with unconsiderate all-time-drunk and hangovered people.

....Depends on what you want and what you make out of it! You can either have the best, or have the worst time ever :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comeonanyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Österreich
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Despite having a nice, club-like looking entrance, the hostel itself is totally worn out, rooms are decently clean but very old and everything seems to be broken. Apartments (6 people + kitchen) are located half a mile down the street from the actual hostel. Staff is helpful and nice.

Overall I did not like it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunzvoorsht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is the only place to stay if you come to Miami to party and want to stay in a hostel.
I stayed with three friends in one of the six bed rooms - there was not lot of spare space, but it is a hostel! We had different roommates throughout our week long stay, and all of then were very cool.
The place itself is older, and the bathroom in particular could have done with a refurb. Recommend you bring your own towel, as the ones provided are somewhat threadbare.
Also recommend you bring a sleeping bag, as you get only a sheet provided.
They provide free breakfast, lunch and dinner, which is great if you are on a tight budget, but we were out and about most days and weren't up in time for breakfast...
Recommend the parties the hostel organise also, they are good value and you will get in to the bars quicker than if you went with a smaller group.
Don't stay here if you are looking for a civilised place to sleep, stay here if you want to meet people from every corner of the world and party with them!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

They have charged me for about 12 USD more for a no show than they should have and didn't refund my money even after several emails.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
4.9 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#98 of 208 in Miami Beach
958 reviews
1.8 mi away
Freehand Miami
Freehand Miami
#6 of 85 in Miami Beach
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posh South Beach Hostel
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 85 in Miami Beach
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SoBe Hostel
SoBe Hostel
#7 of 85 in Miami Beach
1,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock Hostel
Rock Hostel
#4 of 85 in Miami Beach
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel

Property: Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel
Address: 236 9th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5806
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the ONLY Boutique hostel In South Beach and the CLOSEST to the beach. Just ONE block!For the past 10 years we have been VOTED the BEST ATMOSPHERE hostel in America and one of the top 3 BEST Hostels Of North America!FREE BREAKFAST- everydayFREE LUNCH- everyday FREE DINNER- everyday FREE weekly WALKING tourFREE Hostel T-SHIRT When You Book 10 NightsFREE DRINKS in our hostel parties and eventsFREE DANCE Nights With Dj In Our Hostel ClubFREE Life Music SHOWS In Our Hostel LoungeFREE VIP CLUB Outings To The BEST nights clubs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Beach International Traveler`s Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing